Doctors will NOT Revive You and will Let You Die in the ER with this Tattoo on your Body... Morally Wrong or Right ???

in #news6 years ago

er.jpg

Source

I came upon this and NEVER had heard of a case like it. A 70 yr. old man was brought in the ER unconscious and a history of health problems including diabetes and pulmonary disease. And across his chest is the Tattoo emblazoned Do Not Resuscitate

The Doctors at First Did Not Honor this Tattoo...

Instead they begin life saving treatment as they thought it was in the best interest of the patient instead of going down a path of "irreversible" complications . However , later they decided to consult the Ethics Committee at the hospital. And even though it was against Florida Law, the Ethics Committee advised them the tattoo represented the patient's wishes and it should be honored.

The Man...

Passed away overnight as all treatment was stopped and a actual written DNR on this man was found. It was determined that he indeed do not want to be Resuscitated .

Conclusion...

One thing that entered my mind was what if this man had changed his mind about this tattoo and just hadn't had the resources or time to get the damn thing taken off his body. To me when we start trying to make a guess based on a mere tattoo on the body and when it's Life and Death...well we're going down a slippery slope/

I mean hell for instance there are some crazy ass rock and roll bands out there...i.e Suicidal Tendencies, Butthole Surfers etc..etc.. I do NOT think a rock and roll Band using the name Do Not Resuscitate is so unbelievable or farfetched. And a member of such a band may have had the band's name tattooed on his body to be cool or something. It's not out of the realm of possibility.

Just a little food for thought when we make it our business to try to read a totally incapacitated person's mind based on something as random as a tattoo.

Cheers,
Robert

)

thealliance_banner_steemitcomics.png

Sort:  

Very odd situation to say the least. It reminds me a little bit of the movie Memento where he had all these messages tattooed on his body.

I thought about getting a Tattoo right after 911 with a big US flag on my bicep. But put it off. As I have gotten older I am glad I did. Just doesn't look great when you get older, imho lol But to each his own

I have never gotten any tattoos. I have always changed hairstyles and stuff and so I wouldn't be able to stick with a tattoo I don't feel like.

If the man had some family they may have known if he changed his mind or his tattoo was some kind of joke. Quite a strange tattoo and a stranger case. I would not want to be responsible to make the decision.

Yeah, they couldn't identify him at all in the beginning or any of his Fam

Then there's the people who have dotted lines around their wrists/necks, with the scissor icon and instructions, cut here.
Peace.

So true Bob ;)

Well that's certainly a novel way of getting your message across, maybe this will take off in future and we will get all sorts of variations "Front", "Back", "Wrong Way Up", "No Entry"

I still think it's a tough call for the surgeons to take, like you say he might have had the tattoo done on a whim and not been able to have it removed.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Yeah, I just say they ought to get the message to Society that they can ONLY do it with a written card or something on their person

very interesting, and I wonder what the legal view point would be, as you say maybe it was an old tattoo and he had changed his mind, I would guess legally they could only accept a signed DNR

as for tattoos I have a few and would like more but getting them while on blood thinners is not an option

Interesting. So with the blood thinners you can't risk getting more tattoos because of the possibility of the bleeding not clotting properly ( with blood thinners) during the process of getting one ??

Yeah thats exactly right, I got a small cut on my tongue recently and it bleed for 8 hours so I really cannot risk it

Must have been a tough call for the doctors... the dilemma of doing your duty and following a person's last wish?! Ohhh, yeah... a lot of what if's there. 😒

Yeah, the poor doctors. They just come to work and try to put the Hippocratic oath into practice and have to deal with this stuff

You have gotten a vote courtesy of @c0ff33a!
They have enlisted the help of the @alliedforces!
We gladly answer your call!
(@alliedforces is a collaboration of witnesses @jatinhota & @enginewitty)
Have you supported your favorite witnesses?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29