A new, exciting Lara Croft | #KarenTalks

in #new6 years ago

TR1.png

[original images courtesy of Warner Bros. Pictures]

This time I bring another good, franchise reboot. I had been meaning to watch it months ago when it was released but I never could. Nevertheless, I have finally seen it and, although I didn't expect anything, it was really good.

Tomb Raider (dir. Roar Uthaug) is an american action-adventure film, based on the 2013 video game of the same name, with some elements of its sequel by Crystal Dynamics, and it serves as a reboot of the Tomb Raider film series, starring Angelina Jolie. This one has Alicia Vikander as the iconic lead character, who embarks on a perilous journey to her father's last-known destination, hoping to solve the mystery of his death.

The film certainly has the right tone of 'adventure film', sometimes you even feel like you're playing the videogame. It has one -in my opinion- interesting twist an hour into the movie and that made it quite exciting for me, although, I must say that sometimes the pace kinda wavered, but it picked up when it mattered.

Vikander, although arguably doesn't look as voluptuous as the over-sexualized videogame character, portrays an amazing, realistic and young-ish Lara Croft and what her take on this role was one of the most interesting aspects of the film. Also, you can see she put a lot of effort into getting shaped to make all this more realistic.

It is, (again) in my opinion, a very entertaining and quite interesting, fresh new start for a franchise that wasn't really that big to begin with. I sure hope to see more of this Lara (especially if she continues to be played by Vikander).

So I give it:
TR3.png

Feel free to follow me on Twitter and Instagram.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85