WEB EXCLUSIVE: Former CIA Analyst Brutalized by Police At Congressional Hearing

in #news6 years ago

Ray McGovern is a 27-year CIA analyst turned peace activist. He stood up to nonviolently voice his dissent during the confirmation hearing this week of known war criminal Gina Haspel to head the CIA. For using his freedom of speech, he was brutalized by police and kept in jail for 37 hours. Here's video of the event.

If you think this video is important, please share it. You can also follow my videos on Twitter @LeeCamp.

Sort:  

Welcome to Nazi America. Hail to the Corporate overlords!

Them (corrupt/brainwashed) police must feel really good about what they’ve done...... pushing an elderly man to the floor.

ZomboMeme 11052018195745.jpg

Dissenters being silenced is further evidence we're gradually slipping into a police state. The actions of these law enforcement officers against peaceful protests must not just be condemned, but must be brought to an end

Thank you so much for covering this Lee. Thank you for giving voice to those whose words make others feel uncomfortable.
We are not here to witness injustice silently.
Keep Fighting

Makes me sick watching this. I guess repeating "stop resisting" makes their actions justifiable... Maybe our "representatives" should have given him a chance to speak. Anyone who thinks torture is fine should have to agree to go through any programs they promote and then maybe they will re-assess.

For some time it has felt like we've been watching American society disintegrating before our eyes. Growing up here in Canada, I always looked to the United States as the paragon of freedom, democracy and all that is good and right, but as I got older I began to realize that I had been falling for propaganda, and that America was specifically not designed to be the classless society it purports to be. (Insert "People's History of the United States" book report here.)

Don't get me wrong - America still holds a certain fascination for me, and I have a sincere love for my American friends and distant relatives. I also jump at any opportunity to travel there and experience that "down home" hospitality any chance I get.

But at the risk of alienating my American friends, the underlying message of the Ray McGovern video has remained the same since the country's founding despite any democracy rah-rah PR, which is simply: "Don't f*ck with power."

This is not America, nor am I sure it ever was.

This guy is a true hero. We all need to find the courage to call bullshit on these oppressive thugs that have the audacity to use law and order to justify their crimes. The level of complacency is truly astonishing and I refer to myself and most everyone around me

Thanks for this Lee!
Somebody please tell me: I want to reward people for their posts and videos with more than 1 cent. I've even seen the value drop when I post! What can I do? Buy more steem power?

Hi srangel, you can buy some Steem from an exchange (ex. Binance) then transfer the Steem to your wallet on Steemit and convert to Steem Power.

Here is a great video I followed recently on how to do it:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63549.78
ETH 3107.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88