The Difference Between A Downvoting Whale And A Bidbot

in #newsteem5 years ago

Dear friends on Steemit. Recently on Steemit payout for small blog posters have gone down a lot. The none lineair payout curve giving more to very popular blog posts isn't helping. And the low Steem price only makes it worse.

The natural reflex of someone with a not so popular blog and with little Steem Power is to use bidbots because of the new situation, to at least get some payout. However this is no longer allowed by some of the big boys.

Some seem to be on a real power trip downvoting everyone using the bots no matter what the content of the post is, or even how high the payout is. Also opinion doesn't seem to be free anymore. Post a friendly critical remark and you risk getting downvoted.

Now, I could understand part of the reason why no bidbots should be used to get more Steem. However the reality is that the current situation is totally unfair since the rule only applies to part of the Steemit users. Let's looked at a few of the points:

  • Small players get less pay out and are not allowed to use bots to get a bit more. This is independent of the value of the content of the post. The message is: you are not owed any Steem.

  • Whales do not have to use bots. They can be considered bots by themselves. Giving huge upvotes to themselves and each other. I see some of the most active downvoters posting really low quality blog posts with huge payouts. I also saw that some of the biggest downvoters are sending all their Steem rewards to exchanges, I would presume to sell. So far for helping the price of Steem.

So the way one might see it is that a bitbot is a whale for the small guys. But you are not allowed to pay for it according to the "New Steem".

Now in no way am I saying that all smaller players are good and all whales are bad. I have seen some Minnows posting daily scripted posts that just publish some crap pulled from the Internet and getting upvoted to insane levels with bots. At the same time I have also seen several whales being really good to the community, supporting it in any way possible. The issue is that if we got a whale that is a bad actor, he can do a lot of damage. And that is IMHO what happens now.

It is my impression that only big accounts are really welcome on Steemit. Plankton/Minnows are pushed out because of less rewards and a downgraded freedom of speech.

So what are your thoughts? Am I seeing it all wrong? Or do you agree? Am I missing something here?

Oh, and before anyone asks. I will NOT get paid for this post. All upvotes will go to @null so that the Steem rewards get burned and the amount of Steem goes down. This benefits us all.

Sort:  

I have been getting some down votes on a few posts since the last hardfork and all seem to be from accounts that don't post so you can't even communicate or down vote them either.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, that's why if they don't change this system, I don't see much future for Steemit.

It's a shame as there is so much great potential.

Posted using Partiko Android

I know some Plankton/Minnows doing a lot better now based on h21, (last votes went to ones below) if you know accounts that have interesting stuff, let me know i will have a look. don't care if a whale little, fish.

https://steemit.com/@theonlyway

https://steemit.com/spt/@mattsanthonyit/my-happiest-moment-on-steemit-im-one-of-the-winner-on-twitter-steem-monsters-vyixztn9

https://steemit.com/travelfeed/@paulmp/ningaloo-reef

yep big accounts acting badly - can be brought down when people step up. seen it. challenge is getting enough people to step up.

Good to see there are at least some that are attracting attention. I guess Actifit posts are not the most interesting posts, which I understand. But also, if there really is no interest in them, might as well not post them at all.

Will let you know if I find interesting posts. But I'm not that active here anymore.

yep, saw that i would not cut it months ago with my one picture, 30 word circle voting post. Actifit posts are for actifit points, no other reason in my view.

enjoy looking, reading and manual voting here now. i do ok with curation rewards :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86