Now Playing Week 63 - Living American Poet Tom WaitssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nowplaying5 years ago

Tom Waits is one of the most influential American, living poets today reflecting the grittier side of life in America. He's someone I would love to get out of my skull drunk with and contemplate how reality is for people who can't handle drugs.

Thomas Alan Waits (born December 7, 1949) is an American singer, songwriter, musician, composer, and actor. Waits' music is characterized by his distinctively deep, gravelly singing voice and lyrics focusing on the underside of U.S. society. During the 1970s, he worked primarily in jazz, but since the 1980s his music has reflected greater influence from blues, vaudeville, and experimental genres. source

ArtistTom Waits
SongEmotional Weather Report
AlbumNighthawks at the Diner
Year1975

Late night and early morning low clouds
With a chance of fog
Chance of showers into the afternoon
With variable high cloudiness
And gusty winds, gusty winds
At times around the corner of
Sunset and Alvorado
Things are tough all over
When the thunder storms start
Increasing over the southeast
And south central portions
Of my apartment, I get upset
And a line of thunderstorms was
Developing in the early morning
Ahead of a slow moving cold front
Cold blooded
With tornado watches issued shortly
Before noon Sunday, for the areas
Including, the western region
Of my mental health
And the northern portions of my
Ability to deal rationally with my
Disconcerted precarious emotional
Situation, it's cold out there
Colder than a ticket taker's smile
At the Ivar Theatre, on a Saturday night
Flash flood watches covered the
Southern portion of my disposition
There was no severe weather well
Into the afternoon, except for a lone gust of
Wind in the bedroom
In a high pressure zone, covering the eastern
Portion of a small suburban community
With a hundred and three and millibar high pressure zone
And a weak pressure ridge extending from
My eyes down to my cheeks cause since
You left me baby
And put the vice grips on my mental health
Well the extended outlook for an
Indefinite period of time until you
Come back to me baby is high tonight
Low tomorrow, and precipitation is
Expected source

Discover New Music. Join @nowplaying-music

Now Playing is a way to share what you're listening to this week with others. To learn about the rules and start discovering new music visit @nowplaying-music.

Nowplaying Week 48 --- by @nowplaying-music

Related Posts

Now Playing Week 28 Songs In My Head Today

Now Playing Week 29 Songs I Am Spinning Today

Now Playing Week 30 Songs I Am Spinning Today

Now Playing Week 31 - Good Blunt Music

Now Playing Week 32 - A Little Pinch Of This And A Little Pinch Of That

Now Playing Week 33 - Straight Up Rock

Now Playing Week 34 - Three Genre Blend Of Music

Now Playing Week 35 - What Makes A Song Great?

Now Playing: Week 38 - Songs I'm Listening To Today

Now Playing Week 41

Now Playing Week 44

Now Playing Week 47

luzcypher-emoji-verified-2.png

Sort:  

You made me go back to those times where I spent tones of hours trying to silence the rushing hormones in my western brain area, drinking cold beer, smoking, talking nuts with friends while listening these tunes that we loved...sometimes the thick air in the “Four Roses bar” was cut by little cute kitties that made it even difficult to shut up hormones... huh!
Thank you for your sharing @luzcypher, would you mind enjoying your weekend? 😈
Hugs

lol love this comment!

He's an amazing artist, writer, and actor too. A true living legend in America.

Thanks for sharing such a good quality post !!!

Absolutely top draw track. Tom Waits is one my favourite artists.

Posted using Partiko Android

He's awesome. I've hung out in a lot of the places in LA that he talks about in his songs.

Thanks for entering this week's #nowplaying!
If you would like your song added to the weekly spotify playlist, reply to this comment in the following format:

Artist
Song

If you have multiple songs, make multiple replies to this comment

tom waits
Emotional Weather Report

Adding Emotional Weather Report to the weekly playlist

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86