How Do You Buy Steem?

in #neoxian4 years ago (edited)

blocktrades banner.jpg

I guess this is a very basic question you probably know the answer, I know the answer too but something lead me to ask and that is the high commission (at least I feel it is high) that I get charged to do it.

I don’t know but I feel almost everyone along the chain of my transaction gets a cut before it finally hits my wallet, it doesn’t seem to be that much until you try to do a larger transaction and then discover that mehn! This is big.

3 days ago I bought $50 dollars worth of Steem that I wanted to use to increase my stake in Neoxian, extend some of my leased SP and save some to lease more SP. When the Steem finally landed in my wallet I decided to check what the Steem was worth and discovered it was worth about $48.3 at that time.

The $1.7 in transaction fees may not seem much but consider that if I did a $500 transaction it will have a transaction fee of $17 and if it was a $5000 transaction it will attract $170 in transaction fees. I know the price of Bitcoin fluctuates but even when the price of Bitcoin goes up I still get about the same thing, it is always short of what I expect to have in my account and sometimes it can get as low as the $47 range.

How I Buy Steem

To buy Steem I go to the website of the crypto-currency exchangers (which servers mostly African countries) and make my payment for the value of Bitcoin I want using my MasterCard. I now provide my Blocktrades Bitcoin wallet that will convert it to Steem and sends it to my Steem wallet when the Bitcoin I ordered for hits their Bitcoin wallet.

Who Is Eating The Cake

I think the crypto-currency exchangers where I buy Bitcoin is the main culprit in this shenanigan. First off, the conversion rate they charge from my local currency to the dollar is too high.

dollar to naira.jpg

Source: https://www.xe.com/currencyconverter/convert/?Amount=1&From=USD&To=NGN

1 dollar equivalent to 361.52 naira

But our bank rates when we use our card on international transactions are 1 dollar equivalent to 363 naira.

Now the crypto-exchangers charge 1 dollar equivalent to 373 to 380 naira depending on the market.

The funny thing is that when you want to sell your Bitcoin back to them they charge 1 dollar equivalent of about 340 naira depending on the market.

This situation is not going to stop me from buying Steem when I want to, but I just wanted to voice it out to see if there were other alternatives of buying Steem I could try.

Note: Most US and EU cryto-currency exchangers don’t allow us buy from our country and the ones that do charge even higher transaction fees.

Thanks for reading, please keep your comments coming I love them and will respond as soon as I can. You can follow me if you haven’t already so that you’ll be seeing my post in your feed. I love your support always.

steemit-ketcom-rabbit-slim-seperator.fw.png

Join @Upvotebuilders

upvotebuilders-animation-down.gif

Upvotebuilders News - 174

steemit-ketcom-rabbit-slim-seperator.fw.png

Sort:  

I would suggest instead of buying steem with BTC you might want to experiment with using other coins, to see if that lowers your transaction fees.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @emergehealthier for your suggestion however bitcoin for us is the cheapest to convert to Steem as can be seen in the image below:
compare.jpg

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75