Needlework Monday alterations on a homemade skirtsteemCreated with Sketch.

I’ve been exchanging comments with @neumannsalva and thought that this could be an opportunity to share. I made this skirt from scratch many years ago. Fancy stitching 🧵 invisible zipper and all. But it never quite fit right.

C1FE870A-4F82-4E76-9278-4648E225612B.jpeg

So, I tried to wear it to work today. Bad idea!!! It kept riding up on me and just makes me feel pudgy. Luckily i keep a spare skirt at work and changed.

ECF814E6-B77B-457B-BCDB-38AF0FA2C163.jpeg

I’m going to try to alter it by letting out the darts that i added when i was younger (thinner-yes 🤫).

DB71BA56-263D-4281-A0D5-41AB236D9FE9.jpeg

Here is the dart, get ready seam ripper!

67954062-B852-4845-9C89-7E87F807BC3E.jpeg

This is the waistband ripped out to see if i was smart enough not to cut it. And yes i was! Whew 😅. Don’t need to find scraps.

Pop out the dart now. Then do the other one. Back when I thought you had to backstitch darts (I don’t bother anymore) 😉

I’ll have a future post with a fast seam ripping tip!

A78E15A7-9058-40E9-961F-27260F664132.jpeg

The second dart was even better because I tucked it inside without a cut. Ta da!

FA70FBC9-5F0D-4611-A64C-C30979C6BA2F.jpeg

Now just topstitch with the same color thread on the machine and iron out the holes. Hopefully it will fit.😊

B9FE123F-B037-4A77-8536-EB5CDA68113C.jpeg

Thanks as always @crosheille for supporting our #needlework community
🌊🌙
#NHKkawaii

Sort:  

Here it is!!! The skirt with model inside. And I love how it fits you without the darts. It drapes much better. But the best is the flower design and the vibrant color fits perfectly with your absolutely and wonderfully , gorgeous, me being envious, long hair 😍😍😍
And yes please, I want and need this ripping advice :-D

You flatter me too much - tee hee. I’ll post the ripper tip as soon as I can. Thanks so much for the inspiration @neumannsalva
🧵🧡🧵

Yesterday I needed a ripper for my knitting (nooo - I am only joking) I had to unravel a part of the yoke, as I made the neckline much too small.... I do not like to star over, so I was pondering the ripping :-D

You’re only “yoking” lol fixing the yoke!
There’s the eternal conundrum of the crafter: to rip, start over, or finish it and find someone to wear it (if ever).
I’ve experienced all of the above and find it’s best to rip it out and start again or it will sit in the closet or on the mending pile until the material begins to deteriorate. 🌸 Moths and mold. 🌸

Looks like it fits better!

It certainly feels more comfortable. 😊 thanks @jamethiel 🌸

Congratulations @oceanmoon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Ahhh yes it does fit you better minus the darts! I love how it lays on you now. It’s a very pretty skirt and looks great on you! Thanks for sharing! Looking forward to those seam ripping tips! 😍

P.S. What a great idea to have a spare skirt at work!! 😎

Thanks again @crosheille it didn’t take much time at all. Spare shoes and skirt very practical 😉

Backup clothes at work, good plan.

@lordvdr it is super important to have that just in case skirt/pants if you have some space in your desk. You never know....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16