Maniac (netflix series) further review: not that great

in #netflix5 years ago (edited)

I had talked about this before and mentioned that I was waiting for more "intel" before i gave my full opine. I now have all the info and it is unfortunate that I have to report, despite liking most of the acting, that the story is weak, unfulfilling, and just not good.

So I am going to be as spoiler-free as possible. Owen and Annie are both signing up for experimental drug treatment for very different reasons and they end up knowing one another in the trials and seem to be drawn to each other. Inside of their "dream trials" (which you will understand if you watch just a little bit of this - which i can't really recommend that you do) they always end up finding one another and helping.

Mostly the acting is good but at times (especially the time that is meant to be the early 1940's) the acting, particularly by Jonah Hill - and actor I adore - is quite bad and the fake accents are even worse.


This story is convoluted and difficult to follow for the most part. I was happy that Sally Field was in the project but beause her character is the mother of another character that isn't really brought to the front-lines until most viewers had given up, her always stellar performance probably went largely unnoticed.



source

Sally is meant to be the driving force behind so much in this series as she is actually the whole reason (accidentally) why everything in this movie goes wrong. I can't expound on this more without giving massive spoilers! Let me get to the point.

I don't really care for the way that Jonah Hill acted in this series: I think he is a fantastic actor but this series might have actually revealed his limitation in my mind. His performance is a DIRECT copy of Rami Malek from "Mr. Robot" and the only difference is that Rami did it well and Jonah actually appeared to be a robot in this series... a boring one at that.


As one gets further and further into the episodes it just gets much stranger and none of it actually makes any sense as far as the original storyline was trying to portray. I mean, i don't even understand who was helped by the entire thing. Sally Field I guess.

I applaud Jonah losing so much weight for this project, but his performance is very poor. Emma Stone did fine and is probably the savior of this entire thing because it becomes very weird, very fast.... and this is fine if it makes sense in the end but at the end of this series the viewer is left with a big "huh?" about pretty much all of what just went on.... and then we are presented with an ending so completely implausible it seems as though they made it up on the spot without any consideration paid to whether or not it is possible.


source

The real star of this flop (in my opine) is Dr. Azumi Fujita (a relatively unknown actress named Sonoya Mizuno) who smokes almost through the entirety of the series. I have worked on films and I also smoke. But the amount of ciggies she must have went through in order to get through this film must have been unbelievable.

As much as a tried to, i cannot recommend this series because it just isn't good. The trailers make it look like it is good, but it simply isn't.

On a scale of "urgh!" to "Wowsers" I give Maniac a rating of ...


"Skipsies!"

Sort:  

I kind of liked it though

i am sure a lot of people did. I don't feel as though my opinion should be taken as an end-all :) I like it when people disagree with me. it would be a boring world if they didn't!

I am glad to hear an honest opinion on this one. I won't bother adding it to my queue now. I've only made it through the first season of Mr. Robot so far, I really need to get back to that one. Did you ever watch Sens8 or The OA on Netflix? I really enjoyed both of those, but I would be interested to know your thoughts. I felt like Sens8 was slow to start, but once it got going it was pretty good. To me The OA started out fantastic and then was decent through the rest of the season. I also enjoyed Altered Carbon though I never read the books.

never heard of either. If i had to chose only one of them, whatayathink it should be?

Probably Sens8, there are more episodes and after it got cancelled they made a special movie to wrap everything up.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah dam it... I thought this one looked fairly promising... oh well, next!😀

well it's hard to ignore the star-power i would say give it an episode or two. You see, with Netflix we have so much stuff at our disposal at any given time that I, for one, am very impatient with anything except the best of the best.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @gooddream! You received a personal award!

DrugWars Early Access
Thank you for taking part in the early access of Drugwars.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85