Needlework Monday – Unsuccessful project

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago

Hi, my Steemit colleagues on hobby !!!

  Today is the #NeedleworkMonday!!! I want to show you my unsuccessful project that I recently did. I have breeches that I wore during my illness when I was very thin. This is a soft woolen fabric, very warm and does not touch at all :) After recovering, my body regained its usual weight but the breeches became narrow. It was necessary to decide: either do something with it or throw them out. I decided to, as with the skirt, make inserts on the sides of the breeches. I did not have a suitable piece of fabric, and it occurred to me to crochet them.

image

image

I knitted a crochet hook that was less than necessary (then I hadn’t bought my new crochet hook yet). It took longer than usual due to the fact that the stitches constantly slipped. As a result, I was able to get into my breeches !!!

image

That was great!!!! But!!!! I incorrectly calculated the length and width of the inserts. The breeches in the belt were a bit wide and narrow in the hips. Yes, a seamstress will not work out of me)))))

image

I usually wear these breeches at home so this discomfort doesn’t bother me much. But of course I plan to do it right. The very idea of ​​crocheting the insert is not bad: the inserts do not stretch and are quite comfortable in the product. Maybe I use another yarn for this and I'm sure I can make these inserts much faster with my new crochet hook. I am sure that you were more successful in your projects! :)

I wish you creative inspiration and look forward to your work !!!

@tali72

#NeedleworkMonday by @crosheille

Sort:  

I really love the look of these! It makes me want to find a pair to do this to! 😄 I know your calculations were off but you just gave us a new style idea!!

It’s good to share our failures as well as victories...because we can learn from them to improve!!

Thanks for sharing ~

you are completely right !!!! it is often lacking precisely a good idea. Sometimes you think it’s a pity that I didn’t think of doing it before. I am grateful to our girls for giving us wonderful ideas !!!!!

On the photo it does not look like a fail to me, but you have to feel good in your trousers.... The idea to crochet the inserts would have never occurred to me and I am amazed that it works fine and is not too stretchy.
As a coincidence, I also have trousers which are to tight for my liking and I am pondering what to do about it. But they are made out of thick and very unflexibel corduroy, so I think I cannot use a stretchy material like crochet to make it wider... sigh.... Perhaps I will write some Monday about the problem and ask for all your help :-)
Thanks for the cool idea to use crochet and fabric together <3

PS: I am glad you recovering and feeling better

thank you very much my dear !!!! I'm glad you like my idea! I am very interested to look at your corduroy pants. They should be very pleasant, comfortable and practical. Be sure to save them :)))) such things are eternal. I have a velvet skirt which is probably already 15 years old and I am sure that it will serve the same amount))))

Oh wow.. this is such a cool idea! I would never have thought about crocheting the sides like that to increase the width. Can you undo the crochet to increase the number of stitches? Thank you for sharing your creativity with us @tali72!

I need to make the insert a little smaller at the top. if only it were necessary to extend it in length, then it is easy to do just knit below a few more centimeters. thank!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82