Why you are looking at the completely WRONG numbers of your posts payout.

in #newsteem5 years ago (edited)

There's nothing like seeing your post reaching sparkling double-digit numbers that just like Christmas makes you begin to count down the 7 days you will have to wait for that hard-earned payout.

But what if I told you that even if you earn as little as 5 dollars on a well-made post, that ONE post will yield far more steem than a previous 50 dollar posts back in time?

I have always felt it's been the most deceptive part of the chosen layout, that surprisingly all platforms on the steem blockchain decided to use. To show what you will be receiving in $$$ and not in steem from your posts.

Chances are if you are indeed making some amazing posts they might just be double digits, you are just looking at the wrong numbers.

addtext_com_MTQxNDUxMTY4ODE.png
Hurray for my paint skills


The $$$ tells you the present, but it does not tell you the past nor the future.


Wow, we are almost getting a bit poetic here, who would have thought?
The problem with looking at the dollar sign is it does not show any perspective on steem whatsoever. All it tells us is that 1 steem = 14 cents. It does not tell you, for example, that this one steem once was 8 dollars, or it multiple times has reached over 3 dollars in value(yes, even down from the price levels we are at now).


The only people who should be looking at the $$$ signs of a post are those, who don't intend on making an investment or do not think they will stay around for more than a few months. Those who are only looking at the short terms. For the rest of us, those who are not only invested in steem, but also those who believe steem will have a bright future; you should practically ignore these numbers completely.


What exactly do you gain from looking at the dollar signs of your post if you don't intend to pull out right away? nothing.
Nothing but a bit of unnecessary feeling of despair.

$$$ VS STEEM

Looking at $$$Looking at Steem
Low payout numbersHigh payout numbers
Shallow perspectiveForces you to think of the future
Wrong impression of your successA better cozy feeling inside
DespairRealize investing is better in these times

Let us be real here, looking at the steem payout of a post, you will need to be willing to risk that all of those posts might yield 0 one day, just like they might end up yielding an actual substantial amount of money. It is kind of a "Pick a oar and join the crew but risk the boat might sink". mentality. (yes, I stole that metaphor from someone I read a post from the other day).

But is it that bad to take that chance? Is it really that far fetched a platform that YOU among thousands of others are using willingly should suddenly disappear? If you have hopes to stay on the steem blockchain, then you might as well do it right.

By looking at the numbers of steem you are earning, you can easily see why you might make yourself a really good investment. I would say in these times of steem being at its lows, then it is actually really well done if you manage to get your posts to even 5 dollars. For reference as you see picture above, one of my "6.50 dollar" posts yielded me 32 steem. (of course, that gets split into 3.25 dollars/16 steem.)

But you get my point, it feels way better seeing that you just earned 16 steem, than you just earned 3.25 dollars, am I right?
If steem were to reach 1 dollar again, or hell, even 3 which it has done multiple times. That 16 steem you just earned would be worth, well, quite a lot actually. (Do the maths yourself, you lazy bastard)

This is, of course, taking a post that probably did not get the attention of a bunch of big curators. If you get lucky on those, your post could yield hundreds of steem. (I, for instance, got a jackpot of 250 steem from a single post).
4InvestmentTipsandRecommendationsforAW2017.jpg
Source


My mantra has always been: Build an investment, not a salary


Have I ever sold steem? You bet I have! I sold 250 steem when we peaked 8 dollars/steem. That's almost 2000 dollars which was pretty much paying my entire investment home at that time.

I sold a bit at 3-4 dollars and even down at 1 dollar mark. Although that was more for the reason of losing faith in the direction in the product rather than wanting to gain profit. I gotta be honest, the bid bots was sucking my soul out and I could not see any bright future. But here I am re-invested because well, steem is super attractive once again.

Anyways, back to my point: If I want money, I would probably not do it through steem since the amount of money I would earn would not be enough to make a living. I did manage to live on it while living in Romania but that is another story.

Today, I have no need to pull the pocket money I am earning from steem. All I am doing is stacking the stacks.
So you might ask, why not just work a full-time job, earn a lot of money and invest them into steem instead of making these posts?

There are more types of investments than money, my good friends.

Investment in what you like to spend your time on, investment in things you could potentially build a future upon. For me, every post I make I do because I like it. Just like I love spending half a year biking god knows where in the world.

Every post is also a way to get recognized. Another steemian might follow me, or I might follow another steemian?
The time I consume here is only because I feel it is worth my time, nothing more, nothing less.

This also goes for my steem. Why on earth would I pull out steem that was once worth so much more? When I know anyways I am going to be on the platform for probably years? I might as well make steem work for me, make me more attractive as a curator and an author as well as make my investment grow itself even larger on its own.

So yeah, that is my argument for why I believe most of you, might be looking at the wrong numbers

Sort:  

This is something I have to keep telling myself. $3-$5 posts are getting a LOT of STEEM compared to 18 months previous.

It was $2 then.., and I was getting 8c's on my posts, not even 1/20th of a STEEM.

Well, you did just manage to sum up my entire article in two sentences! ;)
But I agree, I remember making posts worth 4 dollars when steem were like 1.5... gave a little more than 2 steem in the end lol

It's even worse than that. The author's cut if 50%. Also, the number is in STU's (Steem Token Units). Because the price of one SBD is currently about $0.62, you have to multiply the number with 0.62 to get the USD value of the post. If you know only the "dollar value" of a post, you need to use the SBD feed price which is currently about 21 cents to calculate the number of STEEM you get.

I'm aware of the cut, I also mentioned that in the post. But I'm not entirely sure what you mean with the rest?

On the "standard" steemit platform it does specify what you get in SBD, steem and steem power. It just doesn't show in the front as default and a lot of people seem to miss that.

I think I'm just misreading your post a bit here :-)

I am aware though, that for example on steempeak it is calculated in STU which makes it all even more complicated lol.

The system calculates an estimate of the dollar value of a post using not the actual external price of STEEM as a basis but the feed value of it, which in this case is about 21 cents instead of the actual value which is about 13 cents. Witness servers set the price feed value. Look it up on SteemWorld under the Market Info tab under the uppermost tab on the main page.

What I'm saying is that the actual dollar value is even less than the value shown, which is one more reason to ignore it. You brought up the main reason in your post.

Now I understand, that's actually really interesting, rarely ever gave that a thought but yeah, that complicates things even more and make the dollar sign even less reliable

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @holm! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Very good points. We are not earning Fiat, we are earning Steem. It reminds me of the ten Bitcoin pizza. Knowledge is power, but only if utilized. You are utilizing it and you should succeed.

well looking at the future no doubt that this time will never come again

It's funny that you post about this, because I always do some fun manipulations with the numbers whenever I look at my post rewards. So for example, my most recent post looks like it's going to get a much, much higher reward than I usually receive - $31.73 so far.

Well, when I look at that on Steemworld, it looks like when it's all done the author (me) will get about $10.58, or 75.77 Steem. I like opening the calculator and multiplying that number by 2, 3, 4, 5 etc dollars and it looks much nicer!

haha I do the EXACT same thing! Great minds think alike:D

Lol apparently.

Hi @holm!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.249 which ranks you at #3020 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 101 contributions, your post is ranked at #25.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01