What's your most embarrassing story from your newbie days at Old Steem

in #newsteem5 years ago

A couple of days ago I came across this post of @anomadsoul with this topic What's your most embarrassing story from your newbie days at Old Steem and I instantly went in flashback remembering my days and the journey in my initial months. I was so so dumb, not that I am very smart now also when it comes to understanding the technicalities of the platform but I can still manage and now I have some fall backs before I create any blunders...hehehe

The Old Steem days, wow it feels like ages to me being on Steemit, and so much did I want t run away from it in the first couple of months. I was full of blunders all the time. I had no Godfather and no Godmother then and I was feeling like I was always drowning. I would look at my wallet and frown thinking what the hell am I doing here, and how will it ever work. But then to look behind, how much can I think of to laugh it out now.

Well many many goof ups that I did in the beginning from not knowing what is Voting Power, not knowing what is the difference between Steem / SP /SBD, and the most important not knowing where to start from connecting with people.
My Voting Power was always below 40, unless one day one kind soul highlighted it to me and that was the time I realized that ohhhh I had this voting power calculations also to look at.

From all the instances of goofy acts of mine there is one that I remember very clearly and when I think of it now also I do not get a very pleasant feeling. I had joined the Steemchat but I did not know how to reach out to people, so I randomly started connecting with people and spamming 🙈🙈🙈 whoever I would see online and then there was this one Steem whale member who I do not remember the name got very pissed off with me on sending him a message and he sent me a very nasty message with an abusive language. Ohhhh my god that day I wanted to just close permanently on this whole Steemit thing. It kept playing on my mind, how can someone be so rude. There could have been a better approach to respond back to me. I was almost in tears and I felt like this place is full of arrogant people and absolutely not a place for me. I just wanted to hide, I felt like all eyes were on me. So then after this the next couple of days I completely stopped putting up any post.
After a couple of days may be this person realized that his behavior was not right with me so he did send out an apology note, and after that I thought it's ok, may be he would have been in something really important and I must have disturbed him at the wrong time so he must have taken off.
And from that day I learned how to connect with people, well it did take a long time, almost 4 months to start getting noticed and getting responses but this 4 months journey, ufff, I tell you I was all over the place, doing all the possible wrong things...hehehe, but that's what now makes me a perfect dedicated Steemian...😍😍😍😍

Well what I see now is a lot of people start very smartly these days and they know just what to do, so I really feel, was a I so dumb...hehehe, but then all said and done, I have memories and stories to say....🤩🤩🤩

So if you have a story of your Old Steem days do share it and let's laugh together.

Thank you for visiting my blog. 👼🏻👼🏻💖💖🌹🌺🌸

bloggif_5c17c7088f8ae.gif

My other blogs of Interest


Celebrating the Festival of Ganesh Chathurthi at our Home
"2 Years and 20K SP Milestone achieved......"
#EcoTrain QOTW: The one person who is an inspiration for me on Steemit
"Rus Al Jinz - The Turtle Beach Reserve in Oman"
"My Mandala Art Work - The Circle of Life"

Member of


Supporting People Who Help Make The World A Better Place @ecoTrain

Sort:  

Very similar to what I face in early days. For almost 2 months I kept wandering here and there with no target insight

Haha, I guess we have all sailed in the same boat and progressed.

Kind of....wish you all the best with the contest...

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

My first year was here very big ... I was just then come in when all whales did for everyone very BIG UPVOTES ... you did post and you was get 40 SBD, some post was get more then this what I say :)) especially this one month when it happened.

Wow, that must have been really lucky for you. Well I have never had the opportunity these golden days, but I guess it is getting better with the new guidelines.

I'm sure when we use steemit 100%... then we make this golden days to ourselves

and even stronger and more bigger :) then this upvotes was.

I think the dumbest thing I did when I got here in the early days was posting and not interacting with other peoples content. I got here and made 50 posts that all got $0.00 payout and I thought this is stupid and doesn't work I'm not going to bother posting.

Then I entered a random Meme competition and got a $30 upvote on my comment and I was like what??? That was my first big earning that I can remember and then I started chatting to people making friends and eventually grew my blog and started posting again

Awwww......I did that too for almost a month, I would keep clicking on my blog to see if anyone has visited and then sit with a long face :-). My break through was also through a competition, but before that I had started making some bit, but the contest did boost me up, it was only 10$ but it was the first double digit payout and I was flying high :-)

You got a 17.68% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @nainaztengra!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current min bid is 2 SBD and max bid is 10 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM. Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

I didn't spam but I did get a pretty rude reaction to one of my comments one time. took a couple days for me to cool off too. haha. Still to this day I get random rude comments but some are just trying to be constructive.

I guess when you are dealing with such a large audience there will always be someone who may not appreciate your content, so I feel it is ok, everyone is sharing their view to just think of it on the bright side :-)

This is sweet and SUCH a reminder for us to be gentler, kinder, nicer and more helpful to new people finding their steem feet. When they come form cultures other than our own, we need EXTRA care and patience!


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

So true, it is really difficult for a new person to set in. And there is so much happening around, it's very confusing in the beginning. We need to be a little empathetic and take a softer approach towards new people joining the platform

I've joined Steemit 3 days ago and I already recognize myself a little bit in your story. I'm not yet a member of the Steemchat, so if I become a member later, I will keep in mind not to spam random people ;). Right now, I'm excited to learn the Steemit jargon, but I have to be patient with that. So thank you for your article, it's nice for me to read such articles at the moment haha.

First of all a warm welcome to you on Steemit and I hope you do very well for yourself and grow in leaps and bounds on this platform. All I can say is be patient and do not feel disappointed if you do not see much light in the beginning, things will fall in place eventually. I have not seen anyone fail here who has dedicatedly committed themselves.
All the best!

I got flagged and into an argument with steemcleaners about affiliate marketing when I first got here, which is funny to see all the ads on Steemit now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17