I need holidays and you will learn an I-cord bind off

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

Dear needleworkers, I will make a little writing holiday for two weeks. My husband has a bit of free time and we want to reorganize our flat, watch some films, visit museums and care for my parents.

pinterest steemit titelbild(3).png


But I did not want to leave without telling you… I will frog the pink cardigan (please readers do stop laughing!!!!). I had a hard look on it and I cannot close my eyes before the much too wide sleeves and the better but still strange neckline. I guess last week the sun made confused me and with todays rain I am a bit more realistic. The sweater currently resides in the box of shame, so there is plenty of time for me to change my mind multiple times (sorry for this 😱)

Kopie von Kopie von Soziale Medien – Design ohne Titel(15).png


Meanwhile, I picked up an older project, the Rönn Cardigan from the The Weststrand Sisters which I had abandoned because I was scared of knitting a new variation of short rows. You all know I use a not so common style of knitting (combination knitting) and most directions for in/decreasing or turning stitches are not usable for me (meaning, I must exchange techniques etc). But I was so frustrated on my pink Frankie Cardigan, that I wanted to proof that I am a capable knitter to myself. Fittingly (this is written with a lot of irony) I had four shi*** days of hormonal migraines which sometimes allowed me to knit slowly. In these days I worked through the short row sections (I did two wrong and the last ok) and I finished the sweaters body. Yesterday I had another long waiting period and I again worked on this sweater and learned the I-cord bind off: looooove 💕 Perhaps you also did not knew this bind off? Then I have a video for you:


I made the I-cord smaller than in the video with only two extra stitches.

Design ohne Titel(2).png


This is such a neat finish (if you are able to do it right, mine is less neat more – ahem – cuddly 😂). The instructions for the Rönn cardigan are super clear so far and surprisingly the fit is nice too :-DDD

Kopie von Kopie von 1800px × 768px – Design ohne Titel(6).png


In my typical manner, I used a different yarn which is a bit thicker than the recommended . But I am proud, I made a tension scare beforehand – perhaps because I was taken hostage by my knitting conscience 😂😱
I hope my rush holds on and I will have time to work out the short row sleeves … I again have to change the pattern a bit, as I will knit the sleeves flat. Knitting in the round is not possible with combination style (while knitting in the round you cannot twist and de-twist the stitches, so I automatically would knit regularly continental style, which is hard on my hands – so no).
I hope for some relaxed days without too much sorrow and stress (please!!!) and we will see us after this short holiday.
I hope you all have a wonderful time.


Thank you @crosheille for initiating and @muscara, @shanibeer, @marblely for hosting the #needleworkmonday. If you want to see more beautiful projects with yarn, fabric and most of all needles, follow @needleworkmonday. Or even better grab your needles and keyboard and join the #needleworkmonday community.


needleworkmonday.png


neumannsalva - Kopie.png

Sort:  

Ohhh, I'm so sorry about the migraine! :( But your cardigan is looking lovely. :)
"The box of shame," LOL ...I know that feeling.

Thank you for your compassion... I guess these migraines are worsening because of all the sorrow and sadness with my father who is so ill.
And yes, I also like the Rönn Cardigan much than the pink one. I love the pink wool, but the fit was terrible.

I-Cord is one of the things on my "to learn"-List. But I have to admit for short rows I only do the "German" short rows - easy to do so why should I learn something else?

The pattern called for Wrap and turn... Before the rönn cardigan I only tried this technique once and I did it wrong (without noticing) I will have to look the (german, japanese short row) techniques up. I still do not know in which way they are different.
And the I-cord was surpisingly easy... only a bit slower than other bind off techniques and it uses a bit more yarn.

German short rows are more a "turn and pull"-kind of work - VeryPink Knits has a great video (and another one in slow motion).

The cardigan looks beautiful - the right design for you 😍
Have a lovely few days away, I hope you enjoy them ❤️💕💐🌿😘

Uhhh thank you for the complement and the lovely wishes. Sadly the days off are now overshadowed with my fathers health. It is good that my husband is at home as the hospital is one hour drive away and I cannot reach it (reasonable) without a car. But, as you can imagine, I hoped everything would develop differently...


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much for sharing my post. Sending you some virtual sunshine 🌞

Oh noooo I am so sorry, but I do not know what this means.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thank you so much for your support and the wonderful cake. I so appreciate all your work 💕

That cardigan is gorgeous and very fitting on you!!! I love that bind off too, it’s so pretty.

I hope the pink cardigan gets rescued from the box of shame but only when you’re ready! 😄 I’m sure you will alter it to your liking.

Thank you for the heads up and letting us know of your holiday, how sweet of you.

You know I would have been like “where is @neumannsalva?” 😧 Lol


I hope you both enjoy your time, have fun and love on your parents. This will be good for you. Enjoy and we’ll see you when you return! 😘

Thank you so much for the compliments. I love most all off the Weststrand Sisters designs. And the pattern is not only nice, it also is written very clear and easy. I hope the sleeves will turn out ok too.
Sadly there are no real holidays, as my fathers health worsened and he is back in hospital. We are there every day and pray it will get better. But it does not look good. 😔😔😔😔

I am sorry to hear about the condition your father is in. Sending you all my thoughts and prayers. 🙏🏽

Congratulations @neumannsalva! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 70000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 71000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82