DIY Crochet Bohemian Bag

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago

You know how it feels when you finally finished a project after hiding it in the boxes for a long time? That sense of fulfillment you feel when you are finally using that project you've been putting on hold forever? Ahh. It feels really good!

After more than a month of delaying work, my Crochet Bohemian bag is finally done!

dy4mgn6j6q.jpg

I started this last January but I just suddenly didn't feel like working on it last month simply because I felt like I was just going in circles with the design I was going for. And I'm not kidding. I literally was just making a lot of round hdc's. I felt like it's taking forever to finish.

o5knboeoxo.jpg

Even the base pattern was repetitive. So I had to stop working every now and then. There are days I bring the yarns outside so I could crochet in the middle of traffic or while waiting on the line at the grocery store but there are times I felt like I don't want to continue anymore.

I even had originally planned on adding a lining inside the bag but it felt so laborous so I changed my mind. Good thing I double yarned each hdc's so that makes the bag a bit more sturdy.

When finally I was able to stitch all the parts together, that's when I found the motivation to finish the job. I felt good after seeing the bag come into shape. I've been holding its form in my imagination too long, I think that's what made my braincells feel tired. But when I was finally stitching the parts together, I felt the will to continue.

tnijs3expo.jpg

It took me more than a month to finish the body but I did the strap and attached the zipper in one sitting. Haha! Motivation!

I was able to use the bag for the first time during our out of town trip last weekend.

w8ygwfw6ae.jpg

The strap was a bit longer than I imagined but I could just easily tie a knot to make it shorter. Now I can move on the my next project. Woohoo!!!

xeo4wjvn27.jpg

84irykqm0a.png

Sort:  

Yes, some projects take more time - some because they are difficult, some because they are boring. Worst are those nearly finished where you "only" need some more steps ;)

If the strap is too long you could shorten it with a wide brooch, perhaps you could even crochet something that matches the bag. That wouldn't shorten it permanently but you could change it as you need it.

I decided to just tie a knot on the strap. Lol. I think I might look for a brooch to make the knot a bit more stylish.

Well done for getting there and finishing your bag. I'm the same, especially if something is a little fiddly, it just gets put away ... 😍 I love the colours of your bag and the shape, perfect for your trip!

Thanks! Part of the reason I wanted to finish the bag was so that I could use it for the trip. 😅

@romeskie beautiful needlework their. I am also into some crafty things it relaxes me even if it's ugly output. Currently I'm working on this. I love upstyling things to create less carbon impactIMG20190311154454.jpg

Wow! Beautiful skirt! Did you use a special kind of cutter for those cute holes?

That turned out very cute! Glad you finished it and hope your next project is less annoying!

I sure hope so too. But it was still an awesome learnibg experience.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Lovely 70s retro look!

Thanks! To be honest, most of the yarn colors in there were leftovers from my orevious projects. Lol.

Boho is a wonderful way to use up leftovers, for sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Wonderful bright handbag !!! It’s good that you were able to find the time and still complete this excellent work. I really liked your idea and maybe I will also try to tie a similar version of the bag))) Thank you very much !!!
I wish you success with the following handmade projects !!!

Thanks! Yay! Can't wait to see your project. ^_^

Wishing you success as well. :-)

Love the bohemian bag @romeskie! So cheerful :) And ooo yes, it feels good to finish any unfinished project, stacked away, collecting dust or hidden away for a loooong time. Congrats on completing this one! :) I have some from a couple of years back! Haha. How time flies.

I can now freely say that I am ready to move on to my next project. 😅😅😅

Beautiful project which complements you outfit wonderfully. The bright colours you have chosen are so cheery. Perfect for spring and summer (we still have storm and rain here)
And I am with @muscara the last finishing touches are the worst. I so often have a knitted cardigan lying around for months only because I do not want to sew in the ends or sew on the buttons. So, congratulations to you, you have done it 🌈💕🎊

Thanks @neumannsalva. Artist call it artist's block. Writers call it writer's block. We should call ours needleworker's block. And yes! For this project, I have successfully gotten over needleworker's block. Lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76