#needleworkmonday | Top Down Cardigan - Conclusion :)

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

My first third top down cardigan is finished and almost ready to wear. It's true it doesn't have its buttons yet, but it is perfectly wearable and stylish as it is. In fact, I have been wearing it for at least the past ten days, I finished it right in the middle of a cold snap and, well, it would have been silly not to.

IMG_2505.JPG
Made from Rowan Cocoon, this top down cardigan is knitted in one piece. The only sewing is the ends - and buttons should you choose to have them.

I'm learning the basic construction of top-down cardigans after being introduced to the idea by @neumannsalva. I've two others that I started, trying out ideas before I came across J's Knit and Purl Jam, with a set of videos explaining the process (see the end of the post for the videos I used).

The things that I love about this cardigan: it fits perfectly and is the shape and style I want. It's very cosy and, in knitting terms, was very fast to knit (between seven and ten days). That's really important when you're trying to learn something - you need to be able to complete something quickly enough to remember what you've learned and apply it to the next garment.

I wore the cardigan to a gathering yesterday and received lots of compliments and I've been planning a just above the ankle skirt to go with it (I already have the fabric).

Things I would change next time

The neckline

20190211_163404.jpg
The neckline is fine on this - the important thing was learning that I need to cast on 72 stitches for an ordinary round neckline if I am using Aran or chunky wool - like I know I need to cast on 64 stitches when I'm knitting socks. Do you like the black and white filter? ;)

There's nothing wrong with the neckline. When buttoned, it sits snugly around the base of my neck, not too loose and not too restrictive, and lies flat. When unbuttoned, it falls open and sits about two or three inches below the neck, which is just where I like it.

However, I don't specially like ribbing as an edge, so I would like to experiment with some other finishes. In one of the other two cardigans I'm working on, I have a simple two row purl edging which I like, and I'd also like to try seed or moss stitch ... or even a garter stitch collar.

I like a very relaxed style, so this cardigan is perfect for me. If you like a sharper, more defined look, you might like to try these tips for the neckline:

  • from J's Knit and Purl Jam: lose eight stitches from the ribbing and then increase eight stitches in the first knit row.
  • from Fringe Association ("knit and let knit"): use a size smaller needles for the ribbing.
    Fringe Association also has a detailed blog post about creating the neckline and edging as part of a series about improvising a top down sweater. This series is quite detailed - great if you are an experienced knitter or if you are ready to move on, but if you are knitting your first top-down cardigan, I would reccommend starting with J's Knit and Purl Jam. Even there, I used a different weight yarn and made up my own stitch numbers.

I love the neckline on the latest cardigan @neumannsalva is modelling in this post. That shape is what I will be aiming for :) (Thank you for introducing me to top down sweaters - it was the inspiration I needed)!

Sleeves, sleeve increases and underarms

IMG_2504.JPG
I love the stitch definition, even though I am the most untidy knitter!

I just went for it :) J recommends 26 raglan increases for the front and back and the sleeves and then casting on four stitches between the front and back when you start knitting the body in the round.

I just did the 26 increases :)

This did create a problem under the arms when neighbouring stitches which had been in a straight row suddenly had to go at right-angles to each other. There was a hole under each arm about four centimetres long. In this instance, I just used the end of the wool to sew up the hole (It looks okay, doesn't it? You would never know 😎).

In the next version, I have added stitches under the arms and I can already see that it is a better finish.

The other thing I would change are the sleeve increases - I wouldn't do as many on the sleeves as on the body - the sleeves are very full around the upper arm, they look fine and perfect for this style, but for a more fitted top, you would need a narrower sleeve. The Fringe Association link above explains how to do this.

I'm trying this version on my next cardigan together with a v-neck.

The Videos I Used

Youtube Channel - J's Knit and Purl Jam
A Sweet Roll Top Down Cardigan #83 - introduction
Top Down Cardigan 101 #83-1
Top Down Cardigan 101 #83-2
Top Down Cardigan 101 #83-3
Top Down Cardigan 101 #83-4
I also wrote about swatchtaping in a previous post - another idea from J.


This video compares different types of increases you can use for the raglan increases. J. uses the yarn over method - that can look pretty in a lightweight yarn, but I prefer the kf&b method. You choose :)


Finally, even though there is no sewing up (apart from the holes under the arms), here's a nice video about mattress stitch, which I found really helpful for another up and over cardigan I knitted using a pattern.

If anyone tries this method, please let me know how you get on.

I recommend starting with big yarn!

Sort:  

Congratulations @shanibeer! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this week's @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Posts! Thank you for your quality post and for being a part of the needlework community!

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us here.

NWM Discord LInk.jpg

Thank you very much 😊


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

If you do not knit neat.... what am I doing???! :-DDD Your stitch definition is superb and all stitches are even.
As you perhaps guessed: I love your cardigan. I love the fit of raglan sweater/cardigans and I could happily make one after the other. And it is so lovely to read, that you also like this method and that the fit is working for you. Though I have no experience with necklines which are made without ribbing.... I am curious how this will look and drape.
With the increase method... (by the way...you are speaking of raglan decreases, aren't these increases?) I mostly use M1L/M1R.
https://www.purlsoho.com/create/make-one-right-m1r-make-one-left-m1l/
But I am not fluent in variations of in- and decrease as I often cannot use the method mentioned in the pattern, because I knit in combination style.
I am so looking forward to all your top-down creations <3

I love the way I disappear when I am knitting ... the yarn and I become the same ... i think that's when it becomes neat because everything is working in harmony. It's the idea of flow?
Anyway, on a more pragmatic level, you are right, it is increases not decreases :) I have corrected!
I'm glad you like the cardigan, I'm thrilled with it, it is an expression of me and people can tell that when I am wearing it. I think I must learn continental/combination style so I can swap, my hands were hurting at one stage, it would have been good to be able to vary and prevent injuries.
So, we are going on a big creative adventure ... 😊

Your raglan seam looks flawless. Beautiful job on entire sweater.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. It was beautiful yarn to work with, although it sheds terribly! It's forming its own furballs!

Your cardigan looks really pretty @shanibeer! I really like the raglan sleeves and the collar. And the knitting texture too. Your knitting is really neat. I wish I can knit like that :) I still have problem with tension and knitting smoothly. I always feel like my fingers are not really listening to me :P

I used to have that problem - it gets better as you do more knitting. It takes your fingers time to learn ☺

Posted using Partiko Android

This is pretty @shanibeer! I love the stitching details! How many buttons do you plan on adding on? It looks very comfortable. I really like the shape of this collar. I like the shape of @neumannsalva’s latest too! love that you were inspired by her to give this a try!! Congratulations for the finish!

Thank you for sharing all of these tips, notes and videos with us. I am excited to have a library of wealthy information for when I really start to take on knitting!

There are eight buttonholes. I was lucky and found a pack of ten shell buttons in a sale.
The #needleworkmonday community is very inspiring, so many good ideas!

Oh cool!! That’s great you found that! I totally agree! There are so many great ideas being shared from week to week! 😃

There is nothing lovelier than a cozy warm cardigan.... you did a great job on this. I have never heard of "top down" cardigans but it sounds like a real time saver!

It looks like a nice heather gray colour which seems so versatile!

Thank you. Top-down cardigans are faster, and you have much more control over style and fit. Once I've mastered the construction, I'm looking forward to playing with patterns.
I used a monochrome filter on that picture! The colour is really a really nice forest green, but none of my devices pick it up very well, it always looks a bit washed out.

Ah well, forest green is lovely too!

you did this job so quickly !!!!!!!! I'm shocked !!!! I would knit a similar project for at least half a year :) I like that you are not afraid of mistakes in work and analyze them in detail. I also think to try this knitting method, but I still can’t get the courage) I am sure that the compliments that your friends made to you are well deserved

I used chunky wool and a straighforward pattern! The videos are very helpful, perhaps they will give you courage, and this knitting method is much easier than others I have tried.
Thank you for your kind words, I must admit I feel a bit filmstar-ish hehe :)

I also like the relaxed style, @shanibeer - for me it would need to be perhaps even more relaxed along the neckline.
I'm still looking at possible patterns and choosing whether to crochet the cardigan or knit it. I feel the former would grow faster :D

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83