If you died tomorrow, would you be proud of your last post?

in #newsteem5 years ago (edited)
Yeah yeah, rough title, let's get over the normal reactions like "Dont' say that", "God forbids" and any others people come up with, let's be raw and uncensored.

Imagine you die tomorrow. After leaving this world and with that, leaving your familiy, friends, life and everything you know, all that's left from you is your legacy, what you leave in this world after you are gone.

Some people spend a lifetime trying to create a legacy. There are those who focus in stacking as many material goods as they can so their sons and daughters can inherit them. I know of people who try to make an impact in as many people as they can because one's memory is a kind of legacy.

There are a lot of ways to leave a mark on this world, one of them is through the blockchain technology that allows us to set in stone whatever we want. That's a double edge knife though, because anything we write here will be engraved to eternity.

But wait, why am I talking about this topic on this post? What made me think about this post?

Well, lately @acidyo and myself been browsing Steem and checking specific accounts and then deciding if we should start following them to be able to vote on some of their posts on a regular basis - this regular basis being variable, from daily to never - depending on their quality.

But, what are we taking into consideration when deciding if we should follow them? Well, first, the author should have been curated by @ocd in the past; second, the steemian must have been active within the past two weeks - active means making comments or posting, third, we check they are not abusers, bid bot stackers or plagiarizers; fourth, content quality: constantly posting good stuff.

Fourth, content quality: constantly posting good stuff.

Yep, quality is subjective, but I think that you, me, @theycallmedan, @heiditravels, @soyrosa, @meesterboom, my dog, your cat, hell, even @haejin can agree that one picture of your cat with a line of text is not a good quality post. Do you agree? Nice, I'm glad we agree on this, it's crucial that we do so we can continue with this train of thought.

So, imagine that a curator, a whale or a curation group decides to start following random accounts and they base their decision on your last post.

Are you certain they would start following you?

Do you feel confident that your las piece really reflects the overall quality of your blog?

If you died tomorrow, would you be proud of your last post?

One year ago one of my advices to minnows and people trying to make a name for themselves was: Be constant. Post daily and get your audience used to seeing your content on their feed. Make them expect your daily post but most importanlty, don't get discouraged or lose drive to keep posting content of middle to high quality.

But that was before the EIP and all the changes #NewSteem brought with it.

Now, my first advice would be:

Make every post as if it was your last one. Think of your latest piece as your sales pitch for other stakeholders, curators and whales. Take the chance of showing off your blog as a high quality content venue. Your latest post speaks for you,

There's a shiton of Steem Power available curating daily, and you are missing out on getting voted by posting daily pictures of your soup and small texts about your day - nothing wrong with that, anyone can post whatever they want, but if you want to get noticed and get more votes, my reccomendation is:

Post less, but post the highest quality you can manage.

Saying this I don't mean to stop posting, I'm just advicing you to perhaps not don't post 3 times a day a middle quality post but try and perhaps create one high quality post a day... and if you post 5 times a day, then try to do it twice but make every whale out there want to curate the shit out of them. Make it as high quality as you can so nobody can say meh, i'll pass on curating this

As an OG @ocd curator, not great but at least good quality content creator (or so I like to think so), dolphin Steem Power stakeholder and friendly neighbourhood nomad that's the best advice I can give you, considering the current Steem circumstances.

If you died tomorrow, would you be proud of your last post?

IMG_20190814_223310842~2.jpg

Oh yeah, I needed a pic for this post, look at my dog. Ironic, huh?

Sort:  

I think this is great advice. I post at max once daily for this reason (not that its wrong to post more but for me, it would be). I sometimes see people who post multiple times a day often using templates of previous posts and I think, that's not what it's all about. People want more. to read something that at least has effort in it. Something that has been made or crafted in some respect.

And, yeah. That dog knows where it's at, thats for sure!

A proud corpse indeed.

Last 2 posts, gave some steem/info away - I don't feel too bad about answering the question.

Dead but proud. That's gonna be written in your rip stone :P

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I would be proud! My last post was about powering up :))

Probably not as it just shows where I was at that moment in time and not where I want to be. I believe that each has a path and everyone will make mistakes until it will get where it needs to. That if you don't have some gift that puts you ahead...you must work and grow day by day.

I would be fairly proud of what I produced. My last post was of a decent length, covered a topic that I cared about, and featured a few pleasing aesthetic additions to the language that I think classed it up a bit.

I don't know if I can say that I "write every post like it's my last" but I do try to maintain a certain level of quality in my work. That leads me to writing less frequently and to taking occasional breaks but I think it makes for a better product.

Not very proud of my last post, but the post of the wedding was good. It's nice to be able to share our achievements, ideas and projects here on Steem.

If you died tomorrow, would you be proud of your last post?

Everything I post makes me absolutely sodden with moisture and causes countless turbo virgins to have wet dreams daily. What's there not to be proud of?

I got horny from this comment alone, I don't doubt your statement even for a second. Hell, reading your username rustles my jimmies.

I couldn't be more proud for sure as I just posted about Omar Bham😁 He is a nice guy spreading Crypto adoption and a must to follow if you're on Crypto!🔜 @crypt0 😉 Also beign a CryptoStar🌟he's a humble human beign with big heart recently adopted an angel dog👼 and I'm thankful for his kind words and support🙏

In the NewSteem I am more selective about what I post, trying to offer the best quality I can as I noticed big accounts are taking you into consideration👀 more than ever. And so if my last post was this one I'd be glad I contributed lefting a grain of sand by letting others know about valuable Cryptopeople who are doing it's best daily!🌞 and now I shut up🤐 lol🤚🤣 hope we all be alive tomorrow🤸‍♀️

Posted using Partiko Android

I always feel bad shilling my content on someone elses post so feel free to check it out if you'd like or I can reply to your reply telling me to leave the link.

To answer your question I feel like I do a pretty good job at creating good content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70