NeedleworkMonday: Knitting technique I /Stricktechniken I [Eng/Ger]

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

The afterthought heel / Die nachträgliche Ferse


I've written about socks before and that I like to knit them and someone asked me about the afterthought heel. I like that heel for several reasons so I will tell you how to do it and why it is so nice.

You can use the afterthought heel regardless wether you knit toe-up or cuff-down. You knit till the row where you plan to do the heel later. Here you knit half the stitches of a row with scrap yarn (smooth and perhaps a bit thinner and in a contrasting color), then you go on knitting till you have finished the "body" of the sock.
Ich habe bereits über meine gestrickten Socken geschrieben und da kam eine Frage zur nachträglichen Ferse. Ich mag diese Art der Ferse also werde ich einmal zeigen wie sie geht und wieso sie so praktisch ist.

Bei der nachträglichen Ferse ist es egal ob man den Socken am Bündchen oder an den Zehen beginnt. Man strickt bis zu der Stelle wo die Ferse später hin soll und strickt mit einem anderen Faden die Hälfte der Maschen (in Kontrastfarbe, glatt und gerne etwas dünner).


ABove you can see the stitches knit with the scrap yarn. If the sock's finished you take some needles (best one a size smaller than the one you used on the sock) and thread it through the stitches in the row above and below, like you see in the right side of the picture. I'm starting in the middle of the row to prevent holes that tend to form in the corners.
Auf dem Foto kann man gut die weißen Maschen des Kontrastgarns erkennen. Nun nimmt man Stricknadeln (am besten etwas dünner als die üblichen) und fädelt sie durch die Maschen der Reihe darüber und darunter wie rechts auf dem Foto. Ich starte in der Mitte um unschöne Löcher in den Ecken zu verhindern.


Now you take your scissors and cut the scrapyarn and carefully remove it (if you have, use a crochet needle) and voilà - there's a hole in your sock!

Take your yarn and knit two or three rows in the round before you beginn decreasing. Do it like you prefer to knit the toe section (I don't know the English name of this - wide heel?), here I decreased every second row until I had 16 stitches left. The last stitches you close with the Kitchener stitch.
Jetzt vorsichtig mit der Schere an das Kontrastgarn und es entfernen - eine Häkelnadel ist dabei hilfreich. Und schon hat man ein großes Loch im Socken!

Jetzt einfach zwei, drei Reihen in der Runde stricken und dann mit Abnahmen beginnen. Hier habe ich es wie bei einer Bandspitze gemacht mit Abnahmen in jeder zweiten Reihe. Die letzten 10 bis 16 Maschen, je nach Passform, dann mit dem Maschenstich schließen.


Doing the heel this way in rounds looks especially nice with a self-striping sockyarn like this.
Die Ferse so in Runden zu stricken sieht besonders gut aus mit solchem streifenbildenden Sockengarn.

What's on my needles

  • I mostly worked on my scarf which is now 56 cm. There's so much to do and a row still takes about 10 minutes...
  • The red rectangle shawl made out of this fancy yarn grew a bit. Right now I've knit nearly a third of the yarn I bought and it's at 7 cm. Though it looks better in the skein than knitted: the yarn gets thinner and thicker and that makes the knitting uneven. I hope that it will look better blocked.

Information for those of you who block their shawls or other knitted and crocheted stuff:
While you can buy steely blocking pins they are really expensive. I use these pins that were meant to keep creases in curtains, they're quite cheap (~5€/100). And their form allows you to neatly pin a stitch :) Even if every time I use them one or two break I prefer using them.


10% of this post's rewards automatically go to @t-r-f, the SteemFest 2018 Travel Reimbursement Fund.
10% der Einnahmen dieses Posts gehen automatisch an @t-r-f, einem Reisekostenunterstützungsfond für das SteemFest.
Sort:  

getting me in the mood again.
With Steemit down yesterday I started back on my knitting project set aside for so long.
I have never made socks

Every bad thing has a good side - have fun knitting!

You let it appear so easy!!! And you are right the stripes transform the heel into a design element. (The open heel hole however looks like a vivisected sock-frog :-DDD) But I am still too afraid to cross over to the sock-side .....for example: as I knit combination style, knitting in the round means changing back to knitting convential and this hurts my fingers faster than the combination style, and I am convinced I only will knit one sock and then I will be to lazy to go on and I dream of lace socks, which are perhaps the most complicated thing possible.... like this pair for example
https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/zing-in-your-step-socks
Are you on ravelry by the way?

Lovely socks! I tend to do "normal" socks because they're my projects "to go", when I don't want to pay attention.

If you are on ravelry, let us know your profile name. I am kschimmel. Love your striped yarn. I usually do Dutch/round heels in top-down socks, but may try an afterthought heel next.

the result looks great !!! I have not knit socks in this way. I usually do this on 5 knitting needles and knit as usual

That's how I started. If you're happy with the double pointed needles there is no reason to change.

Now I prefer working on two circular needles for two at a time and one circular needle in a magic loop for a single sock (or mitt or sleeve...).

if I knit something like that, I'll definitely try your method. thank you for the efforts you made when you wrote your post and explained it

This is really neat! The design it makes is a pretty addition to the already awesome socks!! What is the main purpose of this method? It seems it’s to reinforce the longevity of the sock? I know the heel seems to be the first place a sock gets worn out.

Thank you for sharing this knitting method with us!! I love all of the tutorials being shared!! 😊

I use the afterthought heel for several reasons.

  • In socks with a pattern (like the link from @neumannsalva in her comment here) using an afterthought heel means you don't have to think about how to incorporate a heel into the pattern. You simply have to make the row before and after the additional row in knit stitches - that's all.
  • If you're new to sock knitting and the heel's still a problem you can knit both socks and afterwards make both heels at once when you have the time and peace for it.
  • With selfstriping yarns most heels, whether with a flap or using short rows, don't look that nice. The heel interrupts the pattern. You can use a different color there (looks especially good if you use that too on toes and cuffs) - but an afterthought heel in selfstriping yarns looks great because it's knit in rounds again.
  • And of course there is the matter of holes in worn socks. An afterthought heel can be redone, though I haven't had to do that so far ;)

Wow this was such a great explanation. Providing those links really helped to see the whole picture better. I see how the heel normally interrupts the pattern and it doesn’t look as smooth. Thank you so much for taking the time to explain. It makes great sense now why one would choose this method over another!!!

Congratulations @muscara! Your post has been placed in the spotlight and chosen for this weeks @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Post!

92A67BB0-4A4F-4053-86CF-81D86B0B8EE5.png

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us here.

Oo i really love the green!! Your socks are so neatly knitted @muscara. I’ve only crocheted socks but haven’t tried knitting. The idea of holding multiple needles together has not gone past my fear 😅 Hopefully someday soon. Thank you for the tip!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Crocheting is on my to-do-list - I crocheted fingerless mitts in slip-stitch technique and loved it!

Nice!! Lets crochet away! I hope to knit like you some day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39