#needleworkmonday :: A rug and a scarf

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Hi there!

A lovely week to all and Happy #NeedleworkMonday!! An awesome community with passion for needlework, started and hosted by @crosheille and co-hosted by @crystalize 🌷💗!

For the last week, I was finishing up my floor mat / rug but still have a couple more rows to go, for it to be wide enough for the feet:
InkedIMG_3431_LI.jpg
Hmm.. just realised that the different yarn is making it a little wider

I finished my blue/green/white combi yarn and I decided to add the dark grey and bright yellow, interlacing them after a couple of rows for the fun of it. I was deciding if I should go with another plain light blue yarn that I have but thought why not yellow? 😎

As I was working on this, I realised how rough these acrylic yarns are and how uncomfortable it can get crocheting. Some of you lovely peeps gave feedback last week that this would look nice as a travel blanket (Thank you ladies 😍😘).

So, I dug out my nicer, softer yarn and tried this same stitch for a scarf first before I attempt a larger lap rug. Ooo, and I liked the feel of it, the crochet was smooth and the yarn was so nice and soft.
InkedIMG_3430_LI.jpg

I bought this yarn from Expression Fiber Arts during one of their sales. It is a shimmering cashmere yarn and I chose needle size 7 just to give the scarf a more relaxed feel:
InkedIMG_3427_LI.jpg

But before that, I had to spend some time to wind up the yarn into a ball because it comes in skeins. How do you wind up your yarn?
InkedIMG_3429_LI.jpg

It was a slow week of crochet (due to the unfocused mind of wanting to try this and that) but I am having fun. Hope you are having fun too! 😁

Now, I am going off to finish this 2 projects.

tqforreading-stayamazing2.png

Sort:  

I really love that texture stitch and the yarn looks very smooth, @marblely - I guess it's not itchy at all :D

Hehe thank you @cryptocariad. So far so good.. soft to touch, fingers are loving it :D

Cashmere and silk - wow - this is luxurious <3 I can imagine that this will be beautifully soft on the skin. And I still love the stitch pattern you used it brings out the heathered/variegated quality of your yarn.
And with the ball winding: Last year my knitting friend Silvia and I started to dye wool and the undeyd wool always comes in twisted hanks, so we bought a cake winder from knit pro. It is (sadly) completely out of plastic, but till now it is sturdy and functional and a real help. I also use it to unravel old garments.

Thank you @neumannsalva :) I love this stitch too.. It is fun to work with and I don't get bored with it and yah, it seems to work well with variegated coloured yarn 🧐.
Oh wow.. you and Silvia dye wool? Niceeee. I bought a cake winder and umbrella too, both plastic but it is the cheapest out there. Else, the nice wooden ones would cost my arm and my leg :D So far, it works fine which is what matters huh :)

The rug - that was what you worked on in the car and showed us, correct? I like the different colors. And the little differnce in size shouldn't be a problem if you pull a bit on the smaller part while it is wet. And the cashmere/silk mix looks great. It should make a great scarf - warm and soft.

My yarn shop has a winding service, mostly for yarn you bought there but I know the owner quite well and if I ask nicely and she has time I can wind up other yarn. At home I have a nostepinne which is enough for leftovers etc.

Yes it is! Thank you for remembering :)
Ah cool.. thank you for the tip. I will pull the smaller part when it is wet.
Yes yes, the yarn is very soft. I am really liking it.
That is a nice service that your shop offers. Hmm I should check out my yarn shop too if they offer this service. The nostepinne looks very interesting, I have not heard of it before. Thanks for introducing it to me :)

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

wow !!! the mat turns festive :) it will please you with its bright colors. I never knitted carpets so I do not know what pattern is better for them. the pattern on the scarf looks great

Hehe.. thank you so much @tali72. The carpet does look festive :)Just a couple more rows to go and I can happily step on it :D And the scarf is really nice to touch :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by marblely from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Wow I love that pop of color for your rug!! I would have never put yellow and grey with the original color but the contrast is exciting!!

Ooohhhh 🤩 that yarn looks sooooo soft and cuddly...I can just lay on it now! I’m looking forward to seeing your lap blanket come to life. Great choice of yarn!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02