Martin's Solveig Asks Ballon d'Or winner Ada Hegerberg if she knew "how to twerk".

in #news5 years ago (edited)

This was absolutely bonkers and I can understand the outrage around this. This was the first ever female Ballon d'Or winner and that's what he asks her. It's like asking Ronaldo how much he can squat. It's taking two stereotypes of what each sex should be able to do and asking them just after they have won the most prestigious individual award in football. Both skills have no relevance to their footballing ability and I really doubt if Ronaldo came on stage he would have asked him if he knew "how to twerk".

I'm not a feminist but I really want women's football and sport in general to thrive because as having female members of my family who play sport, I can see its just as important to them as it is to males. And the stigma that women shouldn't play sport needs to stop. And if a woman can't twerk or play sport they are still equally feminine and it doesn't degrade them which I feel his question/joke did, even unintentionally.

He has apologized and stated it was an poor joke that didn't translate the way he meant, Hegerberg accepted his apology. I doubt she really has accepted his apology based on her reaction to her joke, her spotlight being taken away due to the whirlwind of media and she isn't going to go sparking accusations of sexism on her special night. When she looks back at it after, I am sure she won't be forgiving.

The problem is what prompted him to make that joke? This is sexism.

Sort:  


You just planted 0.06 tree(s)!


Thanks to @mrultracheese

We have planted already
4626.69 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 30883.35
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07