The Street Preacher - Who Will Survive In Nigeria?

in #nigeria5 years ago

NO IMAGES

with a search-light I advance out into the daylight
asking myself, who will survive in Nigeria? who?
for alas! this evil memories will create new things
and the darkness that is growing over this land

makes me want to scream, makes me want to leave
to maybe force the earth and the sun to shed a tear
that maybe answers may appear before every sight
that all this abominations and wickedness are lies

non-stop corruption and environmental pollution
religious butcherings in the north, rituals all over
murder, murder and endless bloodshed everywhere
who will survive in Nigeria? who'll survive in Nigeria

sometimes I pray to God, to just turn off the lights
that every human may be free and equal in oblivion
who will survive in Nigeria? who'll survive in Nigeria
I ask filled with respect for the elderly in this country

do not get me wrong, I am not afraid of death, never!
for I know a secret, every human will die someday
but it is the sheer torture, the mindless disregard
that a man who will not even live above a hundred

can have for another fellow human being's existence
placing ones self above another, without conscience
the sudden painful ways, lifes are abrutly ended today
it is the anguish, the broken dreams that torment me

for I caught a sound of voices whistling in the breeze
Elozino Ogege cries, her life was just about to begin
the unnumbered faceless people who pass away daily
there will be no forgiveness, tears will fill the sky

and insanity will shake the foundations of heaven
I am afraid, scared the blood that is soaking this land
can never be cleansed, shadows will hunt our dreams
and there will be no rest for the wicked or innocent

oh, I pity the future, the sentenced children unborn
for when the forest burns and the rivers evaporate
for they will not understand, and will question God
but I know the truth, that the world is upside down

because man hated man, and saw himself as a god
because men had decided to play the role of the devil
what a country, most religious in the belly of the beast
woe! woe! who will survive in Nigeria, who will survive?

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82