Blackface, liberalism, and hypocrisy: Virginia has brought this country into an uproar, and I have crossed enemy lines to research.

in #news5 years ago

If you had mentioned blackface to....pretty much anybody a month ago, it would have potentially sparked an interesting conversation on whether or not it is racist to use it as part of a cosplay. If you mention it today....due to my wonderful home state of Virginia, it has become a hot topic across the country.

Fox News certainly has plenty to say about it, making statements as bold as "Blackface turns out to be fairly common on the elite left" and "modern liberalism is all about hypocrisy".

Now, I don't often make my way over to Fox News. Every time I do, I find myself wading through all kinds of irrelevant topics, all being used to almost-literally demonize liberals, and put conservatives on a pedestal. Honestly, in order to keep my political viewpoints fair, I should read more on their website - (but why? The other side is no more keen to look at the CNN). Unfortunately, I typically find myself becoming either angry or amused at what I read - this article being no exception.

The article starts off with Tucker Carlson putting on blast any and every celebrity who has ever appeared in blackface on a so-called liberal tv station, regardless of politics or intentions, and without telling the full story behind any of them. Meanwhile, he conveniently does not mention the most recent update - the one in which a Republican (GASP) in Florida has been found with blackface in his history - under seemingly the same type of circumstances as Northam, he was much younger, but did it for fun - not at all intending for it to be racist. I, for one, will be extremely interested to see how each side of the aisle is treated differently in this scenario.

After this blatant disregard for any decent fact-checking, Carlson goes on to say such things as " Hypocrisy isn't simply a recurring feature of modern liberalism. It's the whole point of it." And "ask any waiter how well progressives tip...when they leave, they shaft the working people who served them food, the very people they claim to care about. Only with progressivism is this behavior possible." He goes on to say that modern progressives only care about virtue, and redemption of sin. Now, I'm not sure about you, but this part does not at all sound like any liberals that I have ever met. At least in my very wide circle, we are the ones willing to break our own bank in order to make sure the tip is decent. We are the ones willing to admit when we made a mistake, and take the high road to avoid hypocrisy. Every single thing that he said, supposedly about liberals, actually seems - in my opinion at least - to describe a different group: conservative fundamentalists.

Now, for my last - and final - paragraph of this, admittedly long, rant. This is my personal favorite quote in the entire article: "Why is it that the very people who attack others on the basis of their skin color always seem to be the first people to lecture the rest of us about racism?" Hmmmm....well, Carlson, why don't you make an attempt to answer that, for yourself and for so many other conservatives these days? The rest of us would love to know why race is still an issue, when liberals have worked so hard to embrace equality.

https://www.foxnews.com/opinion/tucker-carlson-wearing-blackface-is-fairly-common-on-the-elite-left-modern-liberalism-is-all-about-hypocrisy

https://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/2019/02/07/politician-wore-blackface-dress-his-friend-they-call-it-silly-high-school-prank/?utm_term=.66f16223749e

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28