A week in knitting: Winter Hooded Cowl | Sunday Knitting Group | Tension with Tension

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1533.JPG

I was drawn to this gorgeous Rowan's Thick n Thin yarn in a huge sale at John Lewis last year (shade: moorland). I'd bought a new outfit with very different colours (and style) from my usual comfort zone and I needed new accessories. I like to have a hood on my jackets so that I can quickly pull it on and off, as needed. The leather jacket, bought in a charity shop for £20, didn't have a hood, but I'd just seen Toni Collette in Lucky Them and liked how she'd worn a cowl as a hood. Actually, I like all her outfits in this film, and especially how she uses scarves and cowls (and bags and boots). It's an affectionate little film, I've seen it several times, and not just for the fashion style.

IMG_1536.JPG

I used a very simple stitch, like a basket weave (k2, p2 for four rows, then p2, k2 for four rows) on 9mm birch circular needles. I used a Rowan pattern as a guide, to get the overall dimensions, I knew it had to be deeper than usual (when I say I used a Rowan pattern, I popped into John Lewis and sat down with the pattern book for five minutes). One side is very smooth with the pattern and colours clearly visible:

IMG_1542.JPG

The other side is more craggy and rough and has a kind of misty look to it:

IMG_1546.JPG

It reminds me of this Redwood tree bark from the Botanic Garden around the corner:

20161124_141846.jpg

I've half a ball left, so I might make something arty and sculptural. The pictures of the knitting were taken at different times of day and in different light: the top one was taken at night with electric lighting; the bottom one this morning in daylight. Just realised that I've had my hair done in the same colourway!

Sunday Knitting Group

Finally made it to the knitting group which meets on Sunday afternoons at the Exchange bar in Leicester's cultural quarter. The knitting group has been meeting for about four years now. It has about a dozen members, all ages and abilities, with many continental knitters. There were various projects in progress and talk ranged from Artificial Intelligence and Universal Income to whether stress is a modern invention.

"a sanctuary for knitters"

I love knitting groups: my knitting improved in leaps and bounds once I started going to I Knit London - "a sanctuary for knitters" - complete with large tea urn and licensed bar. One of my favourites quotes from the knitters there is:

"I have a knitting project for every degree of tiredness"

This was a new idea to me, that you could be knitting more than one thing at a time. I was much more Presbyterian and, like a good Girl Guide, I'd steadfastly refused myself any new wool until whatever I was knitting, however boring and frustrating, was completed. Reader, I had never finished a thing.

This new idea of the joy of knitting and tackling small items, like socks, scarves and cowls, beanies and berets, which could be finished in a fortnight, meant I could try out many new techniques and patterns, all for a small outlay and quick rewards, varying between neat and precise and hairy, chunky extravanganzas.

So I was pleased to get to the group in Leicester and renew my contact with other knitters.

Tension about Tension

IMG_1547.JPG

We need to talk about tension. I was with @lizgore with her tension dilemmas and where it worked out. I've spent ages sometimes messing about with swatches and needles and still ending up with a garment that was way too big!

The yarn in the picture is Rowan handknit cotton from the limited edition Kaffe Fassett colours. It was reduced to £2.40 for 50g in the winter sale at Liberty's, so naturally I had to have it.

The advice on the band gives tension as 19-20 stitches and 28 rows over ten centimetres using the recommended needle size. I'm not worried about matching the exact tension, as I'm going to design my own pattern but I do want accurate measurements.

The Experiment

I cast on 60 stitches and knitted the entire ball in stocking stitch (about 56 rows). I wetted the yarn, squeezed gently and rolled in a towel, before shaping it into an even rectangle and letting it dry naturally overnight. I measured 10cm each way in the centre of the swatch; then wet pressed (as this is how I will be finishing the garment), allowed to dry naturally and measured again. Both times, the tension came to 14.5 stitches and 23 rows.

Slightly trepidatious, and without breathing out, I'm going to use this for calculating the construction of the garment.

Anyone else have problems with tension or handy tips for improving the accuracy of your measuring? I'd be delighted to know.

Sort:  

This is great, I am learning to Crochet :D It is so satisfying to create something

Indeed it is 👍

You should go back and add a homesteading and homesteadersonline tags to this post. They would really appreciate it. Nice work.

Thank you, I will.

I have a question. I crochet and sometimes knit but i lose interest and alot of times leave things mid way and never find time to return to them. Any advice?

Oh yes, I have had this problem so often and given away countless half finished garments to charity shops. Some ideas that have helped me are choosing small projects that can be completed quickly and joining a group of other people who are crocheting or knitting. Starting to post for needleworkmonday prompted me to pull out half forgotten projects - especially ones that had hit a problem.
Has anyone else got any good ideas?

:) thankyewww

I spent ages reading your post @shanibeer and would print it if I could; it's packed with great ideas, tips and thoughts...
I do love the autumn colour of that wool as well :) and I totally agree with you about smaller projects though I am currently working on breaking up a bigger project into achievable bits...

That's lovely, thank you.

Hi @shanibeer! I love the idea of a knitting group. I wish I could get a group together for lampshademakers, but I don't think there are that many of us out there! Happy #NeedleworkMonday!

Knitting is easier to transport than lampshades! I belong to an embroidery and textiles group which meets in a nearby town and sometimes the speakers bring trunkloads of materials and work!

Nice--that sounds like so much fun!

What a wonderful post. I love Rowan yarn, but around here it is so expensive (I think because of the tax) I never by it. And while seeing your knitted swatch, which is knitted so even and neat, I cannot give any advice, because I am new to knitting and I my knitting has not the same neatness as yours. And sadly, I am a little lazy, I seldom block swatches, mostly I hope the knitting will behave when washed later. I think I acquired this attitude through my (much longer) time of crocheting. I think the crochet fabric is more forgiving and because it is normally thicker and sturdier than the knitted fabric it does not change so much when washed and dried flat (and I seem to think that I am still crocheting not knitting 😁)
Followed you in the hope to get some cool knitting talk and inspiration and resteemed your great post

Rowan yarn is very expensive here, too, I usually only buy it in the sales, preferably half-price! I looked at one of their designs last winter and the wool would have cost £90: too much! I agree, crocheting seems more forgiving. Thank you for re-steeming, I hope we enjoy many conversations!

Sadly yarn is not an investment which will secure my finacial future 😅😅 I sometimes dream to become a yarn-test-buyer who is paid for buying expensive yarn ...maybe I am yarn-addicted 😅

😎

Ooh, I love your cowl and its yarn! Great color. I am so going to call my beginner spinning efforts "thick and thin." It's a design choice! 😄

This is a gorgeous color! Reminds me of fall, my favorite season. Love that you are doing this as part of a group, too.

It's lovely, isn't it? I'm enjoying wearing it - lifts my spirits!

That cowl is great, love the color! And having a different project for different levels of energy is a great idea. I usually scale my projects by portability. Blankets and large stitch projects fir home, smaller things like hats and simple dishtowels for when in public.
Ive got a cross stitch blanket I started 25 years ago and never went back too. Needlework monday has me planning its completion now!

Yes, it's a great motivator, isn't it?
Good idea about portability!

What a great post @shanibeer! Oh that Autumn yarn color is soooo pretty. I made a neck warmer with similar colors and it has been my favorite since. It compliments my sandy brown hair and freckles! 😃

That is so neat that you are apart of such a group. It reminds me of our Monday’s but only in person. I try my best to stick to one project at a time but I love challenges and get bored way to quickly. So I too work on a few small projects at a time while I tackle a big one.

Thank you for sharing such great tips with us. I’m such a beginner knitter but I am stacking up on all of these tips for later. I love the outfit and how you coordinated it with your cowl!

Hello @crosheille, thank you, I enjoyed doing it, although I'm not sure what's happening to the pictures, they seem to be disappearing! I was really pleased with the cowl, simple to do and a great match with the outfit, I was lucky with the colour. Groups are good for motivation, I think, on and offline. It's lovely to sit chatting about all sorts, picking up tips as you go. Here's to many more conversations!

You’re welcome! Yes I agree! Groups are very beneficial and encouraging! I love being able to share ideas with other’s of like interests! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63594.33
ETH 3039.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10