How to construct a knitted or crocheted cardigan – part 1

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Design ohne Titel(42).png
From left to right: top-down round yoke crochet cardigan, knitted top-down raglan cardigan, knitted and seamed pullover, top-down with set in sleeves crochet cardigan


Last Monday I promised you a pattern, the pattern of a top-down crocheted baby jacket. And guess what, I do not find my notes anymore (that’s a lie: I found my notes, but they are horrendous incomplete and as if this wasn’t embarrassing enough, I cannot find my photos of the finished jacket. The photo in last Mondays post is before I finished the sleeves…aaaaahhhhhh)
So, I will now pretend that it is essential to talk about the different ways to construct a cardigan in general, before I will present you a pattern in the next weeks (hopefully).

It is essential to knitting or crocheting a cardigan to know which different methods there are to construct it, because eventually it is good to know your enemies (sewing!!!!). This is me making fun – naturally – because all methods have pros and cons (again a lie: I love top-down constructions and think all other methods are completely sh***)

The types of constructions are very similar in knitting and crochet, so if you understand the technique in one craft it is very easy to transfer it into another.

Perhaps the best known and mostly used method of constructing a cardigan is working from the bottom up in separate parts.

Design ohne Titel(43).png


So, this week’s theme is: The seamed cardigan
The construction of this cardigan is the same as in a sewed cardigan where you cut the pieces out of fabric. In knitting or crochet you separately work the back, the two fronts and the sleeves and then sew them together (gag). Button-band and neckline are afterwards picked up and completed. There are some variations at how to work the sleeves; e.g. you could make raglan sleeves or set-in sleeves, you could work sleeves with dropped shoulders or with shaped sleeve-caps. So, one of the pros is apparent: you have more control over the fit of the shoulder.

Design ohne Titel(44).png

Another pro is, that the project is easier to transport, because it consists of separate parts which are small enough to put them in a little bag.

A big con is the sewing part…. Not only do I dislike sewing by hand, furthermore you only know if the cardigan fits, after all parts are finished and pinned together. And it is always a nice surprise to put the finished cardigan on and notice that the back is much too big and the sleeves to tight (you know I have a history of knitting things which do not fit :-D) But this con includes a pro – confusing I know – because if the cardigan consisting of separate parts, it is much easier to change the fit after you are finished. You can insert gussets in the too narrow sleeves or cut/unravel a section of the too big back. With a top-down construction you are more or less stuck with the thing you made, changing the fit afterwards is very limited.

Another pro for the seamed cardigan is that it has more structure. The seams are like the beams of a house, they prevent that everything slumps down (ok a top-down cardigan will not de-compose after a while nor unravel, but it can happen that the weight of the yarn stretch the raglan increases and the cardigan looses it fit)


A beautiful variation of the seamed cardigan is to make it out of geometric forms. This is especially nice with crochet. You can form the entire cardigan out of several granny squares or circles or hexa-gons. This will lead to even more sewing, but I think the beautiful result justifies the extra work. (yes, you guessed right, this is another lie…. I only once crocheted a cardigan out of granny squares and I hated every minute of the sewing process. I hated it so much, that I decided to make the sleeves out of half double crochet instead of more granny squares).

Design ohne Titel(41).png


Skills needed
There might be another pro to the seamed cardigan (which I do not like to admit, because after this post I must reconsider if my beloved top-down construction is really the best method). This kind of construction is very beginner friendly. You can decide to make the whole cardigan out of rectan-gles. The fit will not be perfect and especially the neckline will be a bit strange, but it is possible. As you can see on the sketch you will need two rectangles for the fronts, one for the back and two for the sleeves. There are no increases or decreases necessary. You can work the whole cardigan in one stitch pattern, with crochet maybe in half double crochet or double crochet and in knitting in stockinette or garter stitch.
If you want a better fitting cardigan you need to learn how to increase and decrease stitches to shape the armhole, the neckline, the sleeves and perhaps the waist.


And if you want a good fitting professional looking perfect hell of a cardigan, you should consider learning a stitch pattern to form the ribbing of neckline, button-band and cuffs. In knitting this can be done very easy, because the simplest ribbing consists out of alternated knit and purl stitches (although there are much more elaborated methods) in crochet it is tad more complicated. Here you can work the ribbing out of front and back post stitches or you can make a ribbing with slip stitches (but this kind of ribbing must be worked in a different direction than the rest of the cardigan).

Design ohne Titel(45).png
Variations on crochet ribbing

If you have managed to do this, then the possibilities are endless: Puff stiches, flowers, colour work… or you can make a cropped cardigan, a long and flowy coat, a short-sleeved cardigan, or a cardigan with bell sleeves and so on….

#needleworkmonday.png


Next week I will present you a pattern for a seamed crochet cardigan, where you can try out if you like this method of construction. After this I will explain roughly three (for me more unusual) techniques to knit or crochet a sweater: the top-down with set in sleeves, the bottom-up with a round yoke and the sideways worked cardigan. Hopefully I worked myself up to week four with my beloved top-down construction which I will present much more detailed and hopefully with the pattern for the grey baby cardigan.

Thank you all for motivating me to write to write consistently (and wish me luck that I can complete my notes for the grey cardigan) <3


needleworkmonday.png




Want to see more_Follow me neumannsalvaor visithttp___neumannsalva.de_(1).png

Sort:  

This is a good warm-up read for preparing my mind to learn how to put a cardigan together.

Yes warm-up :-DDD I had to laugh, because the jacket I will post next week is really warm, because the wool is very fuzzy (and a bit like felted) and we have again hot weather outside. I seem to be out of season :-D

It'll be back in season soon enough. And it probably would take me that long to finish it anyway, lol.

Hi neumannsalva,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

I just saw this and yes I will have a great day -ahem night- I am jumping up and down right now.
Thanky youuuuu for choosing my post and thank you for all the work you do by constantly curating post. I hope you have a wonderful day (or night) too <3

Whoooo Hoooo!!! Congratulations on the Curie vote...and honey it was well deserved!! You rocked this post with great picture examples, sketched examples and have given us several ways we could construct the perfect cardigan in both knit and crochet! I love how you explained the pros and cons of the methods as well! Wow I’m so excited for you and proud of you!!!

I am looking forward to this pattern next week. So will this cardigan be for a baby or an adult? I guess either way we could tweak the size right? I am looking to construct my own baby crochet cardigan for this Fall...I would love to try your pattern and guidelines for this!! 😃

Once again a job well done! Resteemed!

The pattern next week is an adult pattern. It will give an insight into seamed patterns. The grey baby cardigan will come later in this series (as I wrote, I am nervously completing my notes :-D) And with the baby cardigan it will be more a recipe which could be adapted for different sizes and yarn.
Thank you for the resteeming <3 <3
PS: I am secretly hoping that you will make a tutorial about increases and decreases or back/frontpost stitches, when you are fit again. It would be awesome for beginners (if someone really wants to make my jacket :-D) You have such a great presence on the video <3 <3

Okay got ya! I’ll be looking forward to the grey baby cardigan!

Absolutely!! You did an awesome job on this post!!

Oh yes I plan on covering both of those techniques!! 😉👌🏽 Awww thank you so much! I look forward to getting back to the series in a few weeks after recovery!! ❤️

Thank you so much for sharing and responding to everyone’s comments @neumannsalva your writing is fun and totally makes sense 😊. It’s truly appreciated that you take the time to provide details. As a crocheter and knitter, I’m still frightened of the top and sweater projects as you have shared, all that work and it may need a workaround (the darts) and that may not even work. I love to sew (machine sewing) so when you brought up the sweater conundrum, My brain grappled with tips and tricks to no avail. 🤔 it’s inspiring that you keep on working and testing new patterns. One day I’ll attempt that crochet tank top that’s been on the eternal project back burner 😆. Many thanks and best wishes!
Here’s to another great #needleworkmonday 🌻

Thank you so much for your lovely comment! But you really must try to knit /crochet top-down. I think it is really easy and you have a good control if it will fit, because you can always try it on. If you are experienced in sewing, this will help you so much, because you already understand how garments are constructed and fitted on a person (as I wrote... sewing is not my best trait)
I am looking forward to see you crochet a tank top (and perhaps write about it on #needleworkmonday ?)

One day @neumannsalva I will. I’ve made socks and wanted to learn toe up, but haven’t gotten there yet either. It will happen and I’ll be happy to share. It’s great that @crosheille and @crystalize created the #needleworkmonday it’s so inspiring. 🌸 thanks to all who participate! Much love 💕

Don't laugh... but I never dared to knit socks, so you are already some steps in front of me :-DDD. Working with tiny dpns intimidates me :-D (I always knit my sleeves flat)
And with the knitted/crocheted top... who knows, maybe you will be there faster than you anticipate. But if not - no problem either. It is also lovely to read you nice comments <3

Socks are fun once you get the hang of them, mostly because they’re in the round. And once you get bored going round and round, it’s time to work the heel gusset . Then go round and round again to the Kitchener stitch challenge.
The first try was with worsted weight yarn, I’m also not really ready for super delicate work. ☺️

I like these ideas 😍 So bold and experimental and easy to vary. Great for trying knitting ideas and patterns because the shapes are simple. I am being distracted ... perhaps if I gave up sleeping ...

Thank you.... And I will think about the sleeping problem. Perhaps we should collectively invest in medical science to find a way for sleeping less without ill effects :-D

wow !!!! you did a great job. I especially liked the white cardigan from the grandmother's squares. I've never knitted such models before, but I want to try ☺

Thank you... but the granny square cardigan was more of an accident :-D I originally wanted to make a blanket, but after 8 squares i gave up. Because I found the squares lovely I had the idea to sew them together: two for each front and four for the back. I then crocheted the sleeves in half double crochet with some puff stitch flowers and made a buttonband :-D

Such a great selection of shapes @neumannsalva... I always end up doing the same boxy style without sleeve shaping to avoid disappoinments...

I really the colour of the Marian jacket 😊

Then you will like the Marian Jacket - it is boxy without sleeve shaping :-DDD (I think... hm I have to look up my own pattern)
But I am like you (but only in crochet). I don't know why, but I also prefer a boxier shape in crochet. In knitting I mostly work a waist shaping and I taper the sleeves. But as you perhaps remember, the bust darts in my knitted Miette cardigan where not the best idea :-D
I would so like to see more of your knitted or crocheted garments (perhaps after the pyjama series??)

Oof, I also much prefer top down knitting to any other method, sewing is nottt really my thing 😂

I am also such a big fan of top-down constructions... but there are so many beautiful patterns which are designed to be knitted flat or bottom up , I think I have to challange myself and learn to sew neatly. In crochet it is so much easier to sew the parts together than in knitting (for me)

Thank you for sharing this @neumannsalva!! This is a very good introduction on the various types of designs, methods and thank you for the sketched diagram! One challenge I have with crochet/knit garment designs is they do not show how the pieces look like and how they are constructed and joined / attached / sewn together. I can't wait to learn the Marian Jacket :) It looks do-able and promising for me to attempt 😊

Uiiii Happy you like it!!! The jacket next week is not very complicated, you need to know how to:

ch = Chain
sc = Single crochet (UK double crochet)
dc = Double crochet (UK treble crochet)
ss = Slip stitch
fbdc = Front post double crochet (UK front post treble crochet)
bpdc = Back post double crochet (UK back post treble crochet)
dc2tog = decreasing, two double crochet worked together (UK decreasing, two treble crochet worked
together)
Sewing front parts and back together, sewing buttons

It has a boxy and cropped shape, but you could change this if you want.
I hope to present another more versatile pattern for a top down jacket in the next weeks :-D
And I think, if you can alter your own clothes with crochet, the jacket will be no problem, your understanding of crochet is really good <3

Lol! The title of the post got me laughing "how to construct..." Very nice constructions you've got there. I agree with you they definitely look like seeing patterns. I like your granny square cardigan. Its so pretty. I'm just realizing its like your area is mostly cold than hot in a year, the rubbing you made is each so unique.
You mentioned crocheting a full coat !men thats definitely going to take a while. Hope to see your crochet pattern for next week.

Thank you! I also (now) like the granny cardigan although it was an accident (I mentioned it should have ben a blanket)
And crocheting a coat is not so tough as it may sound, because crochet is incredible fast, much faster than knitting, if you use the right stitch pattern.
And with the weather you are more or less right, but over the years it is becoming warmer and warmer. The temperatures varies between -10-5 in winter up to 20-32 degree in the summer. Right now we have strange weather very warm and constant thunderstorms and rain....

Wow, I've never been to any place that's less than 20 degrees so that's still pretty cold for me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00