Leave A Little Space For Yourself

in #newbieresteemday6 years ago

Most people think they get this but most people might be wrong. You may think you have a little quality time each day for yourself but I bet you don't. You see, even in our time alone we spend so much of it worrying about others, caring for our family, friends and loved ones, that there is very little left over entirely for ourselves.

What I am proposing is not revolutionary or difficult or extreme. In fact it is pretty easy. Just leave a little space for yourself each day. Perhaps only 10 minutes (ideally could be half an hour) put aside and devoted entirely to yourself. Selfish? You bet. Of course it is and justifiably so - you are the captain, the engine, the driving force, the motivator, the rock. You need that time to regenerate, renew, invigorate yourself. You need that down time to recharge and repair. If you don't, you are not taking on fresh fuel, your engine will run down and so will you.

So what are you going to do with that time?

Answer: absolutely nothing. And I do mean nothing. This is not time for lying in the bath, sitting on the loo, meditating, reading the newspapers, or sleeping. This is a space for you, a breather, a time to sit still and do absolutely nothing. Just breathe. I find 10 minutes sitting in the garden just breathing is a fantastic boost a couple of times a day. I sit there, not thinking, not doing, not worrying, just being, while I appreciate the pleasure of being alive.

Doing Nothing.jpeg

My mother used to call out to me and ask "What are you doing?" and to which the reply was inevitably "Nothing". And she would always reply:"Well come in here and I'll find you something to do". She also used to say "You will never amount to anything by having your head stuck in a book".

I find time spent doing nothing really important and as soon as I complicate it, it loses something. If I add a cup of coffee to my solitude, then it's a coffee break and not a space just for me. If I listen to music, then it's a music break. If I have a companion with me and chat, then it is a social occasion. If I read the papers, then I have moved away entirely from the concept of a little space for me.

Keep it simple. Keep it bare. Keep it pure.

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88