Why I matter! Why we need this type of conversations.

in #nonfiction6 years ago

Recently came across an essay competition for female teenagers to write on the topic "why do I matter" and given that I live with 4 teenage girls I asked them to submit entries, excited to read what they have to say. Suffice to say I was disappointed.
For any further gist and to help with this conversation I will be naming them Drama queen (S.S.1, art student, 17 years old ), Princessa( 200level, English, 18), Homebody (awaiting admission,science,18) and Killmonger (S.S.3, art, 19), so when I told them this were the reactions I got.
Princessa: I am not doing, it is a waste of my time.
Homebody: I am not an art student, I can't write this essay, it is not for me.
Killmonger: I have exams, I don't have time.
Drama queen : I want to write it, but I don't know what to Write.
Please note that all these girls have been through things that no child should face, been kicked down by the misogynistic community they lived in , doing well academically but can't or won't let themselves see themselves as people who deserves to be heard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63994.25
ETH 3062.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94