The Perils And Opportunities Of Freedom: Letters To Dad 3

in #non-fiction6 years ago

Hello dad,
I'm sorry that I've not written you for a while now, I've been choked up with school work. It's 13 days since I wrote you a Letter. Mum called earlier today and told me that you helped her fix her phone, it was nice hearing from her after a while. Thank you for helping her fix her phone.
IMG_20180515_095837.jpg
your boy @joshuaetim

I'll start from where we stopped last. So many things have happened within the last few days. I didn't attend the matriculation ceremony, I did my clearance and screening successfully, I got a mail from the PG school that I've been cleared. The process was a hitch-free one, except that I had challenge with the printing of some of my documents online.

Lectures are going on fine, though very stressful. The lecture time table is too tight and quite unfavorable, we've complained bitterly about it, and we're now demanding for a new one to be made. I mean, how can we be having lectures from mondays to fridays (8am-4pm) as if we are undergrads? What are they really teaching?
It got me pissed off when I saw the tight schedule.

Last week, I met with one Anietie, who is working at an eatery in school. The eatery is at Mellanby hall. I patronize them a lot, not just because of the quality meals they prepare, but also because of Anietie's attitude towards customers.

Anietie is not the owner of the business, he is working for an Igbo woman who owns the place, but his sense of social etiquette makes him stands out. He's very polite and passionate about satisfying his customers. He's friendly and tolerant. In addition, he's such a fine young man, fair in complexion.

But Anietie has a challenge, which has become a burden to me. He told me he's been having toothache, and that it's been a serious one that requires money for dental extraction. I could feel the pain in his voice when he spoke about it. Anietie doesn't have money for his tooth to be removed. I haven't promised him anything, but I'm planning to give him some money by next week to help him buy some drugs that will help reduce the pain.

I hate pain. I hate seeing people in pain. I hate lack. I hate seeing little children suffering. I hate poverty. That's why we have to take the pains now, to avoid the pending pains of tomorrow.

Last weekend, I went to Bodija market to buy food stuff and some domestic items. Bodija market is the largest market in Ibadan North LGA. I needed someone to come with me to the market being my first time, someone who would serve as a guardian angel, to guide me through the market. And Asuabiat did.

Dad I'm grateful for some friends in my life. Friends I couldn't have bought with money. And it's also amazing to know that strangers are just friends we've not met yet. I first met Asuabiat as a total stranger through Raph when I came to Ibadan. I never knew that she would be my savior someday.
Asuabiat.jpg
with Asuabiat at the market

Asuabiat is a young beautiful promising lady, she's currently working with an accounting firm. She's focused, highly ambitious and kind. She suspended all that she was doing just to accompany me to the market, guide me through and help bargain the prices of goods so I don't get exploited unnecessarily. She's also fun to be with.A moment with her is a moment of laughter. She's also a very crazy friend, hahaha, and dad you know I like people just being real and simple. I consider Asuabiat as one of my undeserved blessings.

I also have a new friend from my faculty, a colleaque, her name is Hauwai, from Gombe state. I met her at PG school during the clearance, she got my contact and told me that she was looking for an accommodation. Hauwai got stranded by the accommodation challenge, she was lodging in an hotel while looking out for accomodation, her payment expiration day was due and she needed to move out and move in into her own apartment. When she called, I helped her out with an agent's contact to help her get an apartment.

The following morning, Hauwai came to my place crying, broken in tears. I was with my friend Asuabiat, so when we saw her, we couldn't help but hugged her as a means of comforting her. Oh my, she was crying helplessly like a baby, I knew it was the accomodation issue. The agent had taken her to a place that was quite remote, outrageously expensive and very far away from school. She got frustrated and started crying.

She stopped crying after we comforted her. We were later able to meet with another agent, a lady this time, who finally helped her to get a good place at Bodija, which is not far away from school. She was able to pack in yesterday, and earlier today, I helped her arranged and set up the place.
IMG_20180515_095908.jpg
myself and Hauwai

So I asked myself, Why did Hauwai cry?
Dad for two good weeks, I was roaming the streets of Ibadan looking for accommodation, I got disappointed by agents and people but it didn't wear me down. I was worried but I never called you to complain about this. Accommodation is something else here, though I got disappointed while looking for mine but I was just optimistic that I'll get a good place.

Why did Hauwai cry?
Perhaps, Hauwai has never been exposed to hardship. Perhaps, Hauwai was born with a silver spoon and was never never denied anything or much things while growing up. Maybe, she was never told or taught how to cope with disappointments. I got thinking on and on. Hauwai is from a well to do background, and from all indications and from the conversations we've had so far, I'm forced to think that she's been over pampered.

I think she's the kind of person that would be easily worn out emotionally if faced with serious life challenges, especially if her loved ones and special friends are not close by at the moment.

I laughed myself to tears, when Hauwai told me that her mum is planning to travel down and come visit her soon, because she called her on phone, and cried about her accommodation challenge. Hauwai was surprised and asked why I was laughing. I told her, "Babe, you've been over pampered, you've got to let your parents rest of your headache, let them focus on other pressing needs from your younger siblings". Then she started laughing too, and nodding her head in affirmation to what I said. I told her she needed to learn how to live independently and start being responsible for herself, and only call out for help when necessary.

Dad, I'm just happy for Hauwai, she's bubbling and feeling much better now. Two years from now, when she's done with her M. Sc program, I know she would be a better and stronger person. And must have learnt how to cope with life and life turmoils, much better.

Alright, let me stop here for now, till I come your way again.My regards to everyone.

- Joshua
much love

The Perils and Opportunities of Freedom is a non-fictional series of mine that communicates my thoughts, life experiences, challenges, successes, glamour, failures and everyday encounter to my dad in form of letters. You can check below for previous episodes.

Sort:  

Very lovely, I like the way you handle the Hauwai issue and the effort you are putting to mold her into a stronger lady. Shine on brother.

Thank you bro, it was needful

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

@joshuaetim i am from indonesia.
I like your letter . you write letter for your dad

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75