A small drop of water can turn in to a river in no time: Anthony Bourdain dies at age 62

in #news6 years ago


Sometimes when you have some water coming out of the sky, it can turn in a gigantic river in just a couple of seconds. Especially when you are on a hill it is crazy to see the amounts of water accumulating so fast. Mud rivers is what you get. I took this movie in Switzerland today.

These types of hill rivers we would see a lot in Sint Martin. When it rains there, it rains really really hard, and the water goes down the hills fast, turning into same types of rivers as the one seen above.

When I reached my place to stay I saw that Anthony Bourdain had commited suicide. I am actually really bummed out about this. I loved to watch this guy, and also reading his book 'Kitchen confessions' is a book that everybody should read to learn more about professional kitchens together with a good laugh. His series 'Parts unknown' and 'No reservations' and 'A cooks tour' series are beauties to watch.

That leads me to this little bridge from an episode he made about Sint Martin

Apparently he loved to come there. For me this very enjoyable to watch, because I recognize everything in this episode. Freedom Fighters Ital Shack was my vegan take away station, Jhonny B under the Tree in Cole Bay is legendary for its ribs, and watching some crabback and johnny cake with saltfish makes my mouth water for Caribbean food. (maybe not even for the food, but more for the vibe hahahah) He also visits Baie Rouge where I once also made a post about a while back. I guess great minds think alike ;)

It is sad this legend decided to take his own life. I hope he finds peace with a lot of sand between his toes!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I used to like watching his shows on the Travel channel. It is so very sad.

Exactly! Always a nice thing a watch. I always got a lot of new travelplans after watching this ahha!

R.I.P Anthony.
I'm happy for all that he left us. He was a unique fellow, to say the least. I really enjoyed his shows. I needed to eat whenever I watched those.

Funnily enough, I just wrote a post about the sun. Not because it's sunny but as a practice in gratitude.

Een knuffel vanuit Portugal,

Vincent

I have major sympathy for people who take these steps. this guy has been struggling for years already with so much, and was quite open about it all the time.

he was so 'markant'

He definitely was. Depression is a real problem.
The most widespread illness on the world these days.
It's a shame the world lost him but he definitely made his mark by doing his thing very well

We lost another very talented person in Anthony Bourdain. Perhaps if he was happy on Sin Martin, he should have stayed. He certainly looked happy there. Let's hope he has found the peace he was so desperately looking for...

Yeah I hope so. He was always in struggle with himself, that was for all the be seen already. Its a pity though, super talented man whos show I always really enjoyed because it was honest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79