Upcycle project: cargo pants into a shoulder bag

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

DSC_3947.JPG

Thank you my steemit friends for ideas on how to transform pants into a bag on last post!

There was idea for using pockets as a focal point, great! And also making inner layer with different color fabric. I thought about it, i didn't make inner layer to avoid becoming heavy, but I did think of color combination!

My son's cargo pants is gray with a bit of orange stitches so I prepared additional orange fabric and orange kids belt that was lying around the house.

DSC_3898.JPG
First.I cut out the big pockets.

DSC_3938.JPG
The length of 2 pockets together was almost 30cm/12 inches. Perfect and just the length that I was looking for!!

DSC_3940.JPG
The zipper on the pocket was broken, so I cut a bit of the belt just to cover up the zipper and sewed on.

Then sewed 2 pockets together, so this will be the front side.

DSC_3942.JPG
Then I made the side piece which is on the left of this picture, and backside which is on the right.

Both had to patch a little bit to be the size that I wanted. And for the side piece, as you could see, I sewed on a strip of orange color for a high light.

DSC_3943.JPG
I sewed on the side piece to the front first. The corner, it was sharp straight angle in the beginning, but it looked too sharp. This bag is for casual so I redid it to make a round corner.

DSC_3944.JPG
Backside also stitched on. By this time, my thumb skin became so thick like a crab shell of over working on dense textile😅

DSC_3945.JPG
This is where the bag would close using zipper. I looked at the remaining fabric which wasn't much so I withdrawn the flappy lid to close like postman's bag. I cut out the waist area and undone the stitches to take the elastic off.

DSC_3946.JPG
Now it is sewen on the body.

DSC_3947.JPG
Lastly, with the remaining materials, I patched up the shoulder strap, and I'm done!!

It's all done by hand sewing. It took about 3 days and maybe tomorrow because I'm still taking care of the edges😁

Still, a fun project, a puzzle, to take my minds off for a change❤

All the images are taken by me, and first time to share online.

Sort:  

Your post has been manually curated by littlenewthings

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Thank you, @superoo7-dev, I thought it was too late for your curation. Regards to you.

That turned out to be really beautiful and to think that you made it out of cargo pants. It's just wow!!

The orange color you added gave it a pop of color, adding "spice" to whole look.

Thanks for showing the steps! It took you long, but the result sure did pay off.

Thank you @audreybits😊 I guess the trick is enjoy whatcha doin'😀😀😀 tough road, same road but burden turns into excitement 🎶

Wow, that looks amazing. The orange really sets off the bag. And it's hand sewn, that is impressive. I could see that bag being featured by a designer someday.

Thank you @coinsandchains!

Orange and gray are one of my favorite colour combination, with white is even better. This bag with white T-shirt....😊

And such a complement...pleasure @coinsandchains, I've got nothing else to give you besides my works though😜 very encouraged, so more upcycle project coming up!!

Excellent, I think I had a pair of white cargo shorts with red lining around the pockets.
Complements and thank you's are my specialty, and I expect nothing but the pleasure of giving them. I look forward to the next project.

Sorry for the late repy, I witnessed the death of my handphone😭 RIP....

Yah, sounds good, could add the flappy thing to close if the pants are long, enough material I 🤔

Amazing job, it is a really great bag, and if you don show how you did I will never guess that came out a cargo pants..
Thank you for share!!

Thank you @tahiaarq, such compliment😍😍😍

That is some very precise and imaginative work! I like the (almost) finished article, it looks very professional, but I am a bit worried about your crab shell thumb skin :(

Thank you @shanibeer, you are so kind😊 the skin is starting to peel😨 but no worries, no pain!

Congratulations on your curie vote!

😊😊😊🍀

Hey @naomipangolin! That is a very nice bag and it looks so professionally made! I really like it and you hand-sewed the entire bag? Wow, how do you do it? And the cargo pants can be quite thick at certain parts. So happy for you!

Thank you @marblely😊😊😊 I just simply couldn't through that cool pickets away😂 I guess the trick is the additional orange color🍀❤ thanks again

Great job transforming the pants into a bag. Almost didn't recognize it from pants.

Thank you @viverridae! I sacrificed my finger, still okay la😂😂😂

The bag is unique, but I'm sorry about your poor thumb, @naomipangolin!

Thank you @cryptocariad❤ hahaha, I can't feel mt tips because the skin became so thik now, but all woth to recieve your appreciation😍😍😍

Hi naomipangolin,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you @curie! A wonderful surprise from morning😊 thanks again❤

I just love it when people recycle articles of clothing into something new, and extend the life of it. You really did an amazing job, @naomipangolin! Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you, my dear!

Thank you @crystalize❤ you are so right about that! I even upcycled hubby's shirt into kid's house wear. I just couldn't let it go when I especially see a sparkle in them. Aren't we a puzzle solver or treasure hunter? Thanks again😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86