Sort:  

Why are you flagged to high heaven on this post?....people hate pigs or you make someone really mad?

I just got enrolled in the flagwars by bernie. The guys a menace.

I find this box comes in handy at times....
giphy.gif

I actually resonate far more strongly with this sentiment than you might expect. Some time in my earliest youth I grasped that I had a choice between seeking demonstrable facts and true information, or getting along with others. For some reason the very concept of sheltering myself and others from inconvenient truth made me recoil with something akin to horror. I purposed as a young child to allow no shield or means of misdirection to impede my grasp of reality, and to prefer being right to being victorious.

It is that box, that shield we can create and adopt ourselves to shelter us from reality we don't like, that best represents my own inner demons; my weakness, and is the most profound enemy of everything I have sought to be.

Thanks!

Agreed. I've come to understand the directions you have established for yourself, I am not underestimating that knowledge, was just having a bit of fun with you.

"The guys a menace."

Care to elaborate? I'm curious.

First, his comments are often defamatory, and have on occasion descended to sexual harassment and threats of violence that are probably both actionable in civil court, and criminally. Second, his virulence is extraordinarily public, and many people feel his actions so degrade the public image of Steem that he personally reduces the price of Steem by discouraging adoption and use of Steem by the potential market.

Lastly, he isn't very personable, and I don't like him. Since what of his comments to me that can be understood are pretty much limited to threats, he's literally menacing. That seems to be the extent of his personality. The only positive initiative I am aware of that he was involved in was @themadcurator, which I attempted to defend when the flagwar I am now embroiled in began between he and FTG.

This is the result of having anything to do with @berniesanders, even when attempting to encourage him to positively impact Steem. That's about as much thought and effort as I'm willing to provide, unless you have specific questions I can answer.

"That's about as much thought and effort as I'm willing to provide..."

It seemed a solid elaboration to me. I appreciate it.

I even get the bonus of what unfolds below to help sate my curiosity.

@lindsaybowes has far more personal experience than I, and her comment is exemplary of what I have but a wee grasp of. Her blog demonstrates her sound character, and while we have disparate interests, I found it such a good example that I am now a follower.

This first looks very funny 😂😂😂

They are all unique aren't they?

Those are some wacky looking hogs!

They do got that going for them LOL. Habitat loss has left some of them down to a few hundred, whose members are fragmented. Since they have ordinary porcine habits, farmers find them intolerable pests. At least one species has recently gone extinct.

There are plenty of folks that I think would be pretty proud to have unique pigs with beards, or amazing crests. These pigs ooze character, and that's a fact.

Yeah they do have some pretty cool beards to them! I think at our local zoo there is some sort of hog that has a weird beard thing to it. Never really thought about it being endangered but I suppose that is why it is there now that I think about it.
How about them wild boars in some states where they gun them down by gattling guns in helicopters? Those ones seem to be a huge problem.

Were the endangered ones getting killed due to the same thing?

Well, my grasp of their situation is that on islands, their habitat is limited in extent, and this renders populations less robust. As development has proceeded, that habitat has been destroyed, and fractured, leaving those relic populations far more vulnerable. At the same time, farmer's resistance to the depredations of pigs on their crops has further put pressure on the species.

On a continent, such as N. America, there is little limit on the available habitat to an omnivore like pigs, and the feral domestic hogs that have become problematic are not facing the same pressures island pigs face. Neither is that species already limited in number, as island pigs are. Domestic pigs are on every continent but Antarctica today. It is practically inconceivable that feral hogs could be endangered as island species' are.

There are better examples out there but I get your point :D

If I only had the ressources..

Posted using Partiko Android

I also am unable to keep any barnyard animals presently, to my chagrin. For folks looking at Vietmanese Pot-Bellied Pigs, however, I reckon these are better alternatives.

Haha got it :D :p

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75