NeedleworkMonday: The sad story of the Unicorn Mitts

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago

I gave it a try / Es war einen Versuch wert...


I have to admit a defeat. While they work for children, a grown up's hand simply doesn't have the right proportions to resemble a unicorn's head. It looks more like a strange albino crocodile (or perhaps a moose) - this thingie goes is on a beeline for the frog pond.

Do I hear you asking why suddenly there are frogs, too? Well, if you don't like something you have knit (or crocheted) you rip it. And rip it. And that sounds like "ribbit" - that's how the term "to frog something" was born ;)

Eine absolute Niederlage. Bei Kindern klappt es mit den Proportionen, meine Version für Erwachsene ähnelt eher einem merkwürdigen Albino-Krokodil und keinem Einhorn.



What's on my needles

  • I did a little work on my scarf - right now it's at 75cm, so nearly half done.
  • I plan to start the second of the poll socks this evening.


10% of this post's rewards automatically go to @needleworkmonday.
10% der Einnahmen dieses Posts gehen automatisch an @needleworkmonday.
Sort:  

I would use it as a puppet to entertain my grandchildren. Add some glitter!

:-DDD Lovely idea. Glitter will help... and I can see a video with this cute animal :-D

Zwei Finger? Warum hast Du weitergestrickt, als Dir der Fehler auffiel?

Das sollten zwei Finger (also insgesamt drei) werden - ich hab schon so ein Paar gestrickt (guckstu letzte Woche). Auf dem Foto gefiel mir die Idee mit den Einhörnern (die Veranstaltung auf der ich letztes WE war trug den schönen Namen "Einhornwald"). Aber entweder geht das nur für Fausthandschuh oder nur für Kinderhände mit ihren etwas anderen Proportionen. Aber man lernt ja aus seinen Fehlern :)

I love it <3 It is so cute with the round snout. I understand that you find it not like a Unicorn, but nevertheless I would not see it as an failure. Perhaps if you name it "the unicorn with the soft and super rounded nostril" it will grow on you.
The moose is also a good explanaition... Unicorn Moose? New pattern for ravlery? Ruhm, Ehre und Reichtum ?

I still like it. It can be a new type of creature that you brought into being. It can have even more interesting attributes than a unicorn because you decide that since you created it.:)

I would add a colourful mane on your unicorn, @muscara - I like @fiberfrau's suggestion too :D

You are the smile maker hero of the week :) Usually it's @neumannsalva's text but the intro text made me laugh in a silent living room after all other family members went to bed.

My daughter likes him if I use the mitt as a puppet as @fiberfrau writes. And it's simply nice parents care kids and make something for them.

hee hee funny mitten :)))

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by obvious from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @patternbot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00