Steem Basic Income Giveaway (Above average)

in #newbiegames6 years ago


Thanks for sharing about what you did on the enforced HF20 Steem holiday, it was nice to see that some of us just went out and enjoyed life, whilst others were looking forward to the return of Steem! I'm not addicted....

Apologies for the @steem-bounty distribution last week as well, I'm not sure why but something glitched and @karinxxl took the whole thing! Lucky door prize!

This week, I'm talking a bit about being being average and being above or below it, and how our perceptions of where we stand with respect to the average. It has been shown time and time again that we often have a better view of our abilities than is otherwise justified. For instance, the common example is that pretty much most people think that they are above average drivers. However, the definition of average is that 50 percent of us will be BELOW average, so definitely there are people (probably everyone else!) that have overestimated their driving ability! Personally, I think I'm an above average driver.... it's definitely the rest of you that need to make up the average by being less good!

My Questions

  1. What do you think are you above average in?
  2. What do you think that are about average in?
  3. What do you think you are above average in, but suspect that in all honesty are probably below or only just average?

My sample answer


Unsplash

I don't know... sometimes Unsplash gives me the weirdest stuff when I do a search!

Anyway, I would have to say that I think I'm pretty above average in playing the viola/viola. Against the general population, I have an advantage as most people don't play a musical instrument anyway, so that would be a lot of zeros to help me get above the average threshold! Amongst people who do play the violin, well... I do it for it for a living, and people don't try to hurt me by throwing stuff at me, so I will have to assume that means I'm above average!

Middling average, I would have to say that my writing skills are probably about middling average. I have done so much more writing since appearing on Steem, but I do notice that I tend to lose focus and steam if I haven't drafted a post... and if I do draft a post, it tends to the get a bit distracted into slightly irrelevant fields if I'm not careful! So, I would have to say that I think that my writing skills are definitely about average.

Below average, this is a tricky one. I would have to say, I think I'm a decent cook, but then I get to taste some of the stuff that my friends and neighbours make, and well... let's just say that sometimes I'm a bit embarrassed that I let them eat the stuff that I cook. Not that it is bad or anything (I hope), but I really feel the difference in quality. On the other hand, maybe I'm just average and they are stupendously above average?

Rules

  1. Upvote if you want, it increases the payout and then I can hopefully sponsor more people.
  2. Resteem is NOT neccessary, but the more people see this, the more the people will be likely to be sponsored.
  3. In the comments, answer as best as you can the questions that are posed in the "My Questions"!
  4. I have added a small Steem-Bounty to the post, so that everyone who replies with a valid entry will get something back. If I give your post a small upvote, it is valid (also, subscribe to @dustsweeper for maximum benefit!).
  5. I will be sponsoring as many people as this post pays out in liquid SBD/STEEM. Also I will kick in at least the required amount to round up to the full number. Winner is by random generator after a shortlisting of quality comments!

Steem Basic Income

One of the first communities that I came in contact with at the beginning of my time at Steemit was @steembasicincome. As a author starting out on your fresh new Steemit account, Steemit can be a daunting and lonely place to be. OFten, it can feel like you are posting into an abyss with no one listening and with no ability to grow out of the situation. A share of Steem Basic Income gives you a guaranteed vote on one post a day, thus giving you a small but over time cumulative support to your account to help grow you out of your initial wilderness!

With this post, I want to help sponsor people who might not even have the spare 1 STEEM that is required for registration. So, when this post pays out, I will sponsor people depending on the payout of this post. Basically, I will round up the SBD payout from this post and then that will be the number of people I will sponsor. (So, if the payout is 2.3 SBD, I will sponsor 3 people). OF course, this is not simply an altruistic move, as the sponsor of a Steem Basic Income share also gets a share, so it is a great way to help others whilst helping yourself!

Last week's winners

The last post paid out 2.610 SBD and 0 STEEM in liquid earnings. So, that would make 3 shares.

The winners by random draw are:

@simplymike

@owenwat

@zen-art



Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones





The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

SB_new.png

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif





Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.gamerjokerbreadder.com/2018/10/09/steem-basic-income-giveaway-above-average/

Sort:  

@bengy has set 1.000 SBD bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties are a new way you can earn rewards irrespective of you Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was given a rating of: 0.6495375428954804
This post was voted: 65.05%

This is a difficult one, since I have the tendency to underestimate myself.
Let's see...

  1. I'm definitely above average when it comes to empathy. Believe me, there is absolutely nothing fun on being hypersensitive and terribly empathic.

  2. About average.... damn, I could give you a long list of things I'm below average in, but about average....that's a difficult one. (...think...think...)(...think some more....). Writing, maybe.

  3. Hahaha, gardening, for sure. I like to think that I'm good at it, but if I would be, I probably woulldn't kill so many plants :0)

Posted using Partiko Android

Gardening? I thought you were doing really well with that... well, until the end. But before that, it was looking pretty awesome!

I can imagine it is no fun to be constantly feeling other people's moods and situations too strongly, sound a bit debilitating... on the other hand, better that than the other extreme!

I assume it is...

The winners and the new Giveaway (Crypto) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/crypto/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaycrypto-ujovltqg47

You know, that has GOT to be one of the most uncomfortable stock photos you could have picked for this post :P

I think I am an above average father to my son. I try to spend as much time as possible with him, and I think I'm very patient and warm to him.

I think I am an average husband to my wife. I don't do anything I'm embarrassed about, but I only don't really do much that I'm proud of, either.

I suspect I may be a below average son, even though I fancy myself an above average one. I try to call every other day or so just to say hey, but I tend to vent my frustrations about other family members to them, which puts them in a difficult place sometimes. I can also be somewhat manipulative, callous, and passive-aggressive, even with them (sometimes especially with them).

Damnit... I had the same thought! I was wondering if anyone else would see it as well, and of course it would be you!

Great thing to be above average in! I also hope I'm the same for my girls... I guess the jury will be out until they turn into adults! I wonder if I can maintain the position as they grow up and pass through the terror years!

Average husband? I'm sure you are better than that! Nothing embarrassing is a good start I guess!

Oh... tell me about being a good son.... living so far away from parents is weird, it really introduces a degree of disconnection. As I grow up in my own role as a father, I keep thinking about things that I would have wanted to have done differently when I was growing up under my parent's care. Nothing disasterous, but things I would have told my past self...

Funny you mention that last bit... It's been the topic of a post I've been wanting to write for a couple months now but just don't know how to approach. Basically boils down to the fact that I want to help him discover his passion/purpose/meaning. Sometimes I feel like all I've ever really accomplished is making a small copy of myself. If I can at least get him to a point in his life where he feels like he is making a difference in the world, it'll justify my own existence as nothing more than a father.

Oof. That's some super-heavy stuff right there. Like I said, no idea how to turn this thought into a full-blown post, haha.

Glad you managed the post!

The winners and the new Giveaway (Crypto) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/crypto/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaycrypto-ujovltqg47

An interesting corollary is that, even if we're below average for something we have an interest in, we're still probably above the worldwide average considering how many people aren't even paying attention to it.
For example. I'm a below average chess player, if you're looking just at chess players. But I'm still better than people who have never played, and I think that's most people, so I'm above average, really.

  1. I'm an above average casual games player.
  2. I'm average or below average cleaner. Boy, howdy, even when I'm really trying, The Thing just doesn't get clean to @stinawog's standards... Very cliche.
  3. I think I'm an above average dancer and chef. But probably not really, I'm just unafraid, and that means I do them more.

On the other side of the aisle, I think I'm a very below average singer, because I've been surrounded by discouraging people. I suspect more people are as "bad" as me, but most of them just don't sing, rather than have to listen to the shame that is heaped upon us.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I was thinking about that myself.... Should you be comparing against people who have absolutely no skill or interest.... Well, in the end I figured I'd leave that up to everyone. I guess, in the end you are comparing against only interested people, otherwise, you are pretty much scraping the bottom of the barrel to make the average!

By casual games do you mean like car and board games? Or like phone games?

I think I'm with you on the cleaning. My wife sometimes does again what I have done. I don't do it on purpose, but I think we see different things... Because it happens in reverse too!

Unafraid! That's the thing, you can be the best in the world at something, but if no one knows... Then it doesn't really matter!

By casual gaming, I mean yeah, board games, and I'm surely above average amongst my friends, but pros would surely clean the floor with me.

Posted using Partiko Android

The winners and the new Giveaway (Crypto) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/crypto/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaycrypto-ujovltqg47

{Looks like I got in early this time, so let's get on chugging!}

Above average:

My charisma...

What? You expected me to talk more, I usually see people just agree with me right away! Oh well, lemme explain here.

Now, I dunno if it be pure luck or just how I talk in general, but people tend to agree with me, just acquiesce to my suggestions (even if it be somewhat), do what I suggest without hesitation and strangers tend to speak many a things with me, even when I haven't a clue of who they are.

Now I'm shocked just even typing this since I never had a real bump where someone just got seemingly pissed and just 180'd from a conversation. Yet more-so on the stranger part, but I guess charisma truly is a charm. Even so, it could be because of my reputation and how people perceive that really has allowed me to do what I've been doing so far. Yet yer going to have to convince me the strangers part, because I can't fathom how my rep can have such an influence outside the places I work at.

Average:

Now I really can't think of an average - so lemme bs and say breathing. Yeah, I breathe just as fine as everybody else.

Yeah, that's right. I can breathe so fine, that you couldn't tell I was breathing so average-like.

Yeppo, I just managed to trick the human race... I mean I know how to breathe average-like, that, when I breathe better, people give me the looks.

Of course, we can all breathe a lil' better - don't listen to that gubermint propaganda of all humans breathing just the same. Spread the trooth!

Below average:

Tbqh, I'm below average at spotting any subtle fault of mine.

I mean: I never had anybody criticize me, I can't look and see if somebody is subtlety suggesting I did a taboo, I can't see if I missed something nor do I pay attention lest it's throbbing in my mind. I just can't lest I do an intensive spot check or remember everything that should go right for a thing.

Whether it be a blessing or curse, it shall make me wonder as people tend to claim I am a perfectionist. Yet if I were so, wouldn't I be a wee bit conscious of subtle errors on me. But idk tbqh anymore, nor do I care since if I can see it and control it, then it is worthy of my concern.

Yet, if it is not, then I possess a lack of worry or defer to a more authoritative person. Why to bother with a thing outta my control when I can take care of more smaller nuisances that are within my control? It's just one of those things that get me cracked up sometimes when someone spots a lil' fault/problem on my appearance. For it isn't worth the trouble to get angry, just recognize I can control it and go accordingly with what the problem is.

Uh huh Uh huh... [glazed eyes].... I fully agree with whatever you are saying!

Charisma! LOL! Sure it wasn't modesty? But that said, I do enjoy reading your posts and comments that you drop, so I can imagine if you are a bit like that in the real world, it would be quite engaging and pleasant to be around, and that would lead to a good deal of good will!

Haha... you joke, but there are some pretty awesome breathers. My wife who does yoga, she has pretty phenomenal breath control... as do divers... and wind players... I tried to play an oboe once... I nearly passed out from lack of oxygen afterwards!

I think we are all quite below average in seeing our faults! Hence the question! Often, I find if there is a skill that I profess to be bad at, I suspect that other people would offer a different skill that they thought that I was bad at!

The winners and the new Giveaway (Crypto) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/crypto/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaycrypto-ujovltqg47

Okay this one is going to be a little harder. It is fun to think about.

For above average I am going to say being a friend. I feel that I can back that up a bit as I know that most of my friend consider me a pretty close friend. I have been the best man to 3 of them and those speeches I gave worked out well. I always have pushed myself to be there for my friends and I always will.

For just average I am going to say cooking. I feel like I can make food you can eat and it isn't bad. At the same time it isn't anything special. I a going to put myself at Average though case here in America I feel like most of us are below. Many of my friends can't cook at all it is quite sad.

For below average I am going to with writing . This is cause I enter a lot of contest here and I really feel like my story is great. But I never win. I am that I think I am better than I am. The I go a read the post of the people that do win and I am like oh that is a lot better.

Wow, that is a great thing to be above average in! Being a solid friend is really an important thing, and something that I hadn't thought about when I wrote the question!

Average cooking! I think I'm with you there, I can do it and it is pretty okay, but there are many people who just do some amazing stuff with their cooking! At least, I don't leave a huge mess though...

I'm the same with the writing! I haven't entered any of the writing competitions, but when I look at the stuff that wins... I think WOW, that really is another level!

The winners and the new Giveaway (Crypto) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/crypto/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaycrypto-ujovltqg47

I think I am above average in science knowledge because I have studied a chemistry degree, and most people respect science but does not really care about it, not even at divulgation level.

I think I am above average at English for not native speakears because I have a B1 level and I am doing the B2 Cambridge exam in march 2019

I think I am below average at emotional intelligence because emotions affect me too much and it is a bit difficult for me to know what other people feels and to use the appropiate language depending of my relationship with them

Posted using Partiko Android

I also have a science degree and I often forget that the knowledge and skills that we have acquired is not universally shared among the larger population. I can even blather on and on... Not realising that I've lost people a while back in the conversation...

Good luck with the English exam, it seems (at least you're written English) pretty decent!

,

The winners and the new Giveaway (Crypto) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/crypto/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaycrypto-ujovltqg47

I was also very surprised by the bounty from last week man, thinking either you eat steem for breakfast of you had a very good payout on it!!

Anyway, it doesnt feel fair me taking the whole thing so I will send back 0.8 SBD that can be used extra to bounty another post or be divided over the others!

Back to the topic!!

  • I think Im above average in social skills in real life conversations, making me a friend everybody wants to have (this does sounds very cocky ej hahahahha)
    -I think I am average in what I find that people should value in life
    -I think I am below average when it comes to self-discipline or in terms of keeping a rhythm for myself

Thanks for the kind gesture! I will distribute it evenly among the participants of the last giveaway... (28 wallet transactions coming up!) and you get a 100% upvote!

I'll drop back later for the actual topic!

Sounds like a bit of a happy go lucky personality there! Chatting away to others is definitely a good skill to have, I wish I could do it more often, but I often find that I want to just retreat instead...

Keeping a routine can also be pretty tricky... I'm not sure about your work life, but I'm a freelancer, and so it means there is very little in the way of rhythm to our lives... In fact the kid's schooling and daycare schedule is the thing that has forced us into a routine!

The winners and the new Giveaway (Crypto) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/crypto/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaycrypto-ujovltqg47

Well, I am going with driving as my first and as my last answer. I think that I am an above average driver in the sense that I have driven for over 40 years now and have not been in an accident and only got one ticket. Truth is that I am a very defensive driver since for most of my life, I had old, shitty cars where I couldn't rely on being able to speed up to get out of a situation or that my brakes are very strong.
At the same time, I am a below average driver - at night. As my eyes get older, the lights (both street lights and oncoming cars) bother me more and more and I avoid driving at night when I can.
Average - that one is hard to choose. So many things!! I am an average decision maker. There are only a few things I am very clear on and manifest them very fast. For most things, I see so many possibilities and go back and forth what might be the right decision...

As I've been going through the various answers... I've started to wonder if defensiveness and politeness in driving and the fact that we haven't had accidents is really a good measure for skill? By the sounds of things, it seems like I'm a similar sort of driver (with similar sorts of cars!), but I start to wonder how my driving skills would hold up in abnormal driving events (skids, ice that sort of thing)... perhaps that would be a better determinant of driving skills?

Meandering back and forth on decision making... that doesn't sound good, but hopefully you end up making a decision!

The winners and the new Giveaway (Crypto) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/crypto/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaycrypto-ujovltqg47

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82