Needelework Monday : My Granny Square Blanket

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

granny 1.JPG

Hello Steemit Crafters!

Today I´d like to share with you the blanket I made out of granny squares. The size of this project was not really planned, I just crocheted the squares during train rides to and from work until I found out that the number of squares were huge enough to make a blanket.

I ordered the 100% cotton yarns online but wasn´t sure how many I would be using because I didn´t plan the blanket... The first batch had been boring colors and what I did was to mix the 2nd batch order with some vivid colored yarns.

granny 2.JPG

As far as I can remember, each square took me between 20-30 minutes to finish and that is about one way ride in the underground station to the office. Also everytime I went home in the afternoon, I also crocheted one square and that made me 2 squares a day.

IMG_4222.JPG

IMG_4206.JPG

granny 3.JPG

After I attached the squares together, I used another cotton thread which have been in my stash, the only difference to the yarns used in the squares is the quality of the thin yarn to be used. So to level-up the thickness, I doubled the yarn and made the blue and green frame edges.. And that ´s it, I hope you like what you see.

Happy crafting everyone!

Footer.gif

GIF by @gremayo

Content and Images on this post are original and are properties of the author. If you would like to use any of the photos from this post, please give source credits by linking the URL of this post in your content.

Sort:  

OH I love this!!!!
The granny square is the only crochet stitch I know how to do. I can remember sitting with my maternal grandma on Sundays making these when I was a kid.

Do you have plans on reviving your crocheting? It was really de stressing for me because after a hard day´s work in the office, the moment I´ve touched my hook , it was as if I was in a different world!...hehehe :-))
Thanks for dropping by @goldenawne, I´ll get in touch with you on Discord sometime.

Maybe some day.. my relaxation is the garden and greenhouses, but once winter arrive again, I may have to do some more homemade projects... maybe crocheting will be one of them

Ohmy God! It so nice..taas pasensya ang.lola grabe..Kabalo pud ka ani inday?

Thank you Deev...yes, I made this blanket... hehehehe

That reminds me of what my grandma used to do. It looks exactly the same.

Oh snug! I can imagine how beautiful your grandma´s work would be. It will be an heirloom for your family.

Wow! Nice crochet stitch. Perfect colour combination. Hope I learn how to made it. Love yah!

Thanks, that would be lovely if you learn this, it´s de stressing.

Oh my @mers! What a wonderful quilt you have made there! It is flawless and filled with delightful colors. Great job! Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you, my dear!

Thank you so much @crystalize. Glad you came by. Let´s keep on crafting dear!

I love this granny squares blanket! You are so talented my friend.😘

Thank you my friend.. it´s just a hobby... hehehe

Thank you. Glad you came by.

thanks @mers. I would like to ask you, what kind of yarn did you use for the carpet? thick or thin? wool or cotton?
Hope you got coins byteball, as a member of Steemit?

This is very interesting! Thank you ma'am @mers for sharing. Where did you buy the materials? I practiced how to do that when I'm was in highschool. I want to try it again, I hope I could still remember the process.😊

I bought the materials online.. you should try it again, it is fulfilling and de stressing... thanks for visiting ubos VP ko now kaya konti lang upvote... do come back and comment, bigyan kita ng 100% pag naka recover na ang vp ko. Maraming tutorial sa you tube type mo lang how to granny square.

I really like the colours and the blanket looks really neatly made @mers. I wonder how much cotton you used.

Sorry I couldn´t remember because I made this blanket when I was still working... but as far as I can remember I ordered 2 batches of 18 skeins each of 50 grams cotton. so that would make 36 balls of yarn. Thank you.

Beautiful work! The colours harmonize and you distributed them so clever. This is a real gem. I am much to impatient... I never accomplished to finish a blanket.
Thank you for sharing <3

Thank you. Yeah, it took me a lot of patience and time. But it was a challenge to myself. I am used to doing big projects because of those train rides. It made my daily journey to work fruitful and besides it killed the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05