Upcycling project: plastic bags into a mens hat

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

_20180908_111628.JPG
Yes, Fedora hat it is. And I made it all from ordinary plastic bags and packagings!!

Few months ago, I met a lady who made shoulderbag out of plastic bags by crocheting, and that was a real eye opener. My creativity was shocked to the core that I couldn't believe my eyes that plastic bags could possibly be a material to make such thing! And I wrote on my brain memo that I would definitely gonna make one too.

So I started from last week.
I thought of bag but already made 2 bags by upcycling. You could see them in my previous posts. Then thought of a hat.

To tell you the truth, I didn't know these hats got a name. So I have learned from this project that the hat of Indiana Jones is not a cow boy hat, it's a Fedora hat. And trilby and Panama. Newsboy hat I know, I made few with fabrics before, but 1 unique hat stood out. Hat with a pinch, Fedora.

And the hat, I made it by crochet.

First I found a nice free crochet pattern online.
Screenshot_20180411-210038.png
This is the crown.

image_3361595961523502017864.png
This is the brim. Both from the same page.source

Next, collected plastic bags around my house.
DSC_4032.JPG
1 big toilet paper packaging and few plastic bags that matches the color.

1 thought. Even we refused to use or receive plastic bags, I noticed that products are packaged in plastics by the manufacturer. It's inevitable, to have them. And that made me think of the issues on plastics are wholistic matter.

Anyway, the materials were cut into a strip.

The instruction says 3mm.
So I got the needle in that size. You could measure it with ruler if you are not sure.
The strips also cut thin, for tough material in 5mm, thin material more wider so it won't tear.

sketch-1536193615609.png
I discovered there are several efficient ways to cut them. Because this was in big size and after I opened it up, it became 1 big sheet. I did zig zag to cut into 1 long strip.

sketch-1536193671331.png

Other small bags I didn't open but cut in spiral to make long long strip.
sketch-1536193747602.png

So while I cut, I rolled them so it wouldn't tangle .
DSC_4049.JPG

Then I started crochet .
DSC_4050.JPG
This is the crown.

DSC_4064.JPG
So just continue and follow the pattern....
It could go as a basket too!

DSC_4065.JPG
And done!! Took care of those strips sticking out by cutting or hiding.

sketch-1536193484658.png
This is the weight of our sin, 100 grams.
Honestly , I thought it will be more, but not bad I should say.

After that, I stiched a strip of cotton fabric becasue it was a bit itchy and size too big.
If your hat too big, you could stich on towel or other fluffy material to adjust.
Too small hat is more difficult to adjust, you had to cut them to enlargen it.

__The photos and work in this post is done by me, @naomipangolin. First time to share online.

Sort:  

This is one good looking hat @naomipangolin. Such a brilliant idea, though we will need to choose plastic bags that are not biodegradable. Thank you so much for sharing the process and the free pattern!

Thank you and you're welcome @marblely❤️
In my neighborhood, sadly, biodegredible plastic bags were sold 10 years ago, and after awhile, dissappeared from shops. I don't know why, it was almost like a trend, but plastic problems are still here.

Wow! That's a great looking hat - I really have to think about what to make out of old plastic bags...

Thank you @muscara! So true, hope you share your solution ☺️

Oh wow! Another amazing project of yours. You are so creative @naomipangolin. Kudos to you.

Thanks so much @viverridae ❤️I got inspired , so wish I could pass it on! haven't met you for a long time now, hope you and your family are well😊

Thank you @wihb81! Some simple DIY that I can handle, yes. Planning to do more of these!😊

Congratulations @naomipangolin! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Wow! What a great use of plastic! Upcycling at its finest! Thank you for sharing!

Thank you, very encouraging @delishtreats! and you're most welcome! Glad you like the idea 😘


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you @c-squared for your kind attention ! All the best.

I’ve only seen messenger bags made from plastic bags. This is the first time I’ve seen a fedora hat made from plastic bags and I think it’s awesome! It looks so fashionable. And it never crossed my mind that I could use any kind of plastic packaging! Thank you so much for sharing, with your step by step instructions and the free pattern 😊

Thank you so much for your appreciation @crazymum! Ohhhh, really? It must be it, messenger bag then, the one I saw too. The bag just sling it from your shoulder. If crochet, there will be more possibilities to make different kinds. Hmmmmm......

And you're most welcome, hope I could pass on this idea to many others😉

I love your idea so much I have resteemed your post! This morning I opened a new packet of flour to make crepes for breakfast. I would usually throw the plastic packaging in the bin but today I have salvaged it for crochet projects, and it’s thanks to you! Have a blessed day! 😘

Wow that is amazing👏❤️ definitely want to see when it's done😮👍 and to you too, very encouraged

I'm officially amazed at your ingenuity!
I've heard about such upcycling projects before, but seeing it being created step by step shows how much untapped creative resources we all have :D
Well done, your hat looks like a true eco fashion statement, I hope you'll get lots of compliments when you wear it!

Thank you very much for your kind words @vliet!

I actually ran around the house to find plastic bags, and it was not enough, I even picked them up from the streets. Hahaha, it drove me crazy until I finished it! And thanks again for your appreciation ❤️

All that running around was definitely worth it!

Congratulations @naomipangolin! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this weeks @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Post!

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us here.

Aaawwwww I'm flattered @needleworkmonday! I stationed at home everyday, and felt there are very few things I could do... It's been great and connected with other steemians to be part of needleworkmonday, but now you give me more support and accomplished feeling😊 thank you!

We are honored to have you here with us being able to share your creative mind and skills. It’s a pleasure supporting this type of work. It needs to be seen more and that’s what I’m here for. Let’s continue to inspire~ ❤️

Omg, so sorry for the late reply, and lot's of appreciation to you @needleworkmonday!! Before everything, because you gave me your precious time to read my post and gave me a chance to connect with others😊 many many ♥ to you!

❤️❤️❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76