Life one month after I quit smoking and also one month after daughter started going to preschool

in #neoxian5 years ago (edited)

image.png


Preschool

First, let's start with the fact that daughter started going to a public Hungarian preschool at September 2nd. I wrote about it before, that it was quite the challenge and I have had some serious doubts about if this was the best thing to do (sending her there) although it was actually the only option we had. Because the waiting lists are long for the English (or bilingual) schools. Let's start with the fact that our little darling wasn't adapted as quickly as her big sis in Holland at the time she attended preschool. I expected my lady to cry a few days when I was leaving, like her big sis did, but this went a bit different than expected. I can't judge if it was because she really really hated it or that her being ill for weeks in a row also was a huge factor in her not willing to adapt.

image.png

My mother heart has cried many days, and I felt super guilty leaving her there, them pulling her from my arm when she didn't want to let go. It was hard, really hard. She got ill the first week of school, and since there hasn't been one week that she fully attended. Thankfully, the director said not to worry, she hasn't attended any kindergarten so probably has to get used to the fact that she's now surrounded by children 5 days a week. It was very shitty that it took 4 weeks to recover, but it seems that next week will be her first full week at school..

image.png

This past week it has been going smoother with the day, and I assume that her needing to adapt took longer due to the illness (and breaks of being home/at school) but also the language was making it harder.


With having an ill child, I also had so little time where I expected to have loads more every week day

I can assure you, that when you finally have 3 hours to yourself for 5 days a week after 3,5 years, you get used to this quite quickly. So quickly, that when daughter got ill after 3 days at school, I felt out of routine immediately when she stayed home that Thursday and Friday. Even though the weekend was hard, as we all didn't sleep too much, I quit smoking that Sunday, meaning tomorrow I quit smoking for 4 weeks (let's call it a month haha) without having one hard moment. I seriously can't believe how determined I was to never smoke again, and that I did it without having any hard moments. I've done it before, but never without looking back and having tempted moments. Especially not when there was a cigarette there in my sight all day for at least a week. It didn't get to me, not even a bit. I quit, and I will never smoke again. Thankfully, my boyfriend already followed my example about two weeks ago (forgive me for not remembering the exact moment haha).

image.png


Let's not forget all the money we aren't spending on diapers and cigarettes

So, I mentioned before that my daughter had to be potty trained to even attend preschool. Which she wasn't a 6 days before she had to start. I was told she couldn't enter the school with a diaper, so I potty trained her in 5 days. And that was it, a few accidents inside the house, but not 1 (!!!!) outside, so freaking proud of her.. I only bought one more pack the first week of school, so we would have a diaper for the nights, but the pack is almost empty, so this will end soon. I haven't spent any money on cigarettes the past month, and also only bought 1 pack of diapers instead of 3 a month (1 every 10 days it was I think). Total monthly savings about 125 euro.

image.png

Now, I wish I could say I can save it all up, but reality is that I can't. I'm trying to get a debt out of the way, while at the same time I also try to save a bit of cash when I spend less than expected. I can't believe that last week I've been having a (about) 5 dollar bill (in forints lol) in my wallet for 5 days without even spending it. So liberating not having to run to the tobacco shop to get a new pack of smokes.


I've developed a love for the Italian language

Those paying attention, know that I already had a weak spot for the Spanish language, and often try to improve my language skills using the free Duolingo app to learn Spanish in a fun way. The Duolingo way is actually a perfect fit for me. You'd think it's best to stick to one language, and probably that's the case for most people, but I've noticed that practicing two languages at the same time is no biggie for me. I mean, I expect my daughter to hear 3 languages around her (Dutch, English and Hungarian) and she's doing it as well, how can I be a pussy and say I can't?

image.png

So, every day I practice (at least) 10 minutes Duolingo Spanish and Duolingo Italian. My Italian is super basic, but I just can't stop listening to Andrea Bocelli and Laura Pausini... Let me insert that video for those that share the love for either Italian or maybe even Andrea Bocelli (and Laura Pausini).

Having that said, I hope that another concert I'm wanting to visit for quite some time can be checked off soon as Andrea Bocelli is giving 2 concerts in Budapest in November. What do I mean when I say "another"? Not sure if I mentioned it, but the actual post about it is coming in a few days max, I was at a Bryan Adams concert a week ago. Free of charge, and it was seriously a childhood dream to see him perform. His voice is so raw, I love it, and then there's Andrea Bocelli, with the voice of an angel, he is part of the reason that I started appreciating the Italian language more and more, because I have developed a love for every duet I find with Andrea Bocelli. I just have to go.. but let me first tell you all about Bryan Adams one of these days, right after I finished going through the hundreds of pictures and videos, because that's actually the reason that it's overdue.

I will end my post here, otherwise I may be still writing tomorrow morning, and it's getting close to midnight.. because yes, there is even more to tell haha.. But not tonight.

~Anouk

Sort:  

I always wonder if you actually have a flower in your hair at all times. 😂
Congratz on 1 month cigarette free. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, the answer is nope.. never :) lolol

Thanks, glad I quit!

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Thanks :)

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.


Powered by witness untersatz!

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake


Manually curated by @victoriabsb.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17