First Saturday Night in Gwangju

in #newbieresteemday6 years ago (edited)

I have lived just an hour South of Gwangju for about 9 months now and this is the first time I have really had a full night out of drinking. I've kept myself so busy with festival going that I just haven't had the time to go. So, I met with a friend to have dinner. Also, you will find out in the post why I haven't posted in a minute, sorry y'all.


!steemitworldmap 35.150 lat 126.913 long Downtown Gwangju d3scr

Amble Bar

A British style bar with a vintage interior. It is an odd place to find in the modern surroundings and a weird escape from Korean life. The food was great though and at a descent price 😀 However I can't find a website to link for you all.

20180512_185736.jpg
Mac and Cheese, Thick Gooey and with Bacon close enough to back home that I could love it 😘 However, it does have shrimp so if you have allergies stray away.

20180512_190833.jpg Bulgogi Pizza, the crust was great and the sauce not too sweet. The meat itself was pretty sweet but that was to be expected with Bulgogi. We ordered these two entrees since they were the house specials.

20180512_185203.jpg Some Kloud beer to wash it down. Choose it for 2 reasons, it is cheap and the dark beer would be a good pairing with bulgogi. I don't think I was wrong lol

Speakeasy

Speakeasy is an Irish bar nestled in the downtown area of Gwangju. They usually feature live music and events on the weekend making it a usual visit for foriengers in the area. This was my second visit, the first being Halloween but I left Early.

20180512_203900.jpg They have my favorite rum here, Kraken. I could rave about this stuff forever. It was my go to poison in college and seeing it in Gwangju just made my night.

We also found a group here that were participating in a language exchange so my friend and I joined their table and we made a few friends 😁 Then they also had a hard rock band playing that night so we listened for a while but the night was starting to get late and I thought we should move on.

Thursday Party

Thursday Party is a weird place. It is a bar but others also consider it like a club, I just say it is a draft house, it is what they define themselves as, at least. So, we go there and what would you know our new friends came to there as well. On top of that, they also have Kraken! Yay!

Now, from this point on I don't really know, I missed the next hour or so and just danced and drank more rum. By the time I came to my friend left for home and it was about three. So, I left the bar and walked around looking for a place to wait till the buses and trains start up. This is where it gets a little weird.

What I found was the G-bar, it appeared open still and I had my suspicion of what the G stood for but I already walked around long enough. I went in got a seat at the bar. The bartender asked me right away if I was Gay, I told him no and I had a few beers. He kept hitting on me, which was funny and flattering since I was too out of it at Thursday Party to actually flirt with anyone.

They were starting to close so they invited me to have breakfast with them. I can't really turn down free food so why not, I guess.

IMG_20180515_085658_412.jpg Samgyeopsal (삼겹살)

IMG_20180515_090546_651.jpg

IMG_20180515_090546_648.jpg The bartender was really trying to get me drunk enough to go to a motel with him. Lol

IMG_20180515_090546_649.jpg Kimchi Stew (김치찌개)

After eating they paid for me and the bartender tried on last time, but I still told him I am straight I just found their bar to still be open at 4am. A bit disappointed but still good, he asked if I had an gay friends and to bring them back lol Thirsty as hell but not a bad guy in my opinion.

Next Day Recovery

IMG_20180515_090546_652.jpg
After falling asleep on the train and eventually catching a bus home the soberness caught me and my hungover finally hit me. I don't drink often but when I do, I like to go hard. So, I did something I have always been afraid to do. I ordered food over the phone! 🤗 I always feared doing this due to maybe it doesn't come and I look like an idiot but it got here but I was not going outside lol

Was it good? Hell no, my body hated it but after a few hours I had enough to make my head not wanna kill me. From then on I just laid on my couch watching Youtube, couldn't focus enough to make a coherent post here and couldn't manage to get up and do a workout. The next day was basically a recovery as well but I am back now!

We all fall off the wagon at some point, just matters that you get back up and continue on!




I tend to write about life in Korea as a foreigner, food, photos from trips, and things teaching related. If that interest you and you like this post, please give me a vote and follow
Fellow minnows can use Busy and Steemfollower to get more upvotes and followers, my referral links are below respectively:
https://busy.org/i/@mr-bike
https://steemfollower.com/?r=14715
Until then,
Ride on!

DQmXf3NuiWNi6msKVT3qx7QYdaY9DerStDE6yqYp3pc2gmz.png

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

A bit dissapointed but still good, he asked if I had an gay friends and to bring them back lol Thirsty as hell but not a bad guy in my opinion.
It should be disappointed instead of dissapointed.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-15T03:43:51
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 45.50/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mr-bike
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=first-saturday-night-on-gwangju


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is in the conceptual phase and we would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

I was waiting for a walk of shame moment. Disappointed lol! But of course you will not tell us that if you were that drunk. Back when I used to drink a lot, I found out that I easily get drunk if I drink different kinds of drinks. I mostly stick to hard liquor though or mixed drinks. I drink beer if only when I feel like it. I have had a sojus too. A lot of it lol! Now, when I do drink, which is rarely, I prefer any mix tequila drink or just tequila. If not, black Russian.

My walk of shame was walking around after the bar until I got to that gay bar, then it continued into sleeping on the train 😂 It was split up ha
My go to is rum, it makes me a pretty happy dancy drunk. Soju is weird, that strangly enough hits me hard.

This post has received a 3.22 % upvote from @boomerang.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94