"The Last Sounds She Heard" a true story from my experiences playing music for Nursing homes

in #nonfiction5 years ago

In 2013, I was playing at ‘The Montclair’ in Decatur Ga.
This is directly across the street from the VA Hosp.
It is a more upscale sort of nursing home/ memory care facility.

I had been playing there almost monthly for about a year when,
A woman whose birth/native language was Spanish came to live there.
She had married a diplomat and traveled a lot,
But she never learned a lot of English.

I only knew the one song that had any Spanish:
"Lo Siento Mi Vida" by Linda Ronstadt
(I posted a video of me doing this song on YouTube)
It is 2/3 Spanish.

I scouted around, and found a "Jose Feliciano" song:
"Cuando Pienso en ti" (when I think of you)...
I bought the midi, practiced and practiced to
Get the pronunciations correct.

Then, the next time I went there to perform,
I sang it for her.
She was thrilled and so were the others, even though
They couldn't understand the words, they loved the song.

After about 3 months of playing a variety of songs,
Including the Spanish songs, I came in one day and the
Spanish lady wasn’t there.

I was told that she was fading fast, and that her
Daughter and her friend were in the room with her.
They told the daughter I was there, and she asked me if
I would come and sing the song for her Mom.

I placed my PA Speakers in the hallway as
Close to her room as I could, and I went in and
Stood at the foot of her bed, and sang this love song to her.
Her daughter and friend were in tears
(so was I, just like I was while writing this).

The Mother seemed to calm a bit while I was singing.

When I finished the song, I went back down and
Finished my set for the rest of the Residents.

As I was packing up, they told me that the Spanish Lady
Died about 20 minutes after I finished singing to her.
My song of love was the last thing she heard here in this world,
That and the words of love from her daughter.

“The Last Sounds She Heard”

by
Jerry E Smith
©6/18/15
Image from Pixabay
"The Montclair" Assisted Living
!steemitworldmap 33.802818 lat -84.307887 long d3scr


These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks





Sort:  

Goosebumps. !tip

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you Janelle. It is deeply appreciated.

How lovely Jerry. You made the lady’s last moments one of joy hearing the song.

That is one of the joys of what I do. 1st I ‍ enjoy it, I enjoy seeing
People respond ‍ in a positive way, being uplifted by what
I do, and I really enjoy getting paid for it!

Howdy sir jerrytsueer! wow that was touching! you did so good to learn the Spanish songs just for her. And that had to be such a comfort to her and then to her daughter to know that your song that she loved was one of the last things she heard!

On an unrelated note, have you considered joining esteem?

Thank you @janton, the first song I already knew, having learned it while I was in Az and had a Linda Ronstadt album with the song
"Lo Siento md Vida" on it. It is 2/3 Spanish 1/3 English, and I have
played it all these years. The other one I did learn just for her.
I rarely perform it now unless I know there are Spanish speakers
In the Audience.
eSteem, I think I did join it (it's a phone app, right?) but I saw
nothing of value there. I don't have access to my photos, my
poetry files etc on my phone, so I can't create posts
(the majority of them that is) from my phone. I also never
Learned how to type rapidly on the phone, and talk-to-text is
So very problematic. Auto correct etc.
Has something changed? Why should I join or re-join eSteem?

Howdy again sir jerry! well sir, I can imagine that anyone who speaks Spanish or is hispanic must be so thrilled when you sing a Spanish song! So that has to be highly rewarding.

As far as esteem, it is amazing because even though it is free to join, they give a very generous upvote for one post every 24 hours. My post upvotes are about .70 now but I use it for all my commenting, the more you use steemit through esteem the higher the percentage of vote.

I know they started out as a phone app but now they have both. I never use my phone so I got the desktop app. also, you had to have had the early program but they are constantly updating and improving so the current one is probably nothing like when you tried them.

It should be a heck of alot smoother and easier to use now and like I said I just use the desktop app, esteem Surfer But the main thing is the upvotes are so generous and free. I don't know how much commenting you do but you would probably start getting 30 or 40 cent upvotes I would guess and then those could increase the more you use the platform.

It pains me to see a few cents earnings on your posts which are such high quality! Anyway if you want to look at it again here is a link that has all their apps. https://github.com/esteemapp

Thank you for all that @janton. I will look into it.
Now I think it is time to post the next (or is it the last) installment.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jerrytsuseer
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-last-sounds-she-heard-a-true-story-from-my-experiences-playing-music-for-nursing-homes


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

🎁 Hi @jerrytsuseer! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @wandrnrose7!

@wandrnrose7 wrote lately about: The Dark Side Of Obsession Feel free to follow @wandrnrose7 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84