Netcoins update - how far have they rolled out?

in #netcoins5 years ago

Netcoins is a relatively new company based in Canada that wants to roll out virtual crypto ATMs across the globe in all sorts of retail locations. Their software turns smart phones or tablets into virtual ATMs.

STEEM was recently awarded a free listing on Netcoins through a contest which was widely promoted here on Steemit.

In checking out the Netcoins website, I found three current locations listed in the city where I live, among the 58 total locations:

24E0BBCB-FEC8-4625-956B-F6ED54AFBA0B.jpeg

I already wrote about my positive experience at Black Tie Vapour, and the fact that STEEM is already available through Netcoins.

So I thought I would check out the other two locations and ask a little about what business was like for them and maybe buy some STEEM.

I went to Daily Grind Coffee. The coffee was good, but I didn’t see any Netcoins signs or anything. When I asked at the counter, the employee’s answer was something like, “you mean like cryptocurrencies? Not as far as I know.”

D8114522-2DC0-4995-951E-49A6872BE4DA.jpeg

Thought that was a little weird, but I headed down to the last location, a newsstand in a mall. The employee there was also confused by my question, but then she let me know her boss had said something about that, but they were not doing it yet.

So, bottom line, only one of the three locations listed on the Netcoins website in my city is actually active right now.

I would be interested in hearing about the situation elsewhere in Canada, or if any locations are already open internationally.

Sort:  

Oh, that's pretty bad. Hopefully your experience was an anomaly, and not that 2/3 of all the listed places don't actually offer it..

Yeah, I suspect the issue is that these locations have agreed to host virtual ATMs but are not yet up and running. In the case of the newsstand, it looks like other locations of the same chain are listed in other provinces. If it were my business, I would wait for a location to be active before publicizing it though.

It actually crossed my mind that the coffee shop could just be a private individual using the shop as a base. Netcoins let’s anyone act as an agent, so you could get set up with their software and act as a mobile agent. It occurred to me that someone might do that and use the shop as a base without the shop’s knowledge. However, after the newsstand, I figured that probably is not the case.

They probably have not agreed, more likely they are set up with some other system into which Netcoins is incorporated, and Netcoins is an option for them if they want.

Could be, but my impression is that the Netcoins system is stand alone....

If it is stand alone and the retailers have made some decision to support it, that makes their retail partner numbers a lot more impressive.

Congratulations @cannonball6! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 50

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

If you do manage to buy some Steem from a retailer with Netcoins, record the process and put it on DTube (before a certain date), you'll qualify for my 100 Steem bounty:

https://steemit.com/netcoins/@demotruk/100-steem-bounty-to-the-first-person-who-buys-steem-via-netcoins-at-a-local-and-documents-the-process-on-dtube

I am planning on buying some STEEM and posting about it. I have not posted anything to dtube before, so that will depend on how much time I have and how easy it is.

Thanks for the heads up on your bounty. I had not seen it.

Actually it looks like someone has just claimed the bounty this morning. Sorry for that.

No worries, thanks for offering it anyway

Congratulations @cannonball6! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83