Irish Crochet Dress: trying it on for the first time

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago

Finally, it happened...

... as if by some sort of quiet magic, on a dark and rainy Saturday evening, I crocheted the last bit of lace, completing the main body of my Irish lace dress...

IrishCrochetDress_1Time.png

...which means, 2.5 years after I've started working on it, I can finally try the dress on FOR THE FIRST TIME EVER and see what it actually looks like on me. Here's one of my earlier posts about the process involved.

To tell you the truth, I was a bit anxious for a few moments before taking a look at the mirror, after all, it could have been a total disaster...

So here it is, the first proper glimpse.

20190210_122745.jpg

As you will see, this is just a rough, unfinished 'first draft'.

After the first look at the mirror, the good news is, I didn't see any major flaws which would require me to redo large sections of the dress. Phew...

1902_Edenas_1Primatavimas-1010064 (Copy).jpg

But of course, there are a number of things that'll need adjusting.

For example, some flowers and leaves are a bit stretched when on the body and got slightly displaced, so that will have to be fixed.

I also see that I'll have to fill in the small spaces between some of the branches, which I originally thought would be nice to keep void. I just think it will look better if I filled those spaces.

IrishCrochetDress_adjustments.png

As you can see in the pictures, some flowers and leaves are a bit wonky and loose (I didn't connect them properly), so they'll have to be readjusted and then ironed when the dress is finished.

Also, when crocheting the lace flat on the table, I thought the dress was going to be a bit loose, as I was quite generous with adding some extra lines of lace.

1902_Edenas_1Primatavimas-1010056 (Copy).jpg

But it turns out the lace hugs the body and sits quite close to the skin. I think this has mainly to do with the dress design I modelled the lace on, which is a classic fitted style. This basically means that putting on even a bit of weight would be a no no :-)

1902_Edenas_1Primatavimas-1010060 (Copy).jpg

So what else is there to be done?

1. Sleeves.

The moment the excitement of actually being able to wear the dress passes, I'll crack on with the sleeves.

My plan is to crochet sleeves that would cover 3/4 of the arm, I find it a very elegant sleeve length.

I'm planning to use darker yarn for the sleeves the way I did for the sides of the dress, so as to achieve a slimming effect.

I absolutely adore that light green yarn colour I used for the middle of the dress and many background elements, but the trouble is that if I used it for the sleeves, the arms would look larger, as light colours tend to give the illusion of a larger frame.

1809_Edenas_surinkimas-1010053 (Copy).jpg

Although I'll see how I go, I might add some light green lace towards the bottom of the sleeve.

Now as I am writing this, I've realized I'll also have to make a decision whether to keep my sleeves detail-heavy like the dress or detail-light, where I'd have just a few details running down the sleeve and the rest would be lace.

Let's see, I'm still not sure.

The original design I bought instructions for was sleeveless, so I have no guidance here, will just have to trust my instincts.

That's the beauty of Irish Crochet, it's a fluid process with no strict rules, which makes it easier to correct mistakes or readjust your design as you go along.

2. Hiding the ends of the threads.

Once I'm happy with my sleeves and how the dress turns out, I'll have to hide all those pesky ends of yarn - hundreds of them :-(

The reason I'm leaving them there now is because I want to know exactly where the end of a thread is if I need to unpick and redo a certain area. So they'll be hanging around until I'm completely satisfied with the dress.

3. Sparkly beads.

When everything is finished and the dress is ironed, I'll also be adding some sparkly beads around the neckline, after all, it's a dress for special occasions where a bit of sparkle is always welcome :)

I've already added some beads to the main flower. I like that they are almost invisible in the daytime and will have that eye-teasing effect in the evening.

1902_Edenas_1Primatavimas-1010079.jpg

So that's where I am and where I'm going :D
Still some disctance to go, but the end is in sight :DDD

Get a hobby, enjoy your life!

All photos and text is my original content.

You can see copyright signs on photos because they were taken for my blog www.curioustovisit.com .

If you liked this post, let’s connect – leave a comment or follow me at @vliet , I’ll check out your profile as well.

You can also find me on my travel blog www.curioustovisit.com or Facebook Page HERE

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmpUmRdyWBnxpTnWgmkr84ZF44NS6dxdTu2ngubz3Q9nkLK3WgTafnfpQAQzmN.jpg

Sort:  

I know @crosheille will be thrilled to see this. Done!
Two years. Whoa!
That’s like the guy repairing an antique Chevy 62
Impala.
Keep on postin

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahaha @pouchon ! That sounds like a spot on comparison!

Yes, it's thanks to @crocheille and her initiated needlework community that these posts happen :))) Lots of encouragement there to keep going :)))
many thanks for stopping by and your kind comments!

Lol @pouchon you know it! 😄 I was totally thrilled when I read the title of this post! This is an epic moment we’ve all been waiting for!! So exciting!

3 words:

I’m in LOVE!

Incredibly Beautiful @vliet! We have watched this artful beauty unfold and every moment has been amazing! You look amazing in this dress! The placements of every piece is just right! I love the big rose on the side and I love the transition from the light to dark green!

I think it will look so lovely with dark sleeves. In my opinion the dress is so artistic already that just a touch of more art is needed on the sleeves. Either way it will be amazing!

I am so inspired by you and so excited that we get to witness this unfold. I sent a small token of my appreciation of your inspiring work! Keep up the great work!! This dress really is fit for a princess! 👸🏽❤️

Many many thanks @crocheille for your comments and for your great generosity!
Thanks for your comments as well, yes, the number of detail on the sleeves will have to be considered carefully. Needleworkers here have made some interesting suggestions, I'll just have to decide on something concrete and run with it :DDD

Inspiration certainly works both ways, every Monday I'm so inspired by you and the whole crafting community here on steemit - you all give me that push to move forward in this creative process :DDD
Many thanks and let's continue creating :DDD

🤗🤗🤗 That’s what it’s all about!! Motivating and inspiring one another!!! You have a huge audience and we’re all here rooting for you and this creative work! I’m so glad that you feel the love and support from the community!

I know that whatever you decide for the sleeves it will be fitting for this dress! I can hardly wait to see them!! 😆😍

Many thanks for everyone's support! Helps to get through those dark moments when everything seems going nowhere... who said that creativity is all fun and games..?

Thanks again and I'll keep everyone posted :D

Exactly! We all face those “dark moments” of crafting every now and again. We’re in this together! 😉

Howdy from Texas vliet! I saw this post which rebeccabe resteemed and it's quite extraordinary, the work you have done here. It's literally a work of art!

Howdy @janton !
Many thanks for stopping by and for your comments! That 'work of art' comment is particularly pleasing :DDD

howdy again vliet! well, I'm not a crochet person so I'm amazed at what you all do and I think that dress was extemely impressive! You are very welcome, it was well deserved!

Thanks again @janton !

I want to upvote with 200% or more!! The pieces you showed in Needlework Monday time by time come together. Great great job vliet!

Many many thanks for your good wishes!!!
Yes, it's great to see that the dress is finally coming together :DDD

I totally conquer with other Steemians there, @vliet ! It's beautiful.

Do you really need to iron the dress ? won't it squash some of the three dimensional lines ? Can you not just spray and block to size ?

Thanks @cryptocariad !
I'll see about ironing, I've ironed the elements before, but as I was working I had to roll up some parts of the dress, so some parts got a bit squashed. Blocking might help, I'll have to think about it, thanks for the suggestion!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Many thanks!

Beautiful work. It looks amazing! You have a great plan for your next steps. It will get even better with your changes.

Thanks @jamethiel !
Yes, a plan always helps! I would have never started it without one :DDD

Beautiful. It's been so interesting to watch this come to life.

Thanks @shanibeer !
It's certainly amazing what one can do with some yarn and a little hook :DD

Oh my Gosh!!!!!!! So beautiful! It is perfect for you. The neckline, the big rose at your waist, all the tendrils - perfectly placed. You look like an artwork (I told you already <3) I love the dress without sleeves, I could imagine a small border to finish the armholes, but 3/4 sleeves will be beautiful too.
With the motives which open up a bit, I am with you, I also would close them. But the rest... I cannot see anything too tight on the photo. You look like a beautiful forest elf from a fairy tale <3 <3 <3

Thank you so much @neumannsalva ! mmmm a forest elf from a fairy tale... I love it! :DDDDDD

I know what you mean about the sleeves, the original design actually doesn't have any.
I personally like my dresses to have sleeves, I think I look better that way... :D

I've never done anything this epic. All I do is hats, scarves, and boot liners. Always wanted to try something larger, but never get around to it. Great work here! Looks good too.

Many thanks @tillysfamilyfarm !
For me this is actually the very first big project as well. I have knitted and crocheted sweaters before, but many many years ago and never in Irish crochet technique. This is my first ever project in Irish crochet technique, surprisingly, it just looks very complicated, but as a matter of fact, it's not that difficult at all :DDD It's just that it takes a bit more time than a hat or a scarf...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99