Short Market Saturdays...Indigo Dreams

cover csa signs.jpg

Tomorrow is what I call our Short Market Saturday. I do a Community Supported Agriculture style of produce baskets and variety baskets. Unlike those programs, I don't have pre-signed clients. Our towns people won't go that route. I collect produce products bi-weekly, for our full Market Days, but we don't have enough folks rolling through and actually purchasing to make it viable to do weekly. That would be my ideal dream, though!

On Short Market weekends, I have available the 'still alright' products left from the prior weekend market...potatoes, onions, squash are still ok to go...I've got some turnips and radishes to pull...early lettuces that won't wait till next week...the grass fed beef and free range poultry from our farmers and ranchers, that I buy up front are frozen...organic free range eggs are always available, I keep a good fridge shelf full. And, honey! I've got a half dozen left of our local honey...bought a full case when I began this venture, so that is going okay! Occasionally, someone will drop by during the week (that makes me very happy) to pick up eggs or honey on the way home.

market 4.28 west evening shot.jpg

And, of course, I have the preserves table, with jams, salsas, pie fillings...seasoning blends...and my Perfect Portions idea, with varietal rices that can be combined into your own personal pilafs. I sell home made seasoning for the portions, and one can always add some of our farm fresh veggies for extra quality. This is based on the bulk bins like you would see at a Whole Foods, where you buy just what you need, priced by the ounce. I buy these in bulk, and only upcharge 25% on most of the organics. Much more, and I'd price myself out of the interest pool!

I source out unique products that our clients overlook, when they're trying to get the shopping done and over with, quickly! If you follow me at all, you know what a fan I am of my local Aldi's store! I find the coolest stuff there! As a caterer/restauranteur for the past 18 or so years, I pride myself on super-hero shopping skills! I can squeeze that penny till it sings soprano and help you prepare that meal that feels decadent even after what we just did to that penny!

market 4.14 cheeses.jpg

And, as we have pretty strict and overbearing laws regarding cheese making, I outsourced this most delicious chevre from an artisan in California. Now, unfortunately, it has gotten insanely hot, and the cheese can hardly stand to be outside for any time at all! I'll have to McGuyver something for this weekend!

market ciabatta cooling on rack.jpg

I don't bake fresh bread for Short Market, unless it is a customer request. What didn't sell from last weekend was frozen, and is good as new after thawing! Same with the few packages of cupcakes that were left. As of now, there have been no orders for the weekend, so I will go with what I have on hand.

If not careful, the waste factor will kill a wonderful dream! I found the waste factor the most distressing thing about running a restaurant! It's heartbreaking the amount of product that has to be discarded! So, at my stand, I try to have a Plan B and maybe a Plan C in mind, for the overstock. You got to see some of those in action this week, in my recipe posts, featuring the veggie overstock from Market Days.

I hate to leave you, my wonderful friends, but the work calls me back! Must check the plants, the temps are near 90...I often have to do a second watering, as almost my entire garden is in elevated grow bags, cos sciatica is quite unkind to we elders! I'll take my Indigo dreams back outside, listen to a little Stevie Nicks, and enjoy the peacefulness of the gardens. And a splash of water as I do so! And...a sip or seven of wine!

So, until next time, my Steemian friends, keep the faith, and always...Steem on! Here's a Peep Shot...their tail feathers are coming in!!!

market chicks 5.14.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @mamajeani. You are one of #newbieresteemday’s staunchest supporter. I know you are no longer a newbie but I am going to upvote this post.

My advice, since we can’t support supporters of NRD if they are not newbies, use another more popular tag first. Put our #newbieresteemday tag in any other spot. That way you can get more eyes on your post. You write great posts and I do wish we could show our support to both you and Amber. We will happily resteem if one of us come across your great posts.

It’s @beeyou, for transparency purposes.

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top posts for the day!

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

ABC’s of Curation Member: @beeyou

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84