Recovering lost memories from Alesund in Norway 挪威的奧勒松

in #norway6 years ago (edited)

The reason I don't like going on cruise holidays is that you see too little of too many places. Often you only get to visit a city for a day, or maybe 5 or 6 hours only if the port is quite far away from the tourist attraction. That's why I don't have mamy memories from my visit to Alesund in Norway.
最近翻看照片原來前幾年去過挪威的奧勒松也忘記了。 奧勒松位於蓋朗厄爾海灣附近,這個海灣是挪威著名景點,坐郵輪的乘客大都會到這兩個地方。 奧勒松在1904年經歷一場大火,幾乎把整個市內建築都燒掉。重建時以新藝術派建設, 形成今天市內概整齊又美觀的容貌。要欣賞奧勒松最好到Aksla山丘。從鎮裏可以坐小火車或攀登418級樓梯。 在山丘上,可以把奧勒松的新藝術派建築物,及在大西洋上的附近小島盡入眼簾。我在奧勒松只逗留了半天,未能多了解這個城市。這就是坐郵輪的美中不足,很多地方都只能走馬看花。


WHEN AND WHY DID I GO?

I went to Alesund on my first cruise holiday to Norway and Iceland in 2012. It's located near the Geirangerfjord (that I do remember going to) and is a stop for most cruise ships going through the region. Cruises aren't my cup of tea, but that was a big family holiday so in that respect, it was really good spending quality time together with my family. The downside is that I only have vivid memories of some of the places we went to, Alesund in Norway being one of them. Here's our cruise ship.


MY TIME AT ALESUND IN NORWAY

Going through my photos, some memories from that day started to trickle back vaguely, and I had to do a bit of research to jog the rest of my memory (it's not as good as it used to be). Alesund isn't very big and I remember we could walk into town after we disembarked. Out of my 41 photos for the day, I took the first one at 1037 and the last one 1559, that's a 5.5 hours span. So give or take we probably spent less than 7 hours in Alesund town, barely enough to explore a place.

AKSLA VIEWPOINT

The first place we went to was Aksla viewpoint. This gives you a panoramic view of the town, looking out towards the archipelago and the Atlantic beyond You can take a little train ride up there or climb the 418 steps. I can't remember which option I took but if it was my choice, it would definitely be the latter, that I can still manage. Anyway, here's me next to the train.


I have to admit, the view here was very breath taking, especially with the town's famous architecture (more on that in a minute) and our cruise ship in the background.


THE ARCHITECTURE

After a short stop we headed back down to explore the town. Unlike most cities where you have buildings built over time, resulting in a mix of old and new, and different styles, Alesund was different. The architecture in Alesund town is unusually tidy and consistent. Apart from a few buildings that looked like office blocks, nearly all the buildings were of the same style - Art Nouveau. This, as I subsequently found out was because of a major fire that destroyed the whole of Alesund in 1904. The town had to be rebuilt from scratch and the architects decided on an Art Nouveau style. Not being an artist or architect, I can't tell you the characteristics of Art Nouveau style, but I liked it. The urban planners did quite a good job and scattered quite a few colourful buildings around town, that's why sometimes Alesund is called the Norwegian Venice.






To be fair, none of us had done much research on Alesund beforehand, so apart from Aksla viewpoint, we just wandered around town in the afternoon. I couldn't even remember where we went for lunch. It's just like lost memory for me. Had it not been for these photos, I can't remember where I went. Though by the looks of it, it was a pleasant walk. And before you wonder, no I wasn't being grumpy in Alesund, I'm just not good in photos.


 


MY VERDICT

Compared to the fjords and other more famous places such as Bergen and Olden, Alesund ranked a bit low on our list. This stop was the day after we had visited the Geiranger and having just visited the beautiful fjords, Alesund had big shoes to fill.


I guess during my few hours in Alesund in Norway, I had barely scratched the surface. With Norway being Norway, I'm sure if I had ventured out a little bit, it would have more to offer. You see, that's why I'm not a big fan of cruise holidays. Anyway, I'm not complaining, it's another pin on my map.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://livinguktaiwan.com/recovering-lost-memories-from-alesund-in-norway/

Check out all my travel posts here on Steemit Worldmap, and also my latest project @LadiesOfAsia where we share fun and cultural diversity across Asia Pacific.

Sort:  

I have never been on a cruise and I'm pretty sure I never will, partly for the reason you mentioned. if I come to a place that I would like to spend more time exploring. I like to set my own agenda. I'm guessing that wouldn't work out well on a cruise if I said oh sorry I'm not ready to go yet! Those are lovely pictures of you!

Thanks Melinda. Cruises are great if you just want to get away and aren't fussed on what you see or how much you see. Plus it's full board and you don't have to pack your bags until the last day of your holiday. But all that at the expense of very little flexibility, and like you, that still ranks quite high on my holidays now.

I'm not good on bus tours for the same reason. Being spontaneous is what traveling is all about for me!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=livinguktaiwan
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=recoveringlostmemoriesfromalesundinnorway-dvxrllw33v


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Beautiful of place with a unique texture buildings and beautiful view...

Thanks @ettydiallova. Just noticed you reach 60 rep. Congrats!!!!

Thank you @livinguktaiwan
All this also because of your support and others here.

Posted using Partiko Android

Very unique looking place! The architects did a good job at making sure the town isn't an eye-sore amongst all of those beautiful mountains.

I guess it helps when you can start from a blank canvas, you'd hope they do a good job!

I didn't know your hubby was a ninja, lol!

I've never been on a cruise holidays.. some people enjoy it but I don't like following route that was prepared by somebody else.. also I like to enjoy places at my own pace.. if I don't like something I just leave, if I enjoy it I stay longer.. this is a problem with organized holidays.. you are missing that kind of flexibility..

But at least you had a nice family time I hope! :)

ha! ha! He alternates between a ninja and viking warrior, and sometimes my sweetheart! :-)

Flexibility is very important when going on holiday, being to do as you please, when and where. My sisters loves cruises, claiming it takes away the hassle of planning and moving hotels all the time, not to mention the all inclusive food. I see their point, but don't think its for me, not just yet at least.

Can't wait to see other faces of his :)

Some people want to have everything planned during vacation so that they can completely relax.. I on the other hand enjoy planning and flexibility.. It's good that everybody has a choice nowadays :)

I always laugh when I see people getting food from all inclusive buffet.. I wonder if they eat so much at home too or if they just use the 'free' food option :)

Can't say I'm a cruise person either. Mostly cos I hate boats and get really seasick. However, you make some valid points here about stopping in at places, which I will add to my list of arguments next time someone wants me to go on one with them.

Seasickness shouldn't be a problem as the ships are massive nowaday, but it's the thought of being stuck on board all the time. Hopefully you'll build up a decent list

I've not been to Norway and cities aren't really my thing either, give me fjords over a town any day of the week. And I do agree with you about cruises.

I haven't been on one myself but the thought of being on a ship, told you have a couple of hours to visit a place then hop back on again doesn't sound relaxing to me. But each to their own.

The city itself doesn't look too bad from your photographs and the descriptions you give. Indeed, the architecture does have a unique signature with the style of the buildings.

Thanks for sharing!

Oh, by the way, I was browsing around the travelfeed steemit map and it looks like you used to live near where I was in the UK - or you have posted somethings near High Wycombe area? Have I totally misunderstood the steemit map or is that right haha?

Hi there Nicky, thanks for dropping by. I used to live in Surrrey but originally come from the south west in UK that's why a lot of my pins on the Steemitworldmap are in UK. High Wycombe was the last stop from my round the Isle trip a couple of years ago before I came out to Taiwan, hence my handle.

By the way, do you pin your posts on the map? I don't think I've seen them before when I curate.

Ah Surrey, I used to work in Camberley which is just inside there! That's so cool you stopped off in High Wycombe before setting off :) What did you see around this town before setting off? Or was it just the train station so you could get out of here ASAP haha!

No I don't pin my posts on the map, how do I do that?

Ha ha! I went to Marlow actually, that was very nice. Booked Hands and Flowers a whole year earlier, so arranged the final leg of my trip around that area.

Ah the Hand and Flowers, Michelin Star deluxe! Not eaten there but I'm sure the food must have been exquisite! Marlow is a really lovely town as well, you picked a good place!

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @jpphotography and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for participating in #travelfeed!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Hi @livinguktaiwan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.163 which ranks you at #2839 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 8 places in the last three days (old rank 2847).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 499 contributions, your post is ranked at #29.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I have never been spent a holiday on a cruise probably you're right short time to visit too many places. I do not know the positive is that people do not have to pack everytime their stuff each stops. Anyway at the moment cruise is not on my bucket list. However I like the colourful buildings, the architecture and the attractive view.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79