Nepalese Mountain Village

in #nepal6 years ago


Traditional Mountain Village


In contrast to my recent post of street photographs in the city of Kathmandu this is one I took in a small mountain village in the foothills of the Himalayas.

The villagers were out preparing their land for planting as we trekked through the valley.

These are actually quite large buildings compare to the little shacks we saw, elsewhere, on our walk.

nepal mountain village.JPG

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~



Thank you to @juliank and @photocontests for this daily photography contest.

Sort:  

I always love to think of Kathmandu. Even the name is so evocative. Impressive photo. You've clearly lived quite the global life.

I agree @indigoocean, Kathmandu is a really evocative name and it doesn't disappoint as a place either.

As to living the global life, it was a long time ago although reading all the travel articles on Steemit is giving me itchy feet again. 😁

I feel the same. I traveled a lot up until about 12 years ago, when I decided I wanted to settle down. Now I'm still somewhat wanting that, because of wanting to provide some stability to my dog who has a touch of PTSD. But I'm also starting to feel the travel bug again. Once I get things going here in a self-sustaining way, and my dog has gone on to doggy heaven, I probably will start another life phase of frequent travel. That's assuming the world isn't at war by then.

I stopped moving around when I wanted to provide stability for my kids so they didn't have to keep moving schools.

then I lost interest in travelling until coming on Steemit which has rekindled it again. But now I've got grandchildren who we look after regularly so, until they're a bit older I can't see me setting off for other than short trips. 😊

Definitely a different vibe than Katmandu photos. Looks decided laid back

Not sure how laid back it is for the locals though @steven-patrick. They are probably living as subsistence (is the the right word?) level. 😊

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-10T21:38:51
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2359.59/3200.00
Total Photos: 296
Total comments: 328
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations @gillianpearce! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Croatia vs England


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

My mouth is watering more and more when I see your photos, my dear Gillian. Kathmandu and Himalayas, two magic words for me. Wonderful!

Kathmandu and Himalayas are magical words for me too @nolasco. I hope I have the opportunity to return some day, although I don't think I'd manage the trekking now. 😢

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13