Final Space (netflix series) - reasonably good and very cute

in #netflix5 years ago

Final Space is a sci-fi cartoon series on Netflix that was originally produced by TBS and TNT (which I believe is the same company just one is more racy than the other.) I wouldn't say that this show is for kids because it does have a lot of violence, gore, and swearing / sexual themes, but I find it entertaining when it isn't annoying.


source

Gary is a prisoner for some silly crimes he committed on Earth and his 5-year sentence is nearly up. In the time that he has spent on the ship he has customized the ship to help him keep form losing his mind. He has made himself the captain of the ship he is on despite the fact that he is definitely not in charge.


source

On nearly the last day of his captivitiy he encounters an alien floating around a moon and befriends it. He names it Mooncake and they become great friends. I don't care how old and mature you are, Mooncake is super-cute in every way, the sounds he makes to communicate are adorable and well... just look at him!

Of course Mooncake is the source of all the troubles that follow because as it turns out this squeaky, super-cute floating green thing is an ultra-powerful alien called a "planet-killer." Since Gary refuses to hand Mooncake over to evil forces that seek to harness his power, this leads to all sorts of trouble and adventures.

The character of Gary is funny at times, but his over the top humor can sometimes become annoying - at least that was the experience for me.

Overall the episodes are quite silly and no one should expect any sort of profound story from this. It is a cartoon afterall so I don't imagine most people would expect such an experience. The episodes are around 20 minutes long so there is very little in the way of time-commitment. Although I don't push this to the front of my queue as far as viewing on Netflix is concerned, I find it a great way to have some light entertainment and perhaps pick up some one-liners to use later at the bar.

On a scale of "urgh!" to "Wowsers!" I award Final Space a score of ...

"Yip Yip Yip!"

Sort:  

I had not even heard of this one. I will have to check it out!

I need something weird and funny to watch while waiting for Rick and Morty to return.

Haha this sounds awesome if I’m honest! Love the sound of it :) finally another pretty funny and engaging cartoon series to watch! However... maybe the over the top humour could become annoying ...

I also like this cartoon. An easy, original plot, stuffed with parodies of a mass of space blockbusters (Guardians of the Galaxy, Star Wars, Startrek, etc.), in some places primitive — in some places quite interesting and original animation and most importantly this series - the presence of humor
I do not think that the authors will have enough enthusiasm for more than a few seasons, but in my opinion they will be quite good.

hhehehehe as always a pleasure to read you friend ...

I don't think I will watch this, don't have the time right now for something like that even though the episodes are very short. Great review anyway

Congratulations @gooddream! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @gooddream, You must have never missed a sci-fi cartoon series on Netflix. I hope you continue to tell me until the last episode, I only like the cartoon just a little, but I hope I can like it after reading a few cartoon episodes from you ...

Haha, I love the picture at the bottom. I remember those creatures very well from my days of watching PBS. This probably isn't a show I would take the time to watch. It is nice though that the episodes are relatively short and I think we all can benefit from a good mindless laugh from time to time. I don't watch as many of the silly movies that I used to back when I was younger, but I can still appreciate some slapstick when the time is right :)

Of all the grading scales I've ever seen in my life yours has to be one of the best.

I'll have to give it a look. I saw a preview for this cartoon once and thought it maybe worth a look and never got around to it. Now that I can watch it anytime I don't have much of an excuse.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16