2018 New Year. Steem hitting an all-time high!

in #newyear6 years ago

Happy New Year to all my fellow Steemians!


The last half of 2017 was a blast, and although I don't like getting older- I do love starting a new year off right.

Last New year was super low-key for me. Actually, all of my past New Year's were fairly low-key. I'm a homebody and usually prefer to spend my evening inside with close friends and family- with a few bottles of wine and some great food.

IMG_20171231_144440.jpg

Have you ever get buzzed in middle of the day? =p

This year, I had a plan to kick off 2018 in Singapore, but with my passport issues this wasn't feasible. So, almost last minute this evening was about to be another night watching the ball drop in NYC, living vicariously through those at the actual event. How one day, I would love to be there. Just once. Maybe Steemit will provide us all that opportunity. The opportunity to travel to the distant places we've never been and yet never imagined we could actually go.

DSC_0731.JPG
Finished one bottle of wine even before the New Year kicks in, lol!

I have only been on Steemit for a bit more than 5 months now and I can attest that this opportunity is the absolute best, and maybe only chance I would have in my life to achieve the dreams I have had since my youth.

I grew up in a very impoverished area of the Philippines...

DSC_0808.JPG

Of course, there are many others that had it worse- I am not claiming to have suffered more than most. In fact, I am thankful for my upbringing. It has given me the chance to appreciate every stepping stone laid in front of me, and become the success I wanted.

IMG_20180101_144907.jpg

When I first met my American boyfriend, he tried to explain to me that in America, children are taught to dream big. Often times having projects or career days, where you dress up or put on a presentation of the person you want to be when you are an adult. Some kids dressed in their version of the Person, a NASA Astronaut, or a soldier. In the Philippines our dreams are just as real, but- I think in areas like Guiuan, we are more practical about our dreams. Sure, when I was young I aspired of being a Hollywood star. Yet, I also knew the path to reach such goals was almost impossible to reach. So I didn't spend much effort trying to realize these dreams.

IMG_20180101_190441.jpg

Now with platforms like Steemit. It is much easier for us to live the lives we may not have dreamed about-For the fear of letting g ourselves down.

Do I still want to be a Hollywood celebrity? No. But, what I wanted was the opportunity to travel, eat the best foods, buy myself and my family comfort. And to own my own time. I am not quite there, but am much further ahead than I ever imagined. 100% thanks to my friends, family, and the Steemit community.

IMG_20180101_141848.jpg

Charity does start at home. However, the more success we have, the more we can share. And this is so powerful. Before, in order to be fortunate enough to give to charities, would mean sacrificing something else in my life. Money or time. Now, I am able to continually reinvest in myself and the platform and be rewarded with the compounding effects of time+volume combined.

PANO_20180101_065804.jpg

So, this year to celebrate a great second half of 2017- I decided to treat myself a bit. Everything else seemed to fall through at the last minute. Between my trip to Singapore, and then a resort in Palawan, Philippines. So as a last-ditch effort, I booked 2 nights at Sileo in Balamban, Cebu. I have always wanted to visit this place- But, to be honest it was completely out of our budget before. And they just happened to have the New Year unbooked!

20180102_211844-COLLAGE.jpg

This place is the epitome of grand. I believe, (and didn't count), that it has enough space for 15 people to stay over, with plenty of room to spare. And I finally got to blow the dust off of my fluffy hooded sweatshirt :)

So thanks to all my friends, my family, and everyone else here on Steemit for contributing to such a great platform. I hope we can all help each other obtain the successes we desire, and deserve. I appreciate every vote I get, and hope I am doing more than my part in helping the community stay positive.

sielo.png
To see more photos of the place, here's the link, airbnb.

Thank you once again Steemian for taking your time to read. I hope you all have a healthy and prosperous New Year and the years to come!



DSC_0814.JPG

XOXO,
Gilaine

Sort:  

Hello! Happy new year! Your photo is nice! Your house is very beautiful!

Hi, @ryacha21 thank you, I hope that's my house but we just rented it for 2 nights. =)
It's awesome especially if you can see it in person.

its great @purepinay may be one day the house is your.... :) great

happy newyear:D

Happy New Year has been busy lately hehe. How did you celebrate the holiday?

Happy new year to you too. Indeed she's lovely. It reminds me of my younger self when I used to dream of owning a home together with my partner. I hope all our dreams come true, but I'm really glad that @purepinay's dreams are being accomplished as we speak. Truly inspiring.

Hey @cryptosharon I see you replied to this comment too..

thank you for spending your time here. I see you are helping me by replying on some other steemian's comment. Thank you! I really appreciate ^_-
As much as I would love to read all the comments and reply to everyone in just one seating but I already consumed half of my day doing it hehehe

So thank you for your help =)

XOXO

Yeah, @purepinay, I get you! There are so many comments. You have a lot of support. I'm sure people understand when you don't pass by, since there are more than five hundred comments! But I'm also sure they appreciate it a lot when you take your time to reply to them.

It also means a lot to me the way you appreciate the community and keep an eye out all the time. It's great, keep up the good work!

And it's nothing, really, it's just my way of life. I like to help. =)

XOXO :3

I agree with you @cryptosharon she is truly inspiring! @purepinay looks you had great time. I wish you and to all dear steemit community a joyful great and happy new year 2018.

To you too, my dear friend. I hope we all get rich on this. :)

I found many beauties on steemit!!! stay pretty❤️ followed 😆

Yeeees! I didn't know this community was so wide and welcoming. I thought it was all made of greedy gold-clawers but it's really just so nice. I'm in love with Steemit! It really motivates me to make better content for the community!

Thank you ^_- Happy New Year to you also!

now its on my bucketlist , magnificent resort in palawan👍

Upvote me, and lucky we have steemmmmm

Hey man nooo................

Happy new year

Happy new year guys

Happy New Year to you also

And to you! Have a very very happy new year!

Happy new year, @arunagiri28! I love your profile picture. It's so cute!

Happy New Year!

Steemit has had a great year and I wish for the same prosperity to continue for all its users into the future.

follow me!

Happy new year to you too!! I hope this new year brings joy into your homes and families.

Happy 2018 how are you @juliagilas? How did you celebrate the holiday by the way?

You right about it

First off - hi to Rob! I'm glad that you can now dream big! Yes, in the US people can become what they want with lots of hard work. It is great that you can help your family, I'm sure they appreciate it. That house you got was awesome. Looking forward to all your post and once again, thanks for all your support.

Can I get an upvote :-)

Hi Mark :)

Hope you had a great New Years. If you still have my email, hit me up if you ever plan on visiting or relocating to the Philippines.

Yes I have and will do. Thanks

How are you, Mark?

I hope you had a wonderful New Year. Thank you for your support also.

The house is massive, it didn't look and feel like am in the Philippines because it was chilly for me lol. I wonder how I will survive the snow when I visit USA. I might have to wear 10 coats lol

When is your plan to visit the Philippines? I hope to meet you in person.

Hi @purepinay... Wishing you and @rcarter a Happy and Prosperous New Year. The place looks great - This looks like a great place to visit and stay. Added to my list of to-do's next time I'm in Cebu!

Thanks for the recommendation!

Hello, Chris! How are you?

Thank you for the greetings, I hope you and your wifey had a wonderful holiday. ^_-

That's cool! You'll like that place am sure. When is your plan to visit Cebu?

Im good. Unsure when I will be visiting, but hopefully soon.

Amazing girl!
I'm so happy for you!
Rock n roll!!!
Miss you! can't catch up. ofw peg ko
Loveyeah!

you don't need the magic want
You are the "wand"

gorabels!!

hi sis! I miss you!

still in the steemit forest?

aw! thank you sis, you're such a keeper! Thank you for always being here. by the way, what's your cousin's steemit username? the one that you sent to my page? I haven't noticed her for a while now. How is she doing?

Happy New Year, Love you!

miss u tooo, grabee tumbling ako sa kagubatan busy ang peg
madalian ang blogging tumbling den ang blog
walang edit edit lols
sis give up sila, waley nde na day 1 lang, she is earning alright (working)@alexiz
@smafey - wifi is difficult and busy mom but she is steeming now and then.

Happy new year!!! labyu moree.
I shared ur post on FB to encourage my family and friends
suko nako sa pag invite waaaa

Happy New Year Ate! Iloveyou . Thank you for introducing this platform to me and to my friend @micch.. Blessed you! Enjoy the rest of your months here in the philippines.

I'm so happy for you ate. I know you've been in tough situation in the past years but you are strong and invulnerable. You deserve the best gifts in life.

Love you Xoxo
Sis, @gerel

Happy New Year

If Steem keeps going up, you may be able to afford that place!

Yes, I agree steemit really helps me a lot in providing not only my needs but my family's needs.

@purepinay
Happy New Year To You Also ..
And I Love your COntent ..
Specially Images That You merge in Your Content..
Congrats For Your Best Hit in My Eyes ..

aw! thank you gorgeous!

How's everything going on with you?

XOXO

Everything's great around here. Thanks for asking. My home is very warm and we have cooked a lot of Christmas treats. It's a very happy household. Thanks again for your concern, happy new year!

hi there, @cryptosharon! glad you drop by ^_-

That sounds really fun, what kind treat did you cook? I love to cook and to bake also =)

Am glad you had a joyful holiday. Happy to meet you here

<3 #purepinay

We cooked hallacas (yellow dough filled up with meat and vegetables), papaya sweets (really tasty fruit with added melted sugar loaf), pork haunch (a must have for december!), "black" cake (traditional Christmas cake with wine). I love this time of the year because we cook so much tasty stuff.

We baked so much stuff! There were friends who were going to spend the holiday alone so we just brought them all home and fed them. They all left happy and smiling, which is the essence of this time of the year.

Nice to meet you too, @purepinay. I'm sure we'll have a nice time together from now on!

And thank you very much for taking your time to answer my comments, it means a lot to me.

ohh that makes me hungry now, you're making me jealous

I think I am starting to like you, you're really good at communicating, that one talent that a lot of steemians should posses. I see my self in you when I was new here.

Where are you from? I might not see find your response right away, you know you can also reply on the first comment here, there's a lot of tricks to get noticed on steemit, and you are doing a great job!

keep it up!

XOXO

Awww, if you came here I'm sure we could cook a lot of stuff to fill up that belly!

And am I really that good at communicating? That makes me a bit proud. Thank you for commenting on that!

I'm from Venezuela! It's a poor but lovely country north of South America.

Sadly I didn't understand the part about replying to the first comment. I hope you would explain this a bit. I'm still a bit unfamiliar with Steemit's interface.

And thanks! I hope I can learn from you to be more successful on Steemit. It's such a great opportunity that I found someone with similar tastes who is already successful so I can observe how it's done.

I will keep it up, so you keep it up too! I'd really love to see you stay successful on here, since you were my first inspiration.

<3

happy new year @socialanne

happy newyear!

Happy New Year Around the World! :-)

Happy New Year to you also @travelbuddy.

HAPPY NEW YEAR @purepinay . Have a nice holiday in peace.

hopefully the year 2018 is more for you
Happy New Year

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87