Love, Death, and Robots (Netflix series) - fast-paced entertainment definitely not for kids

in #netfilx5 years ago

I watched this because it came up on the top of my list of recommendation, and as always, I will give anything a try that appears up there. I know that this leads to them suggesting more like it but whatever, there is so much to see on Netflix that it doesn't really matter.


I think the main thing that I like about this animated group of unrelated stories is the fact that they all have drastically different themes and are made by different animators. One story is in no way related to the one prior to it (at least, not yet, and I have watched 8 ep's.) The brutality in these shorts is pretty intense and calling it NSFW is deffo correct seeing as how there is a whole lot of violence, gore, and nudity.

I was unaware that each of the episodes are so short until I did something else in the same room, stopped looking at the screen for just a minute and returned to something that didn't make sense in regards to what had been on the screen when I left. The individual stories are around 10 minutes long and these keeps the action fast and furious.


As I mentioned before most of the episodes are done by different animation studios although there are some, such as Blur Studios, who have multiple Ep's. However, they stories, even done by the same studio, are unrelated and are directed by different people. There is only one name that appears over and over in the credits and that is Philip Gelatt. I don't know who that is but he is one of the writer names you see often even though the stories are based on someone else's work.

The animation is so top-tier that many times it appears to be live action and it is just amazing such as is portrayed in my favorite episode so far entitled "The Witness."

eac210d2-c6ca-4ee6-b6c8-12063637ccbf-ldr_thewitness.jpg
source

Producer Tim Miller has publically stated that the entire idea behind the series was to make a "love letter to nerd" and I can confirm it is definitely that.

That trailer, just like the show, is short, sweet, and intense. The best part about this series is that it takes almost zero of your time and the longest episode is a mere 17 minutes long. You have nothing to lose.

Love, Death, and Robots - as a series (not individual episodes) gets a well-deserved rating of.....

"Wowsers!"

Sort:  

It reminds me of the Animatrix, that also were short films with different styles. I already added Love, Death, and Robots to my list

YES!!! Thanks so much I have been trying to figure out what this reminded me of! Have a fabulous night !

My parents always taught me to be grateful in life, so today I want to give you a gift, in addition to sharing a news with you. I recently won a delegation award and I wanted to share with you a vote to value your perseverance in this beautiful platform.
When I started, you were one of the first people who encouraged me to write about the history of my pets and share a trip to mochima beach in Venezuela. I leave you a big hug full of love.
Good vibes.

This popped up on my things to check out feed as well. I really like the idea that the episodes are so short. Like you said with some of them being only 10 minutes long, it is definitely something that I can quickly get through in an evening or something like that. I started to watch the episode about the samurai child and his father? fighting the cat/woman, but I need to go back and watch it from the beginning. I was going to ask you if you had seen this yet, but then I saw your post so I figured I would just wait and comment on it :)

I just watched the first episode. It was fast-paced cyberpunk with wonderful style and surprising twists.

WOW~~~ I LOVED this and watched the Season TWICE!!! Such a refreshing Netflix New Series!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76