#needleworkmonday | make like an artist

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

I went back to see Picasso again before the exhibition finished last weekend. It was a different experience, but on both occasions I was taken with Picasso's skill and deftness, his constant fearless experimenting and his inter-relationship with other artists and artistic traditions.

I would have liked more time - even with easy access to London, I would like to be closer and have the opportunity to call in frequently for an hour or two. To look, and also to experiment myself.

Knowing it was the last visit, I came away stacked with materials I could use to continue my studies - postcards, prints and two books, one an introduction and one a catalogue of the exhibition.

One way of knowing an artist more deeply is to copy their work. It forces you to look more deeply, to pay attention, to understand more about technique and, perhaps, what the artist was expressing.

I love the colours and the colour combinations in many of the paintings in the exhibition - far beyond nice and chocolate box cover. Some colours and some motifs are definitely of their time, the early thirties, and you can see the relationship with Art Nouveau and applied arts.

20180823_175300.jpg
This one, Reading, appears very Art Nouveau to me - the colours, the stylised head, the little floral motif on the right. One of my favourite pictures, it's quite small.

I especially like the colours in this picture and the deftness with which Picasso painted the face using a palette knive. I love the curves and the colour combinations and I wondered how they might be translated in crochet. When I called in my local yarn shop, I discovered a range by Erica Knight: Gossypium cotton which has a set of lovely unusual colours.

IMG_2184.JPG
The Dream. You can read more about it in the Tate's press release for the Exhibition

There are two things I want to try: the shaping of the blouse with its gentle curves and shadows; and the triangular halo of the hair. I'm also interested in the bright colours - the red, blue and yellow - and the pattern on the wall. Rather than mapping out the picture with squares and calculating the stitches, I wanted to work freehand, drawing with the hook.

In no time at all, I was learning about technique, how to shape concave and convex curves, the three dimensional marks that crochet makes, the difference in appearance on each side, the technicalities of having two threads running at the same time.

IMG_2165.JPG
At first, I didn't cut the threads, just looping threads as floats behind the work. But I realised cutting the threads gave more choices about where to start the new row, and a better finish for each area of colour.

While I was working, other things were happening: I began to get new ideas for experimenting, I wondered where I was going to keep all these samples, how I was going to organise them. Most of all, I wondered how I was going to organise myself and keep track of what I was doing.

IMG_2185.JPG
Drawing freehand with the crochet hook, I started to explore the effects of different techniques to create curves and shape areas of colour.

I had already hit on the idea of project boxes (a sketchbook alone isn't going to work for these three-dimensional bulky objects). Then yesterday, @lloyddavis's post Keeping Going with Austin Kleon, which included the podcast below, helped me with all those things.

There's lots in this podcast, but the immediate practical things were:

  • get a big box to keep everything in every time you start a project (check).
  • have a small pocket sized notebook on you all the time, with a pen or pencil close by where you can jot down ideas as they occur through the day.
  • have a bigger notebook, like a journal, that you use to gather your ideas together and reflect on them (Austin gets through a fat one of these every few weeks).
  • he does this journal writing in the morning, when he is at his best. He was doing it at night, but it worked better in the morning. I guess you find the time that is right for you.

There's a big emphasis on paper in this podcast. Austin felt that paper was more durable. I guess you could also use your phone to note things and take photographs, if that works for you.

I want to finish with this podcast which looks at how Picasso created this painting.

20180709_140106.jpg
Nude Woman in Red Armchair. This is a large painting and my photograph doesn't do the colours justice. It's well worth watching the podcast for a better reproduction.

Sort:  

I love your idea to work with paintings and transporting fragments like colours, patterns, forms or emotions into crochet. Transmuting one artform into another. I think your yarn choice is perfect and also the freeform you are creating clearly hints to the painting of Picasso you introduced in your post.
I am curios where this will lead you...
And with the sketchbooks... I had to laugh. I do not know the podcast you posted (but will look into it) but I also have two (ok... three) sketchbooks, a bigger one with aquarelle paper and one with normal paper. Funnily the ideas I write down are seldon the paintings I finish in a larger scale. I mostly use the simple paper book to try out colours for the real paintings. The other one I use for little sketches I make while in holiday or on a walk... something like this for example

hattingen sketch.jpg


The third book I have is for knitting and crochet, but it is not super practical, as I glue in yarn and little tension squares ... but I still use it to sketch garments or patterns and to write down yarn and color choices.
Will you start using sketchbooks? Or do you already use them?

I think at the moment, I am trying to get a daily practice. I find if I only do something for one day, by the time I come back to it, I have forgotten what I was doing ...
I have many sketchbooks and notebooks, some many years old, but I haven't had a system and I haven't had the idea of a tiny notebook to have in your handbag (although I think a list of bread, milk and potatoes will find its way into it as well). I see moleskine do some interesting little notebooks with detachable pages (also pretty covers).

Mine is a cheaper brand than moleskine, but also has these detachable pages, which is very handy if I produce by accident a masterpiece I want to save :-DDD

I like your sketch :)
Where will my experiments lead me ... 😱

Thank youuuu and now I am even more curious... The frightend smiley suggest you will experiment with living creatures (I see lots of blood and yarn :-DDD)? Perhaps assemble a real Picasso? (I should stop to read so much junk literature...)

Aww Im sorry your exhibition is ending as you obviously loved spending time there. Now you can get creative with all your resources.I look forward to seeing what you create :-)
And I love notebooks. I have loads. Nice paper and I always use a propelling pencil to scribble in them!

It did appeal to me 😊 And its given me lots of ideas to pursue. The challenge will be finding the time every day to attend to them. You have to be quite selfish to get anything done.
I bought some project boxes yesterday. And notebooks 😍

You're making a very intriguing shape and I haven't really tried free form crochet, @shanibeer... I look forward to seeing how it all progresses - the colours are great though :D
My problem is I have to restrict myself to just one sketchbook... I have at least three on the go - that's because I tend to misplace them and leave them in 'project bags'.

I know what you mean - I have books and bits of paper everywhere, not to mention yarn ... I liked the idea of the project boxes, it's a good way to keep sets of material together and their artwork. I like something slightly translucent, so you quickly get a rough idea of what's in the box, without having the see the tiny labels on the front. Which will all be filled in, of course :)

I totally support the project box idea, @shanibeer. I think it's a great way to manage and carry specific projects while limiting yourself to just that and then decide whether the project's finished with and deal with left overs and so on :D

Hi @shanibeer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.262 which ranks you at #19622 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 19624).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 499 contributions, your post is ranked at #365.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank you for your feedback but you know, this doesn't really help. My rank, and its zigzagging up and down, is dependent on so many things, many of which are beyond my control. I know that because I haven't done anything differently since you last called by when my rank was 85 places to the better. What has happened is that the blockchain stopped.
I've worked out what's right for me and what's possible for me to do at the moment. By all means leave your message when you first call, or even once a month if you think that helps, otherwise just leave me a nice little message saying, "thanks for posting, you're doing fine, here's a link to a post if you want to change anything you're doing."
Many thanks and keep up the good work.

This is exciting! It’s so great that you are letting your perception of the painting lead your imagination in free form crocheting. This is what I desire to do more of. You really do start to learn more about shapes, dimensions and more about the characteristics of certain yarns and even hook sizes. The shape you have created so far already has the feel of these Picasso paintings with the curves and pretty colors and I’m curious to see where your hand and imagination take you!!

Thanks for sharing ~

Thank you, I'm glad you find it exciting and you are right, I'm learning so many things. Glad you can see the connections, too!

Hello @shanibeer, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you, that is very exciting, I'll have a look at the website!

Congratulations @shanibeer! Your post has been placed in the spotlight and chosen for this weeks @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Post!

92A67BB0-4A4F-4053-86CF-81D86B0B8EE5.png

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us here.

That's fabulous, thank you!

Absolutely!! 😉

You just planted 0.05 tree(s)!


Thanks to @shanibeer

We have planted already 3677.06 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 35517.95
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22