Dreams Meet Reality – A Curiosity in the Sahara Desert

in #newbieresteemday6 years ago (edited)

The Dream That Came to Visit – A True Recollection


clock-665868_960_720.jpg
Image Pixabay - Pezibear


In My Teens

Back in my teens, I started to have a series of recurring dreams, all similar in theme and substance, if not every detail. I continued to have these dreams for more than 10 years running. They were not nightmares, I wouldn’t even say they were ‘bad’ or disturbing dreams, just a little odd. And I wondered, ‘Why this dream? Why year after year?’

So, the dream went like this, a little hazy as many dreams are –

'…I’m in the desert, in an area of gravel plains, low hills and sand dunes. It is day time, hotter than hell, the air is full of dust. Bullets fly, grenades explode, chaos all around. I’m with a few of my comrades, my fellow soldiers. We are charging towards a small hill to take the high point. Enemy soldiers are retreating. We race to the top in victory. Just as I reach the top, I see an enemy soldier crouched on the low side…his gun is aimed at my chest. He fires.'


I wake up. Not perturbed in any way, just wondering.

Although there was no dream narrator filling in the details for me as this dream played out, there were things I knew about it implicitly. They were: This was the Sahara; it was the Second World War; I was an allied soldier; and I died there, in the sand, and was buried there.

DEAD BODY 012.jpg
Image - An old skeleton found in the Sahara - @mmo-mmo

All of which baffled me because I had never been to a desert, let alone the Sahara. I was born long after WWII, and had never been in the army. And, as I pinched myself after the dream, I was quite sure I was alive and well, I hoped anyway.

I didn’t count how many times I had this particular dream, I estimate maybe 50 – 60 times over the years. Eventually they became less frequent, maybe once or twice a year, and life carried on.

Looking for Something Different

A few years later, I decided to see if I could get a job on another continent. I had backpacked through Latin America, and really enjoyed aspects of the culture. So I applied to a few companies that operated internationally, specifying that my preferred work region would be Central or South America.

I struck out. There were no such positions available, at least in my work field. Disappointed, I went on to other things.

Then, one early morning a month later, I got a phone call. The voice on the other end asked, “Do you want to work in Libya?”

Libya?? My brain ran through everything I knew about Libya, in what seemed like a split second. North Africa…Arabs and Berbers…Colonel Muammar Gaddafi…terrorism…Sahara desert….

If you had asked me to choose a country that I wanted to work in, Libya would have been low on the list, in the North Korea section.

But, I wanted to work overseas for a time. So, with a little doubt still lingering in my mind, I said, “Yes.”

And a few weeks later, I found myself in the middle of the Libyan Sahara, staying in a ramshackle camp of tents and broken down trailers, with a rogue’s gallery of people from all over Africa and the rest of the world.

gary_tents new.png
Image - A not so clear photo of @mmo-mmo

It wasn’t the Buenos Aires or the majestic Andes mountains of my hopes, but it was somewhere. I ended up staying for years.

Looking for Buried Treasure

I drove all over the desert. There were no roads, navigation skills were essential. Usually someone was with me, sometimes not. My particular job was geodetic surveying and cartography (mapping).

Mount_1.jpg
Image - Libyan Sahara - @mmo-mmo

On this particular day I was alone. I came upon an abandoned oil rig site. There were various pieces of debris all over. I guess when the camp was abandoned, environmental clean-up wasn’t a priority.

As was my habit when I found anything like this, I started to poke around to see if I could find anything of interest or value. Today, it was mostly just a few old bottles and cans, some scrap metal, a few pieces of sand-blasted wood. No long-forgotten chest full of gold it seemed.

And then I saw it. Sticking up out of the sand was the rolled-up end of an old newspaper. I had an interest in history and memorabilia. Finally, a find!

A Headline to Remember, at Least for Me

I gently tried to dislodge the paper. Pieces tore. It was firmly embedded, in time and wind-compacted sand. I began to dig it out carefully, but as I tried to unroll it, I damaged it more. But I noticed something with a shock.

I could see the header area of one of the pages. It read – “The Toronto Star - January .., 19..

I experienced a strange feeling in that moment. A combination of a thrill and a chill, all over my body, especially my chest to my groin. Toronto was where I was born, and the date on the paper was my exact birthdate.

Both this newspaper and I were thousands of miles away from home, in the middle of the largest desert in the world. We had both arrived to the exact same spot, the newspaper earlier by almost 3 decades. The newspaper had obviously been taken there by a camp occupant to read, and abandoned with the camp decades earlier.

I sat there on the sand staring at the date over and over again. Then I would look away, and look back to see if I was reading it correctly. I tried to calculate the odds of something like this happening, but my statistical skills failed me.

I recalled the decade-plus series of repeated ‘dying in the desert’ dreams. I wondered. I looked at the landscape all around me, and the dunes in the distance. Have I been here before? Was it possible?

An Effort at Preservation

I was desperate to take a photo, but my camera had been confiscated at customs as being a ‘security threat’. The customs officer assured me that I could retrieve it upon departure, but as he smirked at me, we both knew I would never see that camera again.

This kind of thing was common in Libya at the time, frequent random security crackdowns at customs and immigration. I cursed that officer in my mind.

I sat there a little longer, figuring out what to do. I considered taking it with me. But I knew with all my travels, it would likely get lost, or more damaged.

Finally I made a decision. I gently placed the paper back in the hole, and filled in the sand around it, and then piled more on top to cover it completely. Not as a burial, but as a protection. I wanted to preserve this paper. Who knows? Maybe someone else will find it one day...

The Skeleton

A few days later, no more than a mile from the abandoned campsite, one of my crew members and I stumbled across the skeleton pictured earlier in this post. We came back the next day with more people and searched the area for more bones.

DEAD BODY 020.jpg
Image - Reburial of discovered remains - @mmo-mmo

After collecting all the bones we could find together, the remains were given a re-burial with basic religious rites. I borrowed a camera for the occasion.

The Answer is Out There Somewhere...

I’m not given too much over to mysticism, or dream interpretation, or things like that. But I wonder, is there some unseen connection between my dreams, that newspaper, the human remains, and me ending up in the Sahara finding them? I don’t know. Maybe it's all just a coincidence in a universe of almost infinite possibilities.

wormhole-2514312_960_720.jpg
Image - Pixabay - Genty

In any case, I chalked it up to a series of random events with no significance, other than what I gave to it.

I last departed Libya in 2008, before it was ‘liberated’ by allied NATO forces, and Western-backed ‘democratic militants’. I have no plans to ever go back.

And, I have never had that dream again. The past was put to rest.



DQmRjcBd71CLh1tA665BNnkAbgBbUwqx3SVpTrWPAxPFyEy.png

Sort:  

So, it was 10 years ago, when you're in Libya. Dreams do come true, right? I dream about walking in the wood and touching the stars years ago, I have never had a chance to find out about the interpretation, one thing I know that I love to live in any green place on earth.

Hello @cicisaja - I think in our spirits, we touch things and go places where our bodies can't. There are many mysteries in this world.

I think you are from Indonesia right? I was there before - so much beautiful nature! You are lucky to have that!

Thank you for visiting my post and commenting!

Yes, I am from Indonesia, I thank God for that. Especially when I realise that I was born in Aceh, at the northern tip of Sumatra Island, survived from tsunami in 2004 too. I believe that when we're sleeping, our spirit probably wandering around for some reasons and we can't remember the whole things we've "in dreams"

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Thank you!

I lived in Egypt for a short time when I was about 21, going to school to be an archaeologist. Despite the allure of the pyramids and all of the ancient history, it was a rough place to live as a young woman. I can't say I'll ever live there again, but I'm glad I had the experience. The desert has such an ominous beauty. I can imagine it being the perfect setting for a recurring dream.

@malloryblythe - Yes, I can imagine that experience as being both exciting and challenging. As for the desert, your term 'ominous beauty' descibes it well. I had my most peaceful moments there, as well as some my most most lonely and foreboding.

Thank you for stopping by and commenting!

This is a very interesting and intriguing story. It is quite baffling and it makes one think that that is not coincidence and there could be reason for that, for the dream, for you to be there. The universe conspired but for what? For a newspaper? Maybe that newspaper is an indicator that there is a treasure there and you just have to dig deeper :)

@leeart - Thank you for reading my post and commenting!

Here is how I see it now, these years later - I had unfinished business from a previous life. The dreams were a preparation and a calling, and a reminder. The job offer in the Sahara was fate. The newspaper was a sign, telling me I was in the right place. Finding the human remains, and re-burying them was the completion of the task. That is why the dreams stopped, and why I left Libya soon after.

The treasure was the opportunity and responsibility to complete a cycle of life.

Life is truly mysterious. Thank you and cheers!

That is a fulfilling answer and I believe you were right. Have you had any other recurring dreams after that? If only there is a way to find out more about the skeleton.

I still think treasures though lol!

Haha! Trust me, I would love to find a chest full of gold! ; )

It would be interesting to know about the skeleton. I think there more to it. Whatever it may be, fulfilling the task you have been called for is more than a chestful of gold.

There is no way of knowing the identity of the remains. It was in a very remote area, the skeleton was old, no means to identify. Many people die in the desert.

To me, it was symbolic. I was putting to rest something that was in my past. I don't know what. It matches my dream in the sense that I died there in war. Was my spirit unrestful? Did it demand a proper burial? I don't know. This could have been the skeleton of a herder from days gone by.

Life, as it turns out, is largely symbolic and memetic in terms of meaning. I can interpret that time as a random set of events with no meaning at all. I can also give it cosmic significance.

The truth is, either way it is my ego interpreting the events. I will leave it up to life.

It is just one of a series of unusual things that happened in my life.

Thank you for your interest in my post, I really appreciate it!

It's good to put meaning to some things we can't explain. The mysteries in life are interesting and the way the human mind give sense to such complexities is comforting. We have to find reason. Otherwise, we will be forever questioning which is maddening :D

You are exacatly right! We humans have awareness and self-consciousness. Without meaning, life becomes an exercise in insanity. Sometimes we give a correct, or incorrect meaning. That is normal, we are interpreting experience.

But it is vitally important to have meaning in our lives and actions. Otherwise, why are we here?

I enjoyed your story. If reincarnation is possible and we are in a continual time warp of rebirths, I would think you have dreamt of one of your past lives.

Yes, it would seem that way wouldn't it? Life can be very strange sometimes.

Thank you for reading and commenting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61914.69
ETH 3017.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79