Needlework Monday: Farmer's Wife Blocks... a tutorial (Autumn Tints)

Autumn has passed and the homestead has been buttoned up, chimney cleaned, and we are settling in for the long winter ahead.

I'm not really sure I experienced Autumn this year, otherwise known as Fall, because we had a really rainy summer continuing into Fall and the first snow arrived in October.

The only consolation I have is that with winter weather comes the opportunity to work on my much loved arts, of which I have a diverse interest.

The beautiful colours of Fall have left us to be covered in a blanket of white, but I present to you Autumn Tints, a lovely little block from the Farmer's Wife Quilt Blocks book I mentioned here.

If you missed the first block tutorial, you can find it over here.

I do have one request, in the best interests of myself, my followers, and @needleworkmonday. If you would please leave me a comment below and let me know if there is an interest in my continuing on with these tutorials for as long as I have blocks to show you, or if you would prefer to see other works. I would prefer not to lose any followers due to lack of interest and because Steemit is built on original never before posted content. While these tutorials have been completely rewritten and updated, I did previously show them on my old defunct blog. I do not want to take away from anyone interested, so a show of hands would be much appreciated and no offence will be taken (unless you swear at me, lol) 😊

For my contribution to #needleworkmonday, I present my second tutorial in the Farmer's Wife Blocks.

As per usual, in no particular order.

******************************

Image 1
Block #2 Autumn Tints. Level of difficulty: Easy

This block requires only two pattern pieces, along with four colour ways of fabric.

The layout of this block is as shown in Image 1.

Starting at the top left corner, we will sew the top left square to the adjacent right square; do the same for the two squares directly below. You now have two small rectangles or rows. Make sure to press your seams. Result as shown in Image 2

Image 2


Repeat with the four squares on the bottom right.

Moving back up to the top left, join the two rectangles together (top row to bottom row), making sure the seams meet as perfectly as possible in the centre and sew together to form your square.

Press your seams.

See Image 3 showing front and back after pressed.



Image 3

Repeat for the two rows on the bottom right to form another square. See last picture Image 3


Image 4

Moving back up to the top left, sew the two top squares together (left to right) to form one rectangle or row. Repeat for the two bottom squares, as shown in Image 4.

Don't forget to press your seams.

Lastly, take your top rectangle and sew it to the bottom rectangle and your block is now complete. See Image 5


Image 5






Press your seams and square up your block.

Now wasn't that just easy peasy!

As always, thanks for visiting, a thumbs up would be great and much appreciated, and don't forget to answer my question.

Happy quilting

Full Disclosure: I originally offered up these tutorials on my now defunct blog which was located at acherishedlife.blogspot.com. I present them here for you fully updated and with much more detail than before.

*********************************************

See my needle arts

See my artsy endeavours

Purchase my colouring book pages

Sort:  

Thank you @thistle-rock! I like your tutorial :) I would love to see how a quilt is made from the start to the middle like batting and the end like sewing the borders, etc.

Ah, then perhaps instead of the Farmer's Wife, I should start on one of my placemats... smaller project, quicker, from start to finish.... thanks for the idea, and thanks for answering my question.

Quilt making is a mystery for me: how someone could sew so neat... wow. I love how you have chosen the colours and admire your sewing skills.
And with the autumn... I have the same feelings, although the weather is very different. We had an unusual hot summer and a very warm fall (more like summer) and one day all leaves are gone, and the summer instantly transformed into a wet and grey winter, which is also too warm

Thank you for the compliment and thanks for visiting.

I'd like to see them.

I got the book from the library, and intend to save quotes from the stories the wives wrote, to use on my blogs. Some of them are quite interesting! Thanks for mentioning the book!

Thanks so much @ goldenoakfarm, I just wasn’t sure how many people were interested so hopefully this will help to address my concerns.

Glad you are enjoying the book, even if quilting is not a part of your agenda.

As always, thanks for visiting. 🤗

Good work. Farmer wives are the best, truly.

Thank you, @joeyarnoldvn, lol, not sure if you mean the blocks or the living thing, but I will take it.

Thanks for visiting.

Congratulations @thistle-rock! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 100 replies. Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @thistle-rock
As a follower of @haccolong this post has been upvoted by @hoaithu's Curation Trail.
This is free upvote first when you follow @haccolong

Thank so much 😊

Congratulations @thistle-rock! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

this is a nice little post @thistle-rock , I enjoyed this read.

Btw , I come from the @helpie group and we would like to invite you to join us :) . We are a small community dedicated to helping good users and we would be glad to have you over :) . You can contact me at discord as pechichemena#2313, hope to talk to you soon !

Thank you @pechichemena, I have started to follow @helpie and will check in to the discord group... thanks kindly. :)

Not sure how to connect to the discord group if you could please guide me or provide a link it would be much appreciated, thanks.

They're so pretty, I love quilting!

Thank you, and thanks for visiting. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15