Dead to Me (Netflix series): Follow up- incredible series

in #netflix5 years ago

I get bored with Netflix series extremely easy. It is actually very rare that I watch an entire season of anything these days and this has a lot to do with the fact that we have so much choice in today's "on demand" services like Netflix. If it isn't stellar, I move on. Dead to Me was captivating from start to finish and I am really looking forward to the next season.


source

This is a relatively new series and I likely would have watched it anyway because of Christina Applegate being in it. I have become so used to seeing her in full-on comedies that this is a bit of a new avenue for her. While I could be wrong about this, I also don't have much recollection of her being the star of very many things as she tends to be featured in a supporting role type way. Although I think her co-star steals the show, Applegate is phenomenal in this series as well.


source

Without spoiling I'll just say that the series is about Jen Harding (Applegate,) a woman whose husband recently died in a hit-and-run that has not been solved by the police - they don't have any clues that can lead to it ever being solved. One day at a grief counseling group Jen hits it off with Judy Hale (played by the absolutely incredible Linda Cardellini) who is an eccentric and extremely kind woman who has a bit of a dark past that is, unbeknownst to Jen Harding, intrinsically tied to her own life.


source

The two of them develop a powerful friendship very quickly and Judy ends up moving into Jen's house in order to help one another cope with their recent losses. They find that they are actually perfect for one another (not in a romantic way, don't get excited) and Judy just seems to "complete" Jen in many ways and this is reciprocal.

So far the way that I am describing this sounds like a "Live Love Laugh" type film but I can assure you that it is not like that at all. I am being very careful to not spoil what is going on here because I honestly believe this is the best series I have seen in a long time. I watched every episode carefully and honestly wouldn't mind watching them again.... the show is that damn good.

The trailer, just like my words, don't even touch base on what makes this show so amazing. I'm not gonna spoil it and I wont need to. Dead to me is not one of those series that you have to watch 3 episodes of before it becomes interesting: It hooks you in the first 5 minutes and the pace never slows down. There is honestly not a single episode of filler here at all and you stay entertained all the way through. The preview presents the show as a comedy and it does have comedic moments but for the most part it is a drama and an extremely good one at that. I can't wait for season 2 and it is extremely rare for me to actually say that.

On a scale of "Urgh!" to "Wowsers" I give Dead to Me a heartfelt overall score of.....


flat,550x550,075,f.u2.jpg

Sort:  

There is a lot of netflix series of which I am not aware of. One can easily miss some gems from time to time. I'm sure the interpretations are great, they are wonderful actresses. It's funny because after reading your review a don't have a clue of what is this show about hahaha, you are extremely good at avoiding spoilers

I like this series much!!! It's twisted and sad.

To be honest, this series surprised me a lot, I thought it would be another boring drama but it turns out to be a pretty good entertainment. Lots of twist and turns, the actress played their role really well and they both fit in perfectly.

My wife and I finished the first season this weekend as well. I am super excited for the second season. The chemistry between the characters is awesome and the blend of everything from drama to comedy to tear jerker and suspense is really great. It's awesome to see that you enjoyed this show as much (or more) than we did!

yeah, it is rare that i stick with an entire season on Netflix and even more rare that 10 episodes aren't just chockablock with useless filler to make the series 10 episodes.

I liked that the episodes were only a half hour or so too.

Posted using Partiko Android

very nice
!dramatoken

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.


You're upping the drama to new levels! Have a DRAMA.

To view or trade DRAMA go to steem-engine.com.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87