#needleworkmonday :: ๐ŸŒˆ๐ŸŽจ Saving my stained canvas shoes ๐Ÿ‘Ÿ

in #needleworkmonday โ€ข 5 years ago


Happy #NeedleWorkMonday everyone!!

It is the first Monday in 2019! Here's to more amazing needlework projects through the year! ๐Ÿฅ‚

main.jpg

One of my goals this new year 2019 is to complete projects that I have started and abandoned over the past year(s) ๐Ÿ˜…. You may remember my unhappy shoes from a couple of months back.

I figured my shoes have been unhappy long enough (lying around, ignored and abandoned ๐Ÿ˜ข by me ๐Ÿ˜‚) and it was time to get down to it and do something about them.

In my first post, some of you have given me very nice ideas and @cryptocariad even went on to draw a nice pattern diagram which I set my mind this week to go ahead and give it a try.

๐Ÿ‘Ÿ๐ŸŒท๐Ÿ‘Ÿโ˜˜๐Ÿ‘Ÿ๐ŸŒท๐Ÿ‘Ÿ


Conceptualizing the idea

The first thing I did was to sketch the idea (like @cryptocariad's suggestion) and see how it would look like.

conceptualize.jpg

I traced the outline of my shoes onto a sketchbook and tried to water pencil colour them (note to self: go get some watercolours for better coverage๐Ÿ˜…)

conceptualizepaint.jpg

I decided to go with one main flower on each shoe and my initial idea was to have colourful petals, following the embroidery book that I shared before:

reference.jpg

In the book, there was a page on Stem Stitch and it intrigued me on how a curved line can be nicely stitched by making sure we are consistent with how the needle is pulled through along the line as we stitch. Then, there was also a page on working with petals and I love how we can mix colours to create a nice gradient on the petals. Finally, there was also a Bullion Stitch / Knot to create nice coiled buds and petals.


๐Ÿ‘Ÿ๐ŸŒท๐Ÿ‘Ÿโ˜˜๐Ÿ‘Ÿ๐ŸŒท๐Ÿ‘Ÿ


Transferring the idea to reality

drawonshoes.jpg

Then, it was time to transfer the idea onto my hopefully-soon-to-be-happy-shoes. I used a 2B pencil. At first, I drew 4 petals, thinking that it should take less work but felt like it was missing a petal. I redrew and adjusted the petals. So, 5 petals it is ๐ŸŒบ. The brown stains will naturally be the stems and soil.


๐Ÿ‘Ÿ๐ŸŒท๐Ÿ‘Ÿโ˜˜๐Ÿ‘Ÿ๐ŸŒท๐Ÿ‘Ÿ


Preparing the thread

thread.jpg

I used gradient coloured DMC cross stitch threads which has 6 strands in each skein. I split the 6 strands to 3 strands for the embroidery and the way I split the strands was using one hand to split while the other hand unwinds the strands.

I found that if we use all 6 strands for this size of a project, the embroidery will be too fat and 2 strands is too thin. 3 strands seems just nice.


Now, for the moment of truth, will this work or make the shoes look worse? ๐Ÿคท๐Ÿปโ€โ™€๏ธ


๐Ÿ‘Ÿ๐ŸŒท๐Ÿ‘Ÿโ˜˜๐Ÿ‘Ÿ๐ŸŒท๐Ÿ‘Ÿ

The embroidery

embroidery1.jpg

First, I started with the outline of the petals. The gradient purple thread was at a lightest shade when I started stitching, so that became the outline. I started the stitch by inserting the needle into the center and ended up with the knot facing upwards. It kind of gave an interesting bushy effect to the center of the flower.

And I absolutely love the stem stitch. It really curves very nicely as long as you maintain consistency with the direction of your needle inserts as you move along the line.


embroidery2.jpg

Then, I moved on to adding the lighter colour to the upper side of the petals. You will notice that I ended up not doing multi coloured petals because the purplish hues look quite pretty as it is and is simpler too, compared to changing to different coloured strands of thread for each petal. Plus, I love purple ๐Ÿ˜.


embroidery3.jpg

Next, I changed to a darker gradient strands of thread and stitched the middle center parts of the petals.


embroidery4.jpg

Once the petals are almost formed, I changed to a yellow gradient thread to stitch the centers of the petals.

With the same yellow thread, I added little buds with the bullion knots.


embroidery5.jpg

Then, I stitched the soil and main flower stem with brown thread.

Lastly, I added green stems for the little yellow buds.


๐Ÿ‘Ÿ๐ŸŒท๐Ÿ‘Ÿโ˜˜๐Ÿ‘Ÿ๐ŸŒท๐Ÿ‘Ÿ

The result

result.jpg

Once I was done with the first shoe, I moved on to the 2nd shoe ๐Ÿ˜Š.

All in all, it took me about 7 hours to complete this work. The best part about the shoes is that the stitches can be hidden within the fabric layers of the shoe, you just need to stitch and sew in between the layers of fabric.


๐Ÿ‘Ÿ๐ŸŒท๐Ÿ‘Ÿโ˜˜๐Ÿ‘Ÿ๐ŸŒท๐Ÿ‘Ÿ

final.jpg

I am happy with it and I think they are happy shoes now ๐Ÿ˜ What do you think?


๐Ÿ‘Ÿ๐ŸŒท๐Ÿ‘Ÿโ˜˜๐Ÿ‘Ÿ๐ŸŒท๐Ÿ‘Ÿ


Thank you again to @crosheille for starting this wonderful community and to the awesomely supportive #NeedleWorkMonday community!

If you love any craft that uses needles, come and join the fun with us here every Monday!


๐Ÿ‘Ÿ๐ŸŒท๐Ÿ‘Ÿโ˜˜๐Ÿ‘Ÿ๐ŸŒท๐Ÿ‘Ÿ


tqforreadingstayamazing2.png

happyneedleworkmonday.png

image.png


This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed ๐Ÿ‘ Daily Income ๐Ÿ’ต and Payout ๐Ÿ’ธ for Newbies (2.0) ๐ŸŸ ๐Ÿœ ๐Ÿ› in #ccc ๐Ÿ‘ฃ and Follow ๐Ÿ‘ฃ the Honor Code ๐Ÿ… - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.


Sort: ย 

I like what you did with your shoes. This is one thing I did not think of ... to offer a new life to my unfortunate shoes. Thanks for teaching me!

ย 5 years agoย (edited)

Thank you @bluemoon! :) Yes yes, I am pretty happy that one of my favourite pair of shoes has a new life now :) You can try for yours too.

You have right. You are a model to follow.

This is so so beautiful, and the stem stitch looks truly great!
I love how old 'unhappy shoes can be brought back to life with some colour thread and some imagination :-) Well done!

Thank you @vliet! I was surprised with the results myself. It was worth the hours :)

They turned out Fabulous!
I love to embroidery, or used to, it has been a while. I actually did a project to quit smoking. I found by keeping my hands busy it was easier not to light a cigarette. I later gifted it to someone.

Thanks for sharing your work. โค๏ธ

Thank you @rebeccabe! :) Ooo.. that is a great way to keep hands and mind busy and away from smoking. What project did you do? Now, I think I have more confidence to embroider, thanks to Stem Stitch! :D

It was a beautiful piece with all types of flowers and stitches. I framed it and they hung it in their living room. This was like 40 years ago..lol

Hi @marblely
As a follower of @haccolong this post has been randomly selected and upvoted by @hoaithu's Curation Trail with 16upvotes
This is random free upvote daily when you follow @haccolong
(If you check if you have followed, please wait 5 seconds, usually you have already followed so you get this upvote)

Oo thank you @hoaithu and@haccolong!

Yay! Comfortable, beautiful and happy, @marblely :D

Yay! Yay! Thank you @cryptocariad! Hehe.

They look cute with a flower in them..nicely done @marblely ..happy shoes and happy toes underneath.. ๐Ÿ˜Š

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @dizzyapple! :) Yes yes, happy toes underneath too hehe.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much @c-squared! :)

Another great project! I love the detail in your planning process, and then you make it look so easy to do. Even the most inexperienced person could do this using your post.

Thank you @randomwanderings! :) It was a really satisfying project to work on and I am really happy with the result. Phew! (Else, the shoes will have to be abandoned again ๐Ÿ˜…).

Wow! They look amazing. Unhappy shoes no more!

Yippyy! Happy, happy shoes :) Thank you @romeskie!

Great post, well detailed and explained your steps well! The flower petals turned out beautiful!

Thank you @jamethiel! I do like the petals :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29