Santa Clarita Diet (netflix series) - I don't like it

in #netflix5 years ago (edited)

A comedy series that has aspects of horror and gore. It sounds like something I definitely would be interested in, and I was thrilled that it exists when I found out about it but then I watched a few episodes and was very disappointed.


source

I'll be honest about this, one of the main reasons that I don't like this show is because I've had a chip on my shoulder with Drew Barrymore since E.T. and Firestarter- since those were the last films that she was in that her acting didn't annoy me slightly. Do you ever have that happen to you? There is a celebrated actor out there that everyone seems to love but for some reason you just dont? Well that's me with Drew Barrymore.


source

The story behind Santa Clarita Diet is that Sheila Hammond (Barrymore) starts feeling really ill one day and then vomits a huge amount and briefly dies from a sickness. She comes back to but is no longer human and and craves raw meat - this eventually turns into her eating people in a truly gory fashion.

The entire story is told in a whimsical almost "Desperate Housewives" type way (they may have used the same set, because it certainly looks like they did) in that it is meant to be a comedy first, a drama second, and just to mix things up a bit of horror mixed in there as well.

A much younger Billy Bob Thornton, i mean Timothy Olyphant plays the husband role of Joel, who is not an undead cannibal like his wife but helps her out because he loves her and I feel as though their on-screen chemistry isn't really there. If someone out there likes this show I hope you don't take it personally but for me this show is a dud and I am surprised that it has made it 2 seasons (greenlighted for 3) already. I am bored of the premise after just 3 episodes and am putting on the brakes now.

On a scale of "urgh!" to "Wowsers!" I give the Santa Clarita Diet a rating of.....


a tad below "Meh!"

Sort:  

Yeah, I tried to get into this with my fiancee since we both get a big fat hard on for horror stuff. I felt it was pretty mediocre overall after watching it, though my fiancee liked it a bit more than I. Timothy Olyphant and Nathon Fillion did a good job in it, but I was kinda in the same boat where I felt like Drew Barrymore was not the correct cast choice.

I've liked her in some stuff here and there, but I just think she fits in this as well as a flaccid penis does inside of a greased up motor engine.

brilliant breakdown. love it!

Ah... I personally can’t deal with comedy horror anymore. I just find them overdone and pushing to try to hard in all aspects. I haven’t seen this yet, but probably won’t. I still love horrors, but I’m finding it harder to find good ones and it’s the same with comedy’s! Maybe films are just a tad over saturated so it’s harder to be original!

I think you are onto something there. Even though I love Evil Dead, i found it difficult to stay interested in the series.

Thank god I stayed away from this then :)
I am just about to hit stream on Love, death & Robots.

I think you are making the correct choice :)

Yeah, that's all the further I made it before I turned it off as well. I'd be interested to hear from anyone that could make it through the entire season what thoughts they had on it.

Timothy Olyphant was awesome in Justified and I really liked his character in Die Hard 23 but I don't see him in this type of roll. I have a friend that started to get into this show, but I just never really did. I think if I wanted to spend my time digging into a show about cannibalism/zombieism, I would probably start to watch iZombie instead. I really don't feel like Drew has had a ton of great rolls since E.T. She was okay in Never Been Kissed and The Wedding Singer though. Charlies Angels... hard to say, I was focused on Lucy Liu.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84