#needleworkmonday :: Playing with a yarn ball winder

in #needleworkmonday โ€ข 5 years ago


Happy #NeedleWorkMonday everyone!


~ ~ ~๐ŸŒท~๐Ÿ„~๐Ÿงถ~๐Ÿ„~๐ŸŒท~ ~ ~


Have you ever used a yarn ball winder? Recently, I gave this pretty cool gadget a try and this is my post for today.

image.png


When I first bought some skeins of yarn online, I was confused when they did not appear in the form of a ball ๐Ÿ˜„. Yarns, when bought in skeins, need to be winded into a ball for ease of use, else you will end up with skeins of mess.


At that time, I did not really understand that a skein was different from a ball of yarn and it served me right for not doing my homework (i.e. reading) before I ventured into this world of yarns. That was when I started reading about how to wind a skein of yarn into a ball.


I came across this video tutorial from Expression Fiber Arts. At first I tried using the thumb method since I do not have a yarn ball winder and a swift but it took too long and it was too tiring to do so. For some long time, I did not touch the skeins of yarns I bought.


Then I started browsing the internet and found out that there are ball winders available for sale. But I didn't know that the ball winder and the umbrella swift are sold separately. Initially, I bought just the ball winder and then later, I had to get the umbrella swift to complete the set. All in all, I spent about 20USD for the whole set.


Here are how these guys look like, which can be found on Amazon or probably your local online shopping websites:

image.png image.png
Photo source from Amazon


There are very nice wooden ones like the one used in the video tutorial but they are too expensive for me. So, I ended up getting these ones which are far cheaper. Maybe someday, I might invest in a wooden one ๐Ÿ˜.


~ ~ ~๐ŸŒท~๐Ÿ„~๐Ÿงถ~๐Ÿ„~๐ŸŒท~ ~ ~


Let me just share with you some photos of the yarn ball winding process.


image.png
On the left picture is the carefully unwind skein placed onto the umbrella swift. The umbrella swift is mainly metal, just like an umbrella with the soft plastic rubber green pieces which is where we place the skein and is clamped to your table. The swift's width is adjusted by moving a lever on the swift, which opens and closes the swift just like an umbrella, to make sure the skein fits snugly on the swift.

On the right picture, we place the loose end of the yarn through a metal loop at the ball winder (also clamped to a table) and insert the end into an opening (or a crack) at the top the yarn ball winder to keep the yarn in place when winding.


image.png
Then, we slowly wind the knob to turn the ball winder with one hand while the other hand anchors the yarn that has been passed through the metail loop earlier.

The anchoring is important to keep the winding of the ball consistent. Else, the yarn will end up being winded all over the place.


image.png
While we wind the yarn, the umbrella swift will keep turning. But we should do this slowly as we tend to want to wind it fast. If we wind the ball winder too fast, we might lose control with the turning of the umbrella swift and the winding of the ball.
The truth is, this ball winding process is very therapeutic ๐Ÿง˜๐Ÿปโ€โ™€๏ธ๐Ÿ’†๐Ÿป.


image.png
After some time, you will have your ball of yarn ๐Ÿ˜. Then, we will need to carefully remove the ball of yarn from the ball winder to make sure the ball of yarn do not become loose.

image.png

And you can start using it for your projects ๐Ÿ˜Š. The loose end that we inserted into the ball winder earlier to keep the yarn in place should be sticking out from the inside of the ball after we remove it from the ball winder. The loose yarn will be the yarn we use to begin our project.

image.png


Sorry, I probably have confused you further with my explanation ๐Ÿ˜…. But the video tutorials will help explain things better. Here is another video you can watch on how to use a ball winder:


~ ~ ~๐ŸŒผ~๐Ÿ„~๐Ÿ’’~๐Ÿ„~๐ŸŒผ~ ~ ~


How do you wind your skein of yarn into a ball?


~ ~ ~๐ŸŒท~๐Ÿ„~๐Ÿงถ~๐Ÿ„~๐ŸŒท~ ~ ~


Thank you again to @crosheille for starting this wonderful community and to the awesomely supportive #NeedleWorkMonday community!

If you love any craft that uses needles, come and join the fun with us here every Monday! You can also join us every other day at #NeedleWork.


~ ~ ~๐ŸŒท~๐Ÿ„~๐Ÿงถ~๐Ÿ„~๐ŸŒท~ ~ ~

tqforreadingstayamazing2.png

happyneedleworkmonday.png

image.png


This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed ๐Ÿ‘ Daily Income ๐Ÿ’ต and Payout ๐Ÿ’ธ for Newbies (2.0) ๐ŸŸ ๐Ÿœ ๐Ÿ› in #ccc ๐Ÿ‘ฃ and Follow ๐Ÿ‘ฃ the Honor Code ๐Ÿ… - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.


Sort: ย 

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much @c-squared! ๐Ÿ˜˜

Posted using Partiko iOS

skeins of mess

๐Ÿ˜‚ that should be a hook line for one of the things we experience as needle artists. I have had my fair share of this mess.

Thanks for sharing how this cool and helpful gadget works. Iโ€™ve been making my yarn balls with my fingers for so long that the process has gotten quicker lol. Sometimes I start my projects just using the skeins as they are but lately Iโ€™ve been forming the balls to avoid this mess. When my fingers get older and weaker Iโ€™ll most likely revert to this easier method! ๐Ÿ˜„

ย 5 years agoย (edited)

Hehe. I still have some skeins still tangled. Not sure how to untangle unless I cut the yarn. Still thinking...
Oh wow, you have been using your fingers? That is quite a skill! Actually using the skein as it is is an idea too isnโ€™t it? Just need to make sure the skein has its own untouchable space when we are using it ๐Ÿ˜†
Hehe yup yup. This is a fun alternative but I do notice that some places sells this at such an expensive price! Maybe fingers is good ๐Ÿ˜…. You can use your daughterโ€™s fingers ๐Ÿ˜„. Tip her a dollar or two for a skein hehe.

We just replaced my wife's winder as the old one had something break inside it. We limped along for quite a while, but the new one works so much better.

Which type did you guys have and what did you replace it with? It is always nice to have a new one if the old one has broken parts.

Posted using Partiko iOS

very interesting!!! thank!!! I did not know that such devices can be bought relatively inexpensively. to work with a skein of yarn if it is not wound in the form of a ball, it is really not very convenient

Thank you @tali72! Yes yes, we can buy such devices and it is easy and fun to use :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Again I had to smile... because I made the same mistake while being lee informed about yarn. I bought this beautiful skein and had an intense fight with to get it into a ball. I had no idea how to unwind it correctly. It was a wonder I didnโ€™t destroy it... Fast forward: my husband gifted me a swift and I bought a ball winder and now I am prepared for every yarn ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚
Sadly, I do not find it relaxing because I become nauseous by looking at while it runs ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคช๐Ÿคฎ I often convince my friend Silvi to wind my yarn, her stomach is much more stable and she enjoys the winding.
SO, congratulations to your wonderful purchase ๐Ÿ’•๐ŸŒˆ๐Ÿ’•

Aaawww that is so sweet of your husband ๐Ÿ˜ Did he get you the wooden ones? I would love a wooden one although they look pretty bulky and heavy and will most probably need to be a permanent fixture in the workroom. Haha yah. I get nauseas too which is why I do it slowly but it really is fun to see the ball forming ๐Ÿ˜ IF I do it correctly.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, its the wooden one, and also yes a permanent fixture would have been clever, but I have no place for this. Sadly the constant dismantling destroyed a screw. It looks sturdy, but it isnโ€™t.. (it is still usable without this screw). But both the winder and the swift are soooooo helpful :-)

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Thank you so much @helpiecake and @vibesforlife! ๐Ÿ˜˜

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86